x86 reboot without keyboard

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
Cratebv212
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 15:14    Post subject: x86 reboot without keyboard Reply with quote
I have my x86 machine working perfect except for when it reboots, I have to plug in a keyboard and hit f1. Anyone else have to do this? Its a dell ory206 mobo with an amd sempron.
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1211

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Replace the CMOS battery. Reset BIOS to factory defaults. Maybe check for a BIOS update.
Cratebv212
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, I will try that and post back.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7316
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
change bios setting to disable wait on f1 if error, assuming dell even presents that ever so basic "impossible to damage pc" option
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43733 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43736 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43736 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43736 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1211

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 15:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I forgot to mention F1 prompt can also occur for things such as CPU/RAM configuration (maybe just reseat RAM), SATA port enabled with nothing connected (disable it), bad or missing fan(s) and non-OEM power supply.

This is an old machine, so the first thing I thought was change the CMOS battery.
Cratebv212
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you very much for the help. Turned out that floppy disk was still enabled, now reboots without issue. I should've read the screen a little better lol.
Cratebv212
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
One more thing and my pc router will be complete. I added a second wifi card to get dual band but it isn't showing up in wireless. I tried 2 different ones. The web gui only lists the one.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1211

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 19:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't copy that floppy.

Is the new card supported, same or different model? Which image are you running?
Cratebv212
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2020 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Apparently the card I used isn't supported. I found one that is but it doesn't transmit very far. It came out of a Toshiba laptop. I ordered another one like I already have so now it will be finished. Again, thanks for all the help.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum