YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 41, 42, 43  Next
Author Message
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 519

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just installed the lastest v3 version
it doesn't work for me.
After running it I noticed that it creates one log file and one data file but not anymore.
The process is running but no collection no nothing.

_________________
Netgear R9000 main router
RAX80 as AP
Sponsor
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 519

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2020 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
Just installed the lastest v3 version
it doesn't work for me.
After running it I noticed that it creates one log file and one data file but not anymore.
The process is running but no collection no nothing.


I tail'ed -f the log file and I saw that is stopped after 5 min, so not sure what is going on.

_________________
Netgear R9000 main router
RAX80 as AP
rpatters1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2020 13:24    Post subject: negative bandwidth Reply with quote
I have just installed v4.0.7. I am curious as to what the meaning of negative bandwidth is. I have a device (a virtual machine I believe) that is generating a significant amount of it.


Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 8.23.01 AM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  24.19 KB
 Viewed:  1874 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 8.23.01 AM.png


blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 519

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2020 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
blaser wrote:
Just installed the lastest v3 version
it doesn't work for me.
After running it I noticed that it creates one log file and one data file but not anymore.
The process is running but no collection no nothing.


I tail'ed -f the log file and I saw that is stopped after 5 min, so not sure what is going on.


The problem was with Repeater Bridge, as soon as you define this parameter in the config file the software will crash after 2 - 5 min

_________________
Netgear R9000 main router
RAX80 as AP
viking2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would like to monitor my kids' web usage. They use school chrome books and I am not able to install software or modify their connection to use a proxy (e.g. so that I could install a local proxy server).

I have a Linksys WRT-1900ACS with original firmware. If I install DD-WRT firmware and YAMon, would I be able to:

Monitor which websites have they have visited, when and how long (daily reports).
For example:
8/29/20:
A. Local IP= 192.168.2.35 (=Kid-1): youtube.com total 3 hrs 15 min
10:15 - 12:15
13:00 - 14:15
etc

B. Local IP= 192.168.2.40 (=Kid-2): roblox.com total 2 hrs 0 min
15:00-17:00
etc...
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1432

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="viking2"]I would like to monitor my kids' web usage.

Monitor which websites have they have visited, when and how long (daily reports).
/quote]

YAMon reports data/bandwith usage between the local network and the Internet.

It does not monitor/report individual site connections like a net nanny.

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
viking2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="ddaniel51"]
viking2 wrote:
I would like to monitor my kids' web usage.

Monitor which websites have they have visited, when and how long (daily reports).
/quote]

YAMon reports data/bandwith usage between the local network and the Internet.

It does not monitor/report individual site connections like a net nanny.

That is a pity. I wonder if it can be improved to do this?
Unfortunately, they use school Chromebooks and I cannot install anything on them... (or change the Proxy).
cyberdeath
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2020
Posts: 12
Location: 127.0.0.1, Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Missing monthly data file information yet data is there. I am able to open the file and see information just it's not rolling into the monthly report.

When I follow the guide and run the h2m.sh script, I get errors:

Code:
:/opt/YAMon3# /opt/YAMon3/h2m.sh
/opt/YAMon3/h2m.sh: line 23: check4Overflow: not found
 ___     ___   __       ___    ___
 \\\\   ////  //\\     ||||\  /||||   _____   __ ____
  \\\\ ////  ///\\\    ||||\\//||||  ///|\\\  ||//|\\\
   \\\'///  ////\\\\   ||||\\//|||| ////^\\\\ |||/^\|||
    \\|//  ////  \\\\  |||| \/ |||| |||   ||| |||   |||
    ////  //////\\\\\\ ||||    |||| \\\\.//// |||   |||
   ////  ////      \\\\||||    ||||  \\\|///  |||   |||

              Yet Another Monitor (v: 3.4.7)
            Copyright (c) 2013-present Al Caughey
                  All rights reserved.
               http://usage-monitoring.com

**********************************************************
This script will fill missing data gaps in your monthly usage file.
**********************************************************

_logfilename-->/opt/YAMon3/logs/h2m.log
_configFile-->/opt/YAMon3/config.file

In the prompts below, the recommended value is denoted with
an asterisk (*).  To accept this default, simply hit enter;
otherwise type your preferred value (and then hit enter).


#1. Enter the month number of the reporting interval for which your are missing data:
    (Jan-->1, Feb-->2... Dec-->12)

    Hit <enter> to accept the current/default value (`11`),
      or enter your preferred value:

#2. Enter the year:


    Hit <enter> to accept the current/default value (`2020`),
      or enter your preferred value:

#3. Do you want to update the entire month or just one specific day?
    Select 0 for the entire month or input the day number

    Hit <enter> to accept the default (`0`),
      or enter your preferred value:

#4. Do you want to store the results in a new file or append them to the existing monthly data file?
    Options: 0->New file(*) -or- 1->Append to existing

    Hit <enter> to accept the current/default value (`0`),
      or enter your preferred value:


**********************************************************
Processing all 31 data files for billing interval starting: 2020-11-01
/opt/YAMon3/h2m.sh: line 443: arithmetic syntax error


Running WRT1900ACv1 with DD-WRT v3.0-r44048

_________________
cyberdeath
GameSurge IRC Operator
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1432

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 8:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Run compare.sh to make sure you have the latest files.

I know it's tedious but, try doing one day at a time.

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
cyberdeath
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2020
Posts: 12
Location: 127.0.0.1, Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Compare shows everything matches with the production setup.

It appears that the "by day" method is working (or at least not failing). It seems that when I try to do too many days at once it gives the arithmetic error. But then it creates tons of separate files. Can I cat them all together easily?

_________________
cyberdeath
GameSurge IRC Operator
ggee
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 16:24    Post subject: Database access Reply with quote
Over the past week, I've been getting this error message popup.

Quote:
Saving your updated settings to the database failed with error message: error: ?!?


Is this a setup issue on my side or server side issue?

I am using 4.0.7.

Thanks,
Greg[/code]
KarlStyles
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 3:36    Post subject: Re: Database access Reply with quote
ggee wrote:
Over the past week, I've been getting this error message popup.

Quote:
Saving your updated settings to the database failed with error message: error: ?!?


Is this a setup issue on my side or server side issue?

I am using 4.0.7.

Thanks,
Greg[/code]


I believe that it may be something server side. A few of us in the 4.0 thread have also had this issue.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321690&start=210
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:23    Post subject: Re: Database access Reply with quote
ggee wrote:
Over the past week, I've been getting this error message popup.

Quote:
Saving your updated settings to the database failed with error message: error: ?!?


Is this a setup issue on my side or server side issue?

I am using 4.0.7.

Thanks,
Greg[/code]


Is this still an issue? I also get this:

HTML: 3.4.5 / Script: 3.4.7
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1432

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 20:17    Post subject: Re: Database access Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:


Is this still an issue? I also get this:

HTML: 3.4.5 / Script: 3.4.7


That is correct for 3.4.7.
Comment out/remove the dbkey and reboot the router.

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 21:43    Post subject: Re: Database access Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
scope2 wrote:


Is this still an issue? I also get this:

HTML: 3.4.5 / Script: 3.4.7


That is correct for 3.4.7.
Comment out/remove the dbkey and reboot the router.


Thanks. Done.. I will keep an eye on it.. The message has certainly gone away.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 41, 42, 43  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 42 of 43
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum