YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next
Author Message
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
aaronburro wrote:
Is there a way to disable reading in the DnsMasq config file until the bugs I am experience are fixed?


Remove your comments.

There are no "comments" in my config and it works fine.


Never considered comments in the file...

I can address this in v3.4.8 but need more info

An easy quick fix to eliminate lines which start with a comment is to change the code on (or about) line 1364 to:

Quote:
local leases=$(cat $_dnsmasq_conf | grep -v "^#" | grep dhcp-host)


To eliminate any line that includes a comment, removing the caret in front of the number sign should work... but I'm not sure if that would remove more than you want.

Al
Sponsor
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 15:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
spherular wrote:
One of my daily data files has corrupt and I can't get the data to load. Is there an easy way to fix the file or do I just delete whats left of the .js file and live with it?

Thanks

Do you still have the file? How did it become corrupted?

Depending on the nature of the corruption, it might be possible to resurrect some of the data from the log files...

Al
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:
It looks like nobody is here, but I'll raise another issue I've got:

On the Summary Report page, for some reason, todays busiest groups are increased (by 100% of original value) every time the screen refreshes (either by leaving it, of pressing the refresh icon in the top corner). Refreshing the page loads the correct values.

On Load of page Example:
Group 1: 5gb
Group 2: 3gb
Group 3: 1gb

Refresh the page (using the refresh icon in YAmon or automatically) and you get these values:
Group 1: 10gb
Group 2: 6gb
Group 3: 2gb

And so they increase every time you refresh the page.

Sorry, I was away from the forum for an extended spell... first finishing up the school year (I've returned to teaching) and then more recently surgery to get a knee replaced. I'm on the mend now and have more time for care and feeding of YAMon.

The issue in the reports was just fixed this morning. AFAIK, you should not see those totals increasing with each refresh.

No need for any changes on your router. Just reload the reports (perhaps with a <ctrl>+F5 to clear the cache)

Al
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 15:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Lepermessiah2012 wrote:
I have a recurring issue where yamon seems to stop tracking data and the index page is unavailable. Usually what I do is just reinstall it and that seems to solve the problem but I don't check the monitoring data often so I can lose a couple days of tracking occasionally. Does anyone know why this happens and what I can do to prevent it from happening? I don't know if its as simple as making sure to restart my router periodically or if I just need to check it daily and reinstall Yamon when the issue arises. Any help would be appreciated! This is my first foray into this and I still have a lot to learn lol

This seems odd... do the contents of your installation directory get erased? Is that why you are re-installing?

The reports files live in /tmp/www which is temporary memory (and gets erased if/when the router reboots). Has your router been rebooting?

Simply re-starting YAMon will recreate those files (rather than re-installing)

Do you have a YAMon entry in the startup script in your DD_WRT GUI on the Administration-->Commands tab? One should've been created when you ran setup.sh

Al
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1286

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Welcome back Teach.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
Welcome back Teach.


Thx! Smile
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 14:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
al_c wrote:

Sorry, I was away from the forum for an extended spell... first finishing up the school year (I've returned to teaching) and then more recently surgery to get a knee replaced. I'm on the mend now and have more time for care and feeding of YAMon.


Good to have you back Al. I hope you recover from your op. Smile
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:
Good to have you back Al. I hope you recover from your op. Smile


Thx! Recovery (from a partial knee replacement) is going well. I'm quite mobile now and my range of motion is very good.

Al
BarkingSpider
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes indeed. Very good to have you back Al. So I hope this question doesn't cause too much pain.

In the script yamon3.4.7.sh near line 194 where a statement says:
_getIP6List="$_path2ip -6 neigh | grep -Evi \"$_local_ip6\" | cut -d' ' -f1,5 | tr 'A-Z' 'a-z' | sort -k2"

When I issue the command from an ssh shell:
/opt/sbin/ip -6 neigh | grep -Evi "fe80:" | sort -k2
I noticed that in the output that I have multiple IVP6 entries for the same MAC address.
I sorta fixed it by changing the sort -k2 to sort -uk2 (the "u" removes dup entries)

Is this a YAMon or DD-WRT issue?
Anyone know why I should have multiple entries for ivp6 on the same MAC entry?

Some output from the ip -6 neigh where you can see several ip6 address for the same MAC.
2601:600:997f:6324:9c7e:fb51:2f2d:400d dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:7cf1:6a61:bc29:e92b dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:bca2:d960:3baf:dc11 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:2ac6:8eff:fe36:755c dev br0 lladdr 28:c6:8e:36:75:5c STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:4c9a:b314:87df:2d16 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:2046:8794:a1bc:fd56 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:4d98:4847:f329:9939 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:b9dd:f30d:8f08:b116 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:7cf0:447f:b57c:d464 dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE

_________________
Netgear R7800: DD-WRT v3.0-r39715M kongat (05/09/19)
Linksys wrt1900acsV2: DD-WRT v3.0-r33986 std (04/27/19)
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 22:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
BarkingSpider wrote:
Yes indeed. Very good to have you back Al. So I hope this question doesn't cause too much pain.

In the script yamon3.4.7.sh near line 194 where a statement says:
_getIP6List="$_path2ip -6 neigh | grep -Evi \"$_local_ip6\" | cut -d' ' -f1,5 | tr 'A-Z' 'a-z' | sort -k2"

When I issue the command from an ssh shell:
/opt/sbin/ip -6 neigh | grep -Evi "fe80:" | sort -k2
I noticed that in the output that I have multiple IVP6 entries for the same MAC address.
I sorta fixed it by changing the sort -k2 to sort -uk2 (the "u" removes dup entries)

Is this a YAMon or DD-WRT issue?
Anyone know why I should have multiple entries for ivp6 on the same MAC entry?

Some output from the ip -6 neigh where you can see several ip6 address for the same MAC.
2601:600:997f:6324:9c7e:fb51:2f2d:400d dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:7cf1:6a61:bc29:e92b dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:bca2:d960:3baf:dc11 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:2ac6:8eff:fe36:755c dev br0 lladdr 28:c6:8e:36:75:5c STALE
2601:600:997f:6324:4c9a:b314:87df:2d16 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:2046:8794:a1bc:fd56 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:4d98:4847:f329:9939 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:b9dd:f30d:8f08:b116 dev br0 FAILED
2601:600:997f:6324:7cf0:447f:b57c:d464 dev br0 lladdr 4c:66:41:22:e5:91 STALE


I have seen - on rare occasions - multiple IPv4 addresses on the same MAC. I think I was able to trigger it by forcing a change on an IP address and then quickly issuing the ip command... I presume that the two entries appear because the device still has active connections on the old IP address while new ones are established with the new IP address (or at least that seems logical to me)

Regardless, I already have some logic in the script to allow comma separated values in the ip and ip6 fields in your users.js so this should not be an issue for YAMon...
MomenMamdouh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 53
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
is it normal that YAMon 3.4.7 shows the total traffic greater than Measured @ Router? what does that difference mean?

thanks

_________________
Routers:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2-(EU)
TP-Link WR840n v3
TP-Link WR740n v5
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
MomenMamdouh wrote:
is it normal that YAMon 3.4.7 shows the total traffic greater than Measured @ Router? what does that difference mean?

thanks
probably no... Can you send a screen shot please
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 14:44    Post subject: looking for some help... Reply with quote
I've spent much of the last week in the bowels of the YAMon code... in part, looking at the results of the `ip` and `arp` commands. I was finding 'failed', 'incomplete' & other responses from the `ip` calls (rather than proper MAC addresses).

<tl;dr> it appears that `arp` is a more reliable way to collect the list of currently active ip & mac addresses

To further test this, I've written the attached script to compare the two.
It runs in the background and makes periodic calls to both arp and ip and then iterates through the results of `arp` and compares them with the results of `ip`...
a) first it eliminates matching lines
b) then finds lines with matching ips but differing macs <-- these are the `failed` entries
c) other unmatched macs
d) others entries
The results are written to a log file

Thus far, I get lots of a) & varying numbers of b) and have not yet seen either c) or d)

For b), I also check iptables to see if there is any data associated with the `failed` ip address. On a few occasions, there has been some which to me means that I cannot simply ignore those entries.

So... I'm looking for a few volunteers to copy the attached script into the YAMon directory on their routers and let it run for a bit and then share the log files with me.
To run the script, open a PuTTY (or equivalent terminal app) window and enter
#~ /opt/YAMon3/arpip_compare.sh

To stop the script, delete `/tmp/runiparp.txt` - in PuTTY, enter
#~ rm /tmp/runiparp.txt

The log file does list IP addresses but *not* record any MAC addresses or any other `sensitive` info.

Holler if you have any questions.

TIA

Al
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 16:10    Post subject: Another question for the user base Reply with quote
It is a well known fact (to me at least) that YAMon does not behave well once your USB drive is full. I add entries in the log files once the disk is more than 66%, 80% and 90% full and I'm quite certain that there is some sort of warning in the reports as well.

But neither of those does anything to rectify the problem. If the USB drive is full, it can lead to corruption in the hourly and/or monthly data files.

It would be relatively straight forward to delete the oldest file in the logs or daily-bu directories... I could also turn logging off.

How would your feel about this? Any other suggestions?

Thanks for your feedback.

Al



arpip_compare.zip
 Description:
# Examines results of IP & ARP commands - unzip to your YAMon install directory
# commandline parameters:
# -> <delay>: pause in seconds between executions of the script; if null, 60 seconds
# e.g., /opt/YAMon3/arpip_compare.sh 45
#

Download
 Filename:  arpip_compare.zip
 Filesize:  1.6 KB
 Downloaded:  7 Time(s)



Last edited by al_c on Tue Jul 23, 2019 13:16; edited 3 times in total
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1286

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Attached? Where? Wink

Send to my email?

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 30 of 34
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum