YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 34, 35, 36  Next
Author Message
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 22:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Apologies if this is covered elsewhere but I've just run into a problem and I'm not sure how to deal with it.

I am getting message about gaps in my monthly data and when I looked at the log file I find:
Could not update monthly_total_down... not found in /tmp/yamon/Setup/data/2018/12/2018-12-mac_data.js

I looked up the link and found mention of running h2m.sh so I ran it and the same message appears.

Having dug a little deeper and following the script and then trying the command by hand, it appears that line 456 in hourly2monthly.sh (sed -i .... w /tmp/sed.txt ...) is working OK but does not even create /tmp/sed.txt and as the next line checks for the existence of /tmp/sed.txt you get the error message.

Having found that, I'm not sure that it actually indicates why there is still nothing in the monthly data.

So I did some more digging and discovered that the version of busybox in one of my DD-WRT routers has a date command that does not give output for a date +%m or date +j when you provide an input date with or without -d. It works OK with just date +%m or date +%j.

I will obviously have to see if there is a later version of DD-WT for this router.
Sponsor
Sigals
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
just had the bug again where everything on the live page was showing as "unknown" - restating YAmon fixed the issue:

Arp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 18:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I have been using this for two weeks or so. I noticed that two days ago it stopped working. I could not find a reason, but I noticed that suddenly there were two devices mounted, instead of only the one usb device with yamon on it.

Now, how I can install this within the router? There appears to be nothing which is readwrite. The manual says for example "/opt". But this is read only in my router ... So, where can I put it?
I have a Netgear R8500 with DD-WRT v3.0-r33772 std (11/16/17) on it.

Thanks!
ggee
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:21    Post subject: Data not being saved to disk. Reply with quote
I've been having a strange problem recently. I thought it might have been some data corruption again since my last USB drive failed. Now, each time I open YAMon, I keep getting this welcome message.

Welcome to the `Yet Another Monitor` reports!

which takes me through the welcome messages and shows only a few days of data.

It seems it does not want to write any data to disk. I even try a test and change some entries in the Groups and Devices tag and the users.js on the disk does not change.

Yet Another Monitor HTML: 3.4.5 / Script: 3.4.5

Something else I find odd, which might relate to the only 3 days issue is that December only has 3 daily files while the first 13 days of December are written to the November folder.

Code:

root@gw:/opt/YAMon3/data/2018# ls 12
2018-12-14-hourly_data.js  2018-12-15-hourly_data.js  2018-12-16-hourly_data.js  2018-12-mac_data.js
root@gw:/opt/YAMon3/data/2018# ls 11
2018-11-14-hourly_data.js  2018-11-18-hourly_data.js  2018-11-22-hourly_data.js  2018-11-26-hourly_data.js  2018-11-30-hourly_data.js  2018-12-03-hourly_data.js  2018-12-07-hourly_data.js  2018-12-11-hourly_data.js
2018-11-15-hourly_data.js  2018-11-19-hourly_data.js  2018-11-23-hourly_data.js  2018-11-27-hourly_data.js  2018-11-mac_data.js        2018-12-04-hourly_data.js  2018-12-08-hourly_data.js  2018-12-12-hourly_data.js
2018-11-16-hourly_data.js  2018-11-20-hourly_data.js  2018-11-24-hourly_data.js  2018-11-28-hourly_data.js  2018-12-01-hourly_data.js  2018-12-05-hourly_data.js  2018-12-09-hourly_data.js  2018-12-13-hourly_data.js
2018-11-17-hourly_data.js  2018-11-21-hourly_data.js  2018-11-25-hourly_data.js  2018-11-29-hourly_data.js  2018-12-02-hourly_data.js  2018-12-06-hourly_data.js  2018-12-10-hourly_data.js


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r31825 std
TP-Link Archer C9
Thanks
Arp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 13:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another question: Can I reset all data? I tried to just the delete the folder and reinstall it, but then it still shows me traffic data for 2018-12-01. I would like to completely reset this in order to compare to the counter in my cable modem.
Thx.
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 23:09    Post subject: Re: Data not being saved to disk. Reply with quote
ggee wrote:


Something else I find odd, which might relate to the only 3 days issue is that December only has 3 daily files while the first 13 days of December are written to the November folder.

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r31825 std
TP-Link Archer C9
Thanks


They are written in monthly increments determined by the ISPBillingDay in your config.file.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
BarkingSpider
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Al -
I just today updated my router to a Netgear r7800 with DD-WRT v3.0-r38065M kongat (12/22/1Cool. This has the latest Busybox v1.29.3. Upon starting YAMon, the output seems normal...

To stop the script:
* run `shutdown.sh` [*RECOMMENDED*]
e.g., `/opt/YAMon3/shutdown.sh`
* or delete the `/tmp/YAMon3.4-running` directory
e.g., `rmdir /tmp/YAMon3.4-running`

Then the below is repeated about every 20 seconds or so..


BusyBox v1.29.3 (2018-12-22 00:44:42 CET) multi-call binary.

Usage: ip [OPTIONS] address|route|link|tunnel|rule [COMMAND]

OPTIONS := -f[amily] inet|inet6|link | -o[neline]
COMMAND :=
ip addr add|del IFADDR dev IFACE | show|flush [dev IFACE] [to PREFIX]
ip route list|flush|add|del|change|append|replace|test ROUTE
ip link set IFACE [up|down] [arp on|off] [multicast on|off]
[promisc on|off] [mtu NUM] [name NAME] [qlen NUM] [address MAC]
[master IFACE | nomaster]
ip tunnel add|change|del|show [NAME]
[mode ipip|gre|sit]
[remote ADDR] [local ADDR] [ttl TTL]
ip rule [list] | add|del SELECTOR ACTION
BusyBox v1.29.3 (2018-12-22 00:44:42 CET) multi-call binary.

If I stop YAMon, then these messages stop, something with the "ip" command? Any ideas?

_________________
Netgear R7800: DD-WRT v3.0-r39715M kongat (05/09/19)
Linksys wrt1900acsV2: DD-WRT v3.0-r33986 std (04/27/19)
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2029
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:07    Post subject: On vacation Reply with quote
I'm in Germany ATM w/o regular reliable internet access. I will be back in Canada early in the new year.

Thanks in advance for your patience.


Happy holidays!
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 23:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
BarkingSpider wrote:
Al -
I just today updated my router to a Netgear r7800 with DD-WRT v3.0-r38065M kongat (12/22/1Cool.
If I stop YAMon, then these messages stop, something with the "ip" command? Any ideas?


Busybox was compiled without the neigh command YAMon uses.
You'll need the full ip suite to fix it.
If using kongat firmware you'll need to start a telnet terminal, run bootstrap and follow the prompts to install Kong's opkg. Update opkg, search for "ip" and install the full ip pkg. Locate the ip command on the /opt drive and add it to the _path2ip location in config.file.
My path is _path2ip='/opt/sbin/ip'.

It would be a big help if Al could add the ip util to his distribution.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php


Last edited by ddaniel51 on Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:23; edited 1 time in total
BarkingSpider
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
BarkingSpider wrote:
Al -
I just today updated my router to a Netgear r7800 with DD-WRT v3.0-r38065M kongat (12/22/1Cool.
If I stop YAMon, then these messages stop, something with the "ip" command? Any ideas?


Busybox was compiled without the neigh command YAMon uses.
You'll need the full ip suite to fix it.
If using kongat firmware you'll need to start a telnet terminal, run bootstrap and follow the prompts to install Kong's ipkg. Update ipkg, search for "ip" and install the full ip pkg. Locate the ip command on the /opt drive and add it to the _path2ip location in config.file.
My path is _path2ip='/opt/sbin/ip'.

It would be a big help if Al could add the ip util to his distribution.


Thanks Al. After a bit of trial & error, I think I got it. For anyone else, here are the commands I used and if any are incorrect, please let me know.

root@Bo:/opt# bootstrap
Bootstrap is checking prerequisites...

USB automounter is enabled.
Found a valid partition: /opt.

Proceed with download and install of opkg? (y/n) [default=n]:
y
Connecting to www.desipro.de (217.160.0.162:80)
opkg.ipk 100% |********************************| 59350 0:00:00 ETA
Connecting to www.desipro.de (217.160.0.162:80)
opkg.ipk.sig 100% |********************************| 256 0:00:00 ETA
Connecting to www.desipro.de (217.160.0.162:80)
functions.sh 100% |********************************| 7269 0:00:00 ETA
Bootstrap complete. You can now use opkg to install additional packages.


root@Bo:/opt# opkg update
Downloading http://desipro.de/opkg/Packages.gz.
Updated list of available packages in /opt/var/opkg-lists/packages.

root@Bo:/opt# opkg install ip
Installing ip-full (4.16.0-Cool to root...
Downloading http://desipro.de/opkg/ip-full_4.16.0-8_arm_cortex-a9.ipk.
Installing libc (1.1.19-1) to root...
Downloading http://desipro.de/opkg/libc_1.1.19-1_arm_cortex-a9.ipk.
Installing libgcc (7.3.0-1) to root...
Downloading http://desipro.de/opkg/libgcc_7.3.0-1_arm_cortex-a9.ipk.
Installing libnl-tiny (0.1-5) to root...
Downloading http://desipro.de/opkg/libnl-tiny_0.1-5_arm_cortex-a9.ipk.
Configuring libgcc.
Configuring libc.
Configuring libnl-tiny.
Configuring ip-full.

root@Bo:/opt/sbin# ./ip --version
Option "-version" is unknown, try "ip -help".
root@Bo:/opt/sbin# ./ip -help
Usage: ip [ OPTIONS ] OBJECT { COMMAND | help }
ip [ -force ] -batch filename
where OBJECT := { link | address | addrlabel | route | rule | neigh | ntable |
tunnel | tuntap | maddress | mroute | mrule | monitor | xfrm |
netns | l2tp | fou | macsec | tcp_metrics | token | netconf | ila |
vrf | sr }
OPTIONS := { -V[ersion] | -s[tatistics] | -d[etails] | -r[esolve] |
-h[uman-readable] | -iec |
-f[amily] { inet | inet6 | ipx | dnet | mpls | bridge | link } |
-4 | -6 | -I | -D | -B | -0 |
-l[oops] { maximum-addr-flush-attempts } | -br[ief] |
-o[neline] | -t[imestamp] | -ts[hort] | -b[atch] [filename] |
-rc[vbuf] [size] | -n[etns] name | -a[ll] | -c[olor]}

root@Bo:/opt/sbin# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 385187 Nov 26 12:30 ip
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1051 Nov 26 12:30 opkg-key

_________________
Netgear R7800: DD-WRT v3.0-r39715M kongat (05/09/19)
Linksys wrt1900acsV2: DD-WRT v3.0-r33986 std (04/27/19)
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Spider Tnx for catching my goof of ipkg for opkg.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 2029
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
@Spider Tnx for catching my goof of ipkg for opkg.
both of you - thanks for formalizing this. I will include this in the setup script asap.

Al
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't rush off Al, this only works for Kong's DD-WRT builds.

BrainSlayer does not have the bootstrap util in his builds and Kong runs his own repro for his opkg.

If you can find an independent ip-full pkg to install then great!

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
bullshooter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 0:40    Post subject: Various YAMon issues Reply with quote
I've been using YAMon for a while, but over the last few months, it's really gotten to be a problem. It will stop logging any data (for no reason that I can determine), so I end up with gaps in the reports.

My device list recently lost all the groupings that I'd assigned. I re-assigned them, but they are gone again. My fault for not backing up users.js first. Sad

I've thought about doing a complete re-install of the software, but I'm not sure what I need to delete to ensure that it's completely clean.

Any suggestions on what I need to delete for a clean install, or how I can troubleshoot the issues would be much appreciated!
BarkingSpider
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 0:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Happy New Year all.

Since the change (be it year or month or a combo), YAMon3 decided to stop processing today. The task was up and running as if nothing was wrong. However, looking at the log I was getting the following every 5 minutes:

00:02:13 2 checkChainEntries: YAMON34v4 returned only 0 entries?!? Resetting ip6tables rules
00:07:17 2 checkChainEntries: YAMON34v4 returned only 0 entries?!? Resetting ip6tables rules
00:12:23 2 checkChainEntries: YAMON34v4 returned only 0 entries?!? Resetting ip6tables rules

This continued most of the day until I restarted YAMon.

Looking at this message, you see YAMON34v4, yet the next part says Resetting ip6tables. I believe that YAMon has two tables, YAMON34v4 and YAMON34v6. My YAMON34v6 has nothing in it, although I have many devices with IP6 (and IP6 is on in the config).

So, does this message contain a type-o? Should it really be resetting YAMON34v4?. Should there be two checks (one for v4 & v6)? Or, is this nothing to worry about?
Just curious.

_________________
Netgear R7800: DD-WRT v3.0-r39715M kongat (05/09/19)
Linksys wrt1900acsV2: DD-WRT v3.0-r33986 std (04/27/19)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 34, 35, 36  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 20 of 36
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum