YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Author Message
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:47    Post subject: YAMon 3.4 - usage monitoring for your router Reply with quote
A thread to address questions, comments and concerns about YAMon (short for Yet Another Monitor)

What is YAMon?
It is a tool that reports usage for every device connecting to your router. Traffic can be rolled-up into arbitrary logical groupings (e.g., by family or roommate name, by device location or function, etc.) A rich and robust set of features and reports driven by an active user-base.

Why YAMon?
Are you trying to figure out why you are exceeding your month usage cap?
Are you trying to figure out who is hogging all of your data?
Are you sure your kids are shutting off their devices at bedtime?
That's why!! More info: http://usage-monitoring.com/about.php

To download YAMon: http://usage-monitoring.com/download.php

Questions about installing: http://usage-monitoring.com/help/?c=Install
Questions about errors: http://usage-monitoring.com/help/?c=Errors
General questions: http://usage-monitoring.com/help/?c=General

More info: questions@usage-monitoring.com
Sponsor
gu3d3s
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Aug 2017
Posts: 70
Location: Fortalaza - CE - Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi,

Runig 3.4.4 but.....

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM - Lede - WRT1900ACS/V2 - 35034 - TP-Link Archer C7/V2 - 35034 - TP-Link Archer C50 V1(die)- Linksys EA-6200 (stock Sad )
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1272

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try CTL/F5
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1361
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have YAMon3 running on a R7000 with Kong's Build 35550M and running the command....

Code:
ip -6 neigh show


I get...

Code:
BusyBox v1.28.1 (2018-03-28 09:48:38 CEST) multi-call binary.

Usage: ip [OPTIONS] address|route|link|tunnel|rule [COMMAND]

OPTIONS := -f[amily] inet|inet6|link | -o[neline]
COMMAND :=
ip addr add|del IFADDR dev IFACE | show|flush [dev IFACE] [to PREFIX]
ip route list|flush|add|del|change|append|replace|test ROUTE
ip link set IFACE [up|down] [arp on|off] | show [IFACE]
ip tunnel add|change|del|show [NAME]
        [mode ipip|gre|sit]
        [remote ADDR] [local ADDR] [ttl TTL]
ip rule [list] | add|del SELECTOR ACTION


It doesn't show any IPv6 listings. But when using earlier builds like 33770M it lists IPv6/MAC addresses correctly.


UPDATE posted as a possible bug...
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1123968#1123968

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| QoS | SSH | 5x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCPv4/v6 via DNSMasq |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 3x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |

R7800 Gateway & VPN1 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25
R7800 WiFi & VPN2 & VPN3 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25

______________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DD-WRT Beta Builds | KONG Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1272

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:

Code:
ip -6 neigh show


It doesn't show any IPv6 listings. But when using earlier builds like 33770M it lists IPv6/MAC addresses correctly.



You can thank the "DD-WRT boys" for the firmware changes to busybox and the ip calls.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php


Last edited by ddaniel51 on Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:52; edited 1 time in total
thejae
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 May 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems my YAMON is have trouble counting data, it says the total data usage for the day is 25MB when the tv show I downloaded is already 1.4GB, not counting data from other family members.

And secondly, not too important, just for convenience. It seems when DNSMasq is active, it is unable to get device hostnames. Even DD-WRT has trouble with this, however if you are keen to implement a fix, you can get hostname by running "cat /var/lib/misc/dnsmasq.leases"

Device:
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r33675M kongac (11/03/17)

YAMON Version:
HTML: 3.4.0 / Script: 3.4.4
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1272

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
thejae wrote:
It seems my YAMON is have trouble counting data, it says the total data usage for the day is 25MB when the tv show I downloaded is already 1.4GB, not counting data from other family members.

And secondly, not too important, just for convenience. It seems when DNSMasq is active, it is unable to get device hostnames. Even DD-WRT has trouble with this, however if you are keen to implement a fix, you can get hostname by running "cat /var/lib/misc/dnsmasq.leases"

Device:
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r33675M kongac (11/03/17)

YAMON Version:
HTML: 3.4.0 / Script: 3.4.4


For starters, update your router firmware.
If your router isn't configured properly then Yamon cannot run as it should.

Before going any further ...
Remember that I said *properly* configured firmware? A number of firmware settings are known to prevent YAMon from collecting accurate traffic data - the most common recent culprit has been the Shortcut Forwarding Engine (SFE) option which was added in DD-WRT build 33006+ (and is enabled by default). Other known offenders include `enhanced privacy` tools (like PrivOxy) and Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) settings - see PrivOxy & UPnP. Apparently `Cut Through Forwarding` is similar to SFE so it too will be problematic but I don't have a lot of details on that yet... stay tuned!. These options *must* be disabled if you want to get accurate results from YAMon!

If you are updating from a previous version of YAMon (rather than a fresh install), back up everything before proceeding! This includes any customizations you've made to devices in the reports - see Exporting device customizations.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1361
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
I have YAMon3 running on a R7000 with Kong's Build 35550M and running the command....

Code:
ip -6 neigh show


I get...

Code:
BusyBox v1.28.1 (2018-03-28 09:48:38 CEST) multi-call binary.

Usage: ip [OPTIONS] address|route|link|tunnel|rule [COMMAND]

OPTIONS := -f[amily] inet|inet6|link | -o[neline]
COMMAND :=
ip addr add|del IFADDR dev IFACE | show|flush [dev IFACE] [to PREFIX]
ip route list|flush|add|del|change|append|replace|test ROUTE
ip link set IFACE [up|down] [arp on|off] | show [IFACE]
ip tunnel add|change|del|show [NAME]
        [mode ipip|gre|sit]
        [remote ADDR] [local ADDR] [ttl TTL]
ip rule [list] | add|del SELECTOR ACTION


It doesn't show any IPv6 listings. But when using earlier builds like 33770M it lists IPv6/MAC addresses correctly.


UPDATE posted as a possible bug...
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1123968#1123968


Luckily with Kong's package repository I installed ip-full and edited YAMon3's config file edited _path2ip='/opt/usr/sbin/ip' and have working IPv6 with YAMon3

NOTE: Also need _includeIPv6='1'

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| QoS | SSH | 5x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCPv4/v6 via DNSMasq |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 3x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |

R7800 Gateway & VPN1 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25
R7800 WiFi & VPN2 & VPN3 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25

______________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DD-WRT Beta Builds | KONG Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the Export users.js option in the users tab working? In chrome I get a tab which closes as soon as it opens, in Edge I get a new tab with nothing in it (including a blank tab name).

Im trying to export the users.js file after having edited it through the front end, but it wont let me.

(Im on the latest version, HTML: 3.4.2 / Script: 3.4.4)
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
mac913 wrote:
I have YAMon3 running on a R7000 with Kong's Build 35550M and running the command....

Code:
ip -6 neigh show


I get...

Code:
BusyBox v1.28.1 (2018-03-28 09:48:38 CEST) multi-call binary.

Usage: ip [OPTIONS] address|route|link|tunnel|rule [COMMAND]

OPTIONS := -f[amily] inet|inet6|link | -o[neline]
COMMAND :=
ip addr add|del IFADDR dev IFACE | show|flush [dev IFACE] [to PREFIX]
ip route list|flush|add|del|change|append|replace|test ROUTE
ip link set IFACE [up|down] [arp on|off] | show [IFACE]
ip tunnel add|change|del|show [NAME]
        [mode ipip|gre|sit]
        [remote ADDR] [local ADDR] [ttl TTL]
ip rule [list] | add|del SELECTOR ACTION


It doesn't show any IPv6 listings. But when using earlier builds like 33770M it lists IPv6/MAC addresses correctly.


UPDATE posted as a possible bug...
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1123968#1123968


Luckily with Kong's package repository I installed ip-full and edited YAMon3's config file edited _path2ip='/opt/usr/sbin/ip' and have working IPv6 with YAMon3

NOTE: Also need _includeIPv6='1'


Can you send a link to Kong's package repository?

Thx
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:
Is the Export users.js option in the users tab working? In chrome I get a tab which closes as soon as it opens, in Edge I get a new tab with nothing in it (including a blank tab name).

Im trying to export the users.js file after having edited it through the front end, but it wont let me.

(Im on the latest version, HTML: 3.4.2 / Script: 3.4.4)

Sorry but I do not test in MS Edge or any version of MSIE because they often do not support HTML standards properly so you have to spend hours creating nasty work-arounds. I'm sure that others may want dispute this... I'm happy to consider the fixes you identify.

But my life (and yours) will be simpler if you upgrade to Chrome or Firefox.

I'm not doing anything outside the standards (AFAIK)... in JavaScript (somewhere around line 1558 in util3.4.js), I create a data-url and then set the `download` attribute on the link (see https://www.w3schools.com/tags/att_a_download.asp for more info about the download attribute).

On my Windows 10 laptop, export definitely works in Firefox.

In Chrome, I'm getting a bit of an odd behaviour... there's a message in the bottom left corner of the screen warning that js files can harm your computer and I have to click `keep` to complete the download... I did not see that in the past.

I do not get that message if I change the JS so that the file name is users.txt rather than users.js.

In MS Edge and MSIE, the export button did not work with either file name (Recall my earlier comment about not supporting HTML standards?!?)

I have not checked Safari or Opera and I do not have access to a Mac.

Al
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
al_c wrote:
scope2 wrote:
Is the Export users.js option in the users tab working? In chrome I get a tab which closes as soon as it opens, in Edge I get a new tab with nothing in it (including a blank tab name).

Im trying to export the users.js file after having edited it through the front end, but it wont let me.

(Im on the latest version, HTML: 3.4.2 / Script: 3.4.4)

But my life (and yours) will be simpler if you upgrade to Chrome or Firefox.


I think you misunderstood.. Chrome is my default browser, like I mentioned in the above post.. I only tested in Edge as it doesnt work in Chrome.. In the past it has worked fine in Chrome.. (This is pressing the 'Export users.js' button at the top of the page.)

I have since tested in firefox and it works fine there, and I am able to export the users file.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1361
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
al_c wrote:
Can you send a link to Kong's package repository?

Thx


Here are the instructions for Kong's Simple opkg tutorial that I used to install ip-full...
http://tips.desipro.de/2013/04/17/simple-opkg-tutorial/

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| QoS | SSH | 5x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCPv4/v6 via DNSMasq |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 3x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |

R7800 Gateway & VPN1 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25
R7800 WiFi & VPN2 & VPN3 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25

______________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DD-WRT Beta Builds | KONG Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
r8er
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2018
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have multiple yamon processes at times. The other processes seem short lived and (most) of the time I can only see one at a time. However, check the image I've attached.


MultipleProcessesrunning.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  122.3 KB
 Viewed:  8692 Time(s)

MultipleProcessesrunning.JPG


mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1361
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
al_c wrote:
Can you send a link to Kong's package repository?

Thx


Here are the instructions for Kong's Simple opkg tutorial that I used to install ip-full...
http://tips.desipro.de/2013/04/17/simple-opkg-tutorial/


Also while telen/ssh into the router run command bootstrap (only works with Kong's Builds) it will load opkg that is required to downloading packages.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| QoS | SSH | 5x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCPv4/v6 via DNSMasq |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 3x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |

R7800 Gateway & VPN1 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25
R7800 WiFi & VPN2 & VPN3 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25

______________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DD-WRT Beta Builds | KONG Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 30
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum