New Build 35244 (BS): 03-05-2018-r35244

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2576
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
skaendo wrote:
I think you did. My first post on this page/in this thread is:
Quote:
Cannot test mega build (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/03-05-2018-r35244/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_mega_wrt600n.bin) on WRT600N because it is the same bin file as r35034.
I didn't even flash r35244 because it is the same as r35034. It would have been a waste of time since it is not r35244 but it is in fact r35034.

While I did not mention that I did check and compare the checksums, that is how I verify if the build has changed. This is not the first time that I have come across 600N builds that have not changed. See: https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=313092
Ah, I did read that, but assumed it meant you had flashed 35244, and it rebooted to indicate 35034. So yes, the checksum info would have clarified that. Smile This has happened randomly in the past; seems to often afflict the k2.4 stuff.

That said, the new 35384 build size for mega_wrt600n changed; it is bigger... 7880736 bytes vs 7864352.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.1|FT2020.5: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44294: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Sponsor
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 16:53    Post subject: r35384 is out now. BACKUP NVRAM BEFORE FLASHING! Reply with quote
I highly recommend you backup your NVRAM/Settings before flashing r35384 into your routers. It went back to default settings on two systems here.
One was a Netgear 3700v3 and the other is a Older computer running the X64 version. Both lost their settings and I had to restore my settings manually since my NVRAMBAK.bin was old which restored some settings.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2576
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 17:17    Post subject: Re: r35384 is out now. BACKUP NVRAM BEFORE FLASHING! Reply with quote
flood404 wrote:
I highly recommend you backup your NVRAM/Settings before flashing r35384 into your routers. It went back to default settings on two systems here.
One was a Netgear 3700v3 and the other is a Older computer running the X64 version. Both lost their settings and I had to restore my settings manually since my NVRAMBAK.bin was old which restored some settings.
I was expecting there might be nvram problems with this build. BS made some major nvram changes starting with 35278 thru ~35290.

Would be good to know if a pre-35278 backup works ok on 35384.

Edit: I see the next changeset after this build is fixing nvram issues. The one after that regards nvram backup.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.1|FT2020.5: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44294: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Whammy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Whammy wrote:
Router/Version: Netgear WNR3500L (V1)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux Linux 3.10.108-dd #17976 Mon Mar 5 14:32:56 CET 2018 mips (k3 Build)
Operating Mode: Gateway
Reset: No
Connection Type: Cable Broadband
Modem: Motorola Router

Issues/Errors: Several unknown symbols in log:
NTP
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: Last update failed, we need to re-update after 30 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.debug process_monitor[1382]: We need to re-update after 3600 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.info process_monitor[1382]: set timer: 3600 seconds, callback: ntp_main()
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)

radvd
Jan 1 00:00:04 router daemon.warn radvd[1164]: invalid all-zeros prefix in /tmp/radvd.conf, line 11

Other Issues
I have also noticed the router will "drop" a wifi connection even though the connection is still active. This causes devices to not connect to a given site. In order to fix the issues, you have to disconnect, then re-connect the device in order for it to work. Extremely frustrating.


BTW, for the NTP issues, I tried moving to a different NTP server (time.nist.gov). Will report back later.
flood404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Dec 2013
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 18:35    Post subject: Re: r35384 is out now. BACKUP NVRAM BEFORE FLASHING! Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
flood404 wrote:
I highly recommend you backup your NVRAM/Settings before flashing r35384 into your routers. It went back to default settings on two systems here.
One was a Netgear 3700v3 and the other is a Older computer running the X64 version. Both lost their settings and I had to restore my settings manually since my NVRAMBAK.bin was old which restored some settings.
I was expecting there might be nvram problems with this build. BS made some major nvram changes starting with 35278 thru ~35290.

Would be good to know if a pre-35278 backup works ok on 35384.

Edit: I see the next changeset after this build is fixing nvram issues. The one after that regards nvram backup.


Yes it does. Just once you save and apply settings once selecting a older NVRAMBAK.BIN make a fresh NVRAMBAK.BIN in the WEBGUI for future builds.
Whammy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Whammy wrote:
Whammy wrote:
Router/Version: Netgear WNR3500L (V1)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux Linux 3.10.108-dd #17976 Mon Mar 5 14:32:56 CET 2018 mips (k3 Build)
Operating Mode: Gateway
Reset: No
Connection Type: Cable Broadband
Modem: Motorola Router

Issues/Errors: Several unknown symbols in log:
NTP
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err ntpclient[1383]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: Last update failed, we need to re-update after 30 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.debug process_monitor[1382]: We need to re-update after 3600 seconds
Jan 1 00:00:15 router daemon.info process_monitor[1382]: set timer: 3600 seconds, callback: ntp_main()
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving address to hostname 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Try again
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err ntpclient[1484]: Failed resolving server 1.us.pool.ntp.org: Network is down
Jan 1 00:00:51 router daemon.err process_monitor[1382]: cyclic NTP Update failed (servers 1.us.pool.ntp.org)

radvd
Jan 1 00:00:04 router daemon.warn radvd[1164]: invalid all-zeros prefix in /tmp/radvd.conf, line 11

Other Issues
I have also noticed the router will "drop" a wifi connection even though the connection is still active. This causes devices to not connect to a given site. In order to fix the issues, you have to disconnect, then re-connect the device in order for it to work. Extremely frustrating.


BTW, for the NTP issues, I tried moving to a different NTP server (time.nist.gov). Will report back later.


Quick update: NTP issue still happens.
GeekDad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear 4500 (V1)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std ( 03/05/18 )
Previous: r33215M giga (08/25/17)
Mode/Status: AP / working
Reset: no
Issues/Errors:

As others have complained, the time on the router is way off even though it is configured to use time.nist.gov
c4os
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Linksys E4200 v1
Firmware: dd-wrt.v24-35244_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e4200
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-dd #17976
Previous: dd-wrt.v24-34929_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e4200
Mode/Status: GATEWAY-AP WAN/WLAN-DHCP
Reset: 30/30/30
Issues/Errors: *
wl1 5Ghz
Received (RX)
3507027 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX)
8433991 OK, 8 errors

*Only issue with Amazon devices, had to forget and rejoin network even though sid and password were the same.
jmfolcik
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model:TP-Link Archer C8
Firmware Version:DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/1Cool
Kernel Version:Linux 4.4.120 #2687 SMP Mon Mar 5 08:20:58 CET 2018 armv7l
Mode:Gateway-AP


I tested 33006 (and reset to defaults) first from stock FW, but it hung within 24 hours. I upgraded to this version and it seemed ok so far, but I noticed today (after about 18 hours uptime) after some time the 5ghz radio "disappears" from the web management, can only assume it isn't broadcasting anymore too - not around it to check. The temperature of the wlan1 is even not showing up as if it isn't there. The webpage management acts like it only has one wlan now and doesn't have them separated into tabs. I am using the 5ghz with a 80mhz width and it worked well, got around 300-400megabit with wired lan to wireless copy tests. I have the transmit power set to auto for both radios (which is default) and I have a small fan blowing on the unit from a foot away to keep it cool just in case. It lowered the temps to the low 40's mid 30's Celsius on the radio cpu temps. They were upper 40's before. That's purely preventative.

I'm going to try 40mhz for a day and see how that goes. Although I've noticed the connected clients table shows VHT80 for my xbox even when dd-wrt is set to 40mhz. Not sure if that means its actually using 80mhz or 40mhz.
droopie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2014
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 17:26    Post subject: Re: Asus RT-N18U Reply with quote
rnix wrote:
Router/Version: Asus RT-N18U
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.120 #2689 Mon Mar 5 08:28:11 CET 2018 armv7l
Previous: r34080
Mode/Status: Gateway/working
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: Yes

1) Now addition to "Authentication fail" after every successful WebUI login in Syslog, this error is generated as well.

Mar 6 11:49:52 Gateway daemon.err httpd[1131]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Mar 6 11:49:57 Gateway daemon.err httpd[1131]: Request Error Code 404: File not found.


2) Time in Syslog is wrong. It ignores Time Zone setting and seems default to UTC instead.


im getting this too. i thought it was some kind of attack on my network because the router timeouts. cant connect to anything about every 10minutes
frank3302
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 18:25    Post subject: Re: Asus RT-N18U Reply with quote
droopie wrote:
im getting this too. i thought it was some kind of attack on my network because the router timeouts. cant connect to anything about every 10minutes


Router/Version: Asus RT-N18U
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 std (03/05/18 )
Kernel: Linux 4.4.120 #2689 Mon Mar 5 08:28:11 CET 2018 armv7l
Previous: -
Mode/Status: Gateway/working
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: Yes

Same problem as above.


The wifi still working. But I can't connect anything.
Even the control panel and local net work.
It seems the wifi(or the whole router?)were crashed.
It happened several times,though it'll back in few minutes.
And there's nothing in syslog... Sad
jmfolcik
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Archer C8 V1 is OK so far with this version if you don't want to use 5Ghz. I bought it for ~$30 primarily for the CPU performance to handle my Spectrum 100meg service. I get 120megabit with this router. I've disabled the 5ghz and using 40mhz 2.4ghz and so far its lasted 12 hours. If it lasts 24 I may try 5ghz again with "N-Only" as I'm fuzzy on whether I tried that yet.

Previously with even Only 5ghz enabled the 5ghz would disappear after several hours. I tried limiting it to 40mhz width and it didn't help. I didn't like the stock firmware enough where I ran it for about 2 days before switching. I am still happy I did the conversion and 2.4ghz is fine anyway, and performs pretty well at 40mhz width.


and yes I also get this message on this hardware model like the rest of you are getting on your various models.

Mar 20 14:27:46 DD-WRT daemon.err httpd[2327]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable
time period.
Oldsmobile_Mike
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Asus RT-AC66U
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35244 (03/05/1Cool
Previous: 33525
Reset: no
Issues/Errors:

Mobile devices cannot see one another. Basically, my Chromecasts get WiFi, and my phones get WiFi, but the devices cannot see or talk to one another and I cannot cast to my TV's. Rolled back to 33525 to fix issue.
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 692
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Should you try BS build 35531 in your spare time. You can always revert back to this build.

New Build 35531 (BS): 03-26-2018-r35531
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=314400

_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
BR07H3R
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Running great on my e3000. 100mb down 10mb up.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum