Can't revert Archer C7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
mcproenca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 15:41    Post subject: Can't revert Archer C7 Reply with quote
Hi!

I'm trying to revert my Archer C7 to stock firmware. When I try to update the firmware trough the web interface it says the update was successful but reboots to DD-WRT.

I'm using this build: DD-WRT v3.0-r30949 std (12/15/16)
Trying to revert using the web web revert build from this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=85237&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1918
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
connect via Telnet or SSh and issue this commands:
erase nvram
reboot

then try to upload that stripped dd-wrt image file
from DD-WRT site or from here
http://www.friedzombie.com/tplink-stripped-firmware/

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 35874 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 36006 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 35965M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 35965 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP Isolation, Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
mcproenca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you!

Just tried that and got the same results. Router reboots to DD-WRT after successful upgrade.
mcproenca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any suggestions guys?

I tried using the command line as well, and had the same results.
I was able to change te firmware version to another DD-WRT version successfully, but I'm unable to go back to stock firmware.

Please help me Smile.
Uncle Luke
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try using a different browser… Internet Explorer isn't used by many anymore to browse the Internet but it’s my browser of choice whenever flashing my modem or router! You could try using a different Ethernet cable or try reverting back using a different PC altogether! Make sure your Ethernet cable is plugged into the right port! Try doing a factory default reset or a 30-30-30 reset before and after flashing. Also, try clearing the browsers cache before and after flashing. Have you tried downloading the web-revert file again just in case it was corrupted? Just some thoughts!

One more thing… upgrade whatever program you’re using to open the web-revert rar file! Old Winrar or Winzip programs could cause an issue with “ArcherC7v2_webrevert.bin” not extracting properly.


Last edited by Uncle Luke on Mon Jul 31, 2017 22:01; edited 2 times in total
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 21:44    Post subject: Re: Can't revert Archer C7 Reply with quote
mcproenca wrote:
Hi!

I'm trying to revert my Archer C7 to stock firmware. When I try to update the firmware trough the web interface it says the update was successful but reboots to DD-WRT.

I'm using this build: DD-WRT v3.0-r30949 std (12/15/16)
Trying to revert using the web web revert build from this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=85237&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30

Any suggestions?

Thanks!


Try LOM's revert file in the link you provided but do not use 'reset to factory defaults' for the install
I've found that it messes up more often than not. ... and you can sort out the nvram after you get the OEM FW back on her --

good luck
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 578
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Archer may be: V1.x, V2.x, V3.x
Some versions may be: general, US and IL.

May be tried to be restored version is other than should to be?
BartW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 20:04    Post subject: Re: Can't revert Archer C7 Reply with quote
Can you folks please confirm my attack plan for reverting my Archer C7 V2 back to stock firmware from DD-WRT? After reading about routers being bricked I'm taking a slow cautious approach.

1. Download web revert build from this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=85237&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30
2. Extract the bin file from the rar compressed file using winrar or winzip
3. Connect to the routers lan port from your computers lan port.
4. Power up the router.
5. Verify that you've received an ip address from the router (if DHCP enabled) using ipconfig (or other)
6. If DHCP not enabled on router, configure your computers ip address as 192.168.1.50 (or similar)
7. Browse to the router using an address of http://192.168.1.1
8. Log in to the DD-WRT control panel
9. Browse to Administration > Firmware Upgrade
10. Change the "After flashing, reset to" dropdown to "Don't Reset".
11. Upload your bin file (from wherever you saved it in step 2) using the Browse button
12. After upload router will reboot automatically after which you can access the TP Link stock web interface by browsing to http://192.168.1.1
13. Check/Modify configurations as needed.

I'd appreciate any corrections/advice.

Thanks,
Brent
skb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey!
I am facing the same issue.. can you guys confirm if the above procedure works? I have ArcherC7 v4(EU). i cant find any revert files for it Sad
BartW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 15:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
skb wrote:
Hey!
I am facing the same issue.. can you guys confirm if the above procedure works? I have ArcherC7 v4(EU). i cant find any revert files for it Sad


Although i did not get any replies I went with those instructions and my router is now back and working with the default firmware.
Best of luck,
Brent
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum