E3000 bricked after DDWRT Upgrade

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 23:48    Post subject: E3000 bricked after DDWRT Upgrade Reply with quote
I had a previous post about a year ago but, thread is locked so, it leave me starting another one.

I have a linksys E3000 router that I attempted
to put DDW-RT onto it. My steps are as follows:

Did the "30-30-30" reset as described in threads I have read. Was successful in the installation, then, attempted to upgrade to newer bin and that was all she wrote.

**In summary - had stock firmware, installed successful ddwrt, attempted upgrade of ddwrt, router bricked.

I have stock "bak" firmware that was on the E3000 as well as a few versions of ddwrt..

I have a jtag cable (can post pict if need be) and connected it to the pc traces (soldered wires to traces for connections) at edge of board and connected same to cable via cable manufacturers directions and inserted into usb port. I have also tried to ping router and get "squat". I have set static address to 192.168.1.1 .

The router power light is at a fast pulsing blink (much like the vein pulsing in my skull). I have also attempted to unbrick via cat 5 cable with no results.

I had to walk away from this router else I would have run it over with my car! However, I am frustrated that I cannot get this working and not learning anything as to restoration///HELP!


dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-nv60k
dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp-e3000
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2135
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:54    Post subject: Serial Recovery Reply with quote
Serial Recovery is your best option: https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery#LOM_has_stated_this_for_the_E3000:

You need a USB-TTL 3.3V device, such as this: https://www.adafruit.com/product/954

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply!..I have a similar cable. however, if I cannot connect with a ping it would seem to me that the router is "isolated"...

At the top of the page link you have sent/attached, it mentions that the "bootloader" must be working. HOW do I confirm this?

I will start again at top of page tomorrow after church services and advise how I make out.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
see pict info -


close up of connections.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  40.82 KB
 Viewed:  3292 Time(s)

close up of connections.jpg



cable description.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  52.91 KB
 Viewed:  3292 Time(s)

cable description.jpg



cable and connection question.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  32.87 KB
 Viewed:  3292 Time(s)

cable and connection question.jpg




Last edited by bytersweet on Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:28; edited 1 time in total
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
continued, see pict info -


serial adapter cable 2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.33 KB
 Viewed:  3291 Time(s)

serial adapter cable 2.jpg


bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
last one - see pict info -


service wires attached.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  17.99 KB
 Viewed:  3289 Time(s)

service wires attached.jpg


Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't connect the vcc. Only use ground, tx and rx.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply!....

........HUH?...ya lost me. The cable manufacturer indicated something different. Referring to the attached picts, which wire should I eliminate and, the connection of the wire (whichever that one is) you said to eliminate - would that trash my attempt to restore router? I think I am using the ground and 2 other wires tx + rx.


Last edited by bytersweet on Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:08; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Google dd-wrt serial recovery or actually read the link Ian gave you.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply!......I think I have already looked at as much info as written on serial and still can't figure it out. Why cannot I get a ping to router every way I have tried?...Is it my connections from board to cable?
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Google dd-wrt serial recovery or actually read the link Ian gave you.


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I had indicated last night that I will FULLY read link sent after church this morning. Also, HOW do I determine if bootloader is functioning?...It stated w/out that working, I have a boat anchor.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you fully read the link why do you have more than ground, tx and rx hooked up? The guide says to only hook up ground, tx and rx.
Touch rx and tx together and hit some keys on the keyboard. Do they show up in putty? That way you can make sure your set up is correct.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
If you fully read the link why do you have more than ground, tx and rx hooked up? The guide says to only hook up ground, tx and rx.
Touch rx and tx together and hit some keys on the keyboard. Do they show up in putty? That way you can make sure your set up is correct.


*******************

Thanks for the reply!


I am reading it now. I believe I only have 3 wires hooked up and just checked in other room. However, what about my "boot-loader" inquiry?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2135
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 14:13    Post subject: Bootloader Reply with quote
You will know the bootloader is working by the LEDs flashing, usually not normal LEDs, just Power for example, may flash, instead of being solid.

Putty will show if the bootloader is working, most likely it is. If Rx and Tx are backwords, nothing will show up, so just switch them.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 14:19    Post subject: Re: Bootloader Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
You will know the bootloader is working by the LEDs flashing, usually not normal LEDs, just Power for example, may flash, instead of being solid.

Putty will show if the bootloader is working, most likely it is. If Rx and Tx are backwords, nothing will show up, so just switch them.


*******************

Thanks for the reply.


I believe I have already tried reversing tx and rx and to no avail. Putty window comes up but, no "display". Not sure if I have tried shorting tx and rx but, will tray after 1:30pm eastern time today.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum