Linksys EA4500 v3

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
megabyte24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 17:07    Post subject: Linksys EA4500 v3 Reply with quote
I found info that DD-WRT is not supported on v1/2 of this router (https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=690924) because it has a Marvell chipset, but cannot find any info as to whether v3 is supported or not (even on the DD-WRT supported + definitely not supported lists).

I presume this means it isn't, but just to make sure... https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/linksys/ea4500 suggests v3 has a Qualcomm chipset, and in the case of (amongst others) the Buffalo WZR-450HP2 on https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices it is supported on a device that uses the same model Qualcomm chipset even. I realise that there is other components that may not have code in any of the current DD-WRT codebase to drive them, which would prevent this unit from being supported.

Can anyone advise categorically?
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:02    Post subject: Support Reply with quote
Most likely the devs will ask for a hardware donation, possibly from the manufacturer.

The hardware seems very similar to a TP-Link WDR4900 v2, except for the WDR4900 v2 having only a 8MB flash.

I can modify the file so that it may flash on your router. There is a good chance it will brick the router though. I would suggest having a USB-TTL 3.3V device such as this for recovery: https://www.adafruit.com/product/954

Atheros routers are usually fairly easy to recover but also pretty easy to soft-brick.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
megabyte24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks ian5142.

I will acquire one of the cables suggested this weekend, though I though I read that this iteration of Linksys router have a dual boot system that can recovery from a bad flash without use of a JTAG cable.

What is the next step in acquiring your offered test build of DD-WRT for this router?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 23:29    Post subject: JTAG and Serial Reply with quote
Serial cable is different than JTAG.
I linked to a serial cable.

JTAG looks like this: https://www.digikey.com/catalog/en/partgroup/xup-usb-jtag-programming-cable/55630

I have one of these that does both: www.diygadget.com/tiao-usb-multi-protocol-adapter-jtag-spi-i2c-serial.html

But I find it easier to use a dedicated USB-TTL Serial cable like I linked to earlier instead. Less problems with drivers, etc.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
megabyte24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry ian5142. My mistake.

Will keep an eye on this thread for further info on the offered build of DD-WRT for this router.
js1662
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2014
Posts: 1237
Location: BC, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
megabyte24 wrote:
Sorry ian5142. My mistake.

Will keep an eye on this thread for further info on the offered build of DD-WRT for this router.


Since it has a Qualcomm chipset, it belongs to Atheros forum, so I will move this thread to the right forum and u better keep an eye on the Atheros forum instead of the General forum.
megabyte24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ian5142/js1662,

Apologies again for posting this subject to the general forum. Didn't realise Qualcomm owned Atheros these days. Maybe it be might be an idea to rename the Atheros group "Atheros/Qualcomm WiSOC based Hardware" on at least the main page to help prevent others making the same mistake.

As for monitoring the Atheros forum, what would I be monitoring it for? I thought ian5142 was offering to supply a build that may work on this unit, but not sure of the timeline for this. Are other forum members likely to have other input to be had on this subject?

Thanks!
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 22:21    Post subject: timeline Reply with quote
It takes no time to edit the header of a file and upload it here. I can have it ready in under 10 mins.

Just be aware that I have not tested it at all and it will most likely either not work or brick your router.

You should have a way to recover it before even trying.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
megabyte24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 22:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks ian5142, I have acquired the cable suggested and this is not our locations production router, so no worries if I have to try other ways to recover from a bad flash, that may require other equipment. Hope that my lack of stating I understood the risks was not what was being waited for?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 0:07    Post subject: Header Reply with quote
I thought I could modify the header so the file for a WDR4900v2 would flash on the Linksys but in the Linsys firmware, I can't even find the end of the header.

Your best bet would be to open the router and hook up 3.3V serial cable and open Putty. Reboot the router and attach a zip file with the Putty output. Once that is done, interrupt the boot (usually CTRL + C, tpl on TP-Link routers, it should say somewhere in the putty screen).

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum