Web access (monitoring)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
jmp68fr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 21:18    Post subject: Web access (monitoring) Reply with quote
I'm looking for a way to monitor web access (not incoming-outgoing traffic) from my router.
I am thinking of a solution like httpry or tcpdump.
Has anyone tried any of these solutions? (the utility would be installed on a usb stick)

Thanks in advance
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2047
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 15:03    Post subject: Router Reply with quote
My Asus N66U, which uses a big dd-wrt build has tcpdump built-in. According to the wiki, https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_DD-WRT%3F#File_Versions , big and mega builds should have it built in.

If it is not built-in, you can add it using Entware:

Entware 3X is found here (mips is Atheros, mipsel is Broadcom): https://github.com/Entware-for-kernel-3x/Entware-ng-3x/wiki/General-installation-notes

Installation of Entware is found here, use links from other Entware page though: https://github.com/Entware-ng/Entware-ng/wiki/Install-on-DD-WRT

You will find more info about tcpdump on dd-wrt here: https://bigdanzblog.wordpress.com/2017/09/19/using-tcpdump-with-dd-wrt/

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
jmp68fr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:20    Post subject: Web access (monitoring) Reply with quote
Router :Netgear WNDR4500v2
Firmware: DD-WRT build 33772

Hello

Thank you for your reply, I will give a try with the links provided.
May we suggest that this feature be included in future releases?

Best regards
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2047
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 15:38    Post subject: SSH Reply with quote
Did you open up a SSH terminal window and type tcpdump, click enter and see what comes up?

It is very similar to a Asus N66U that I have and it may already have it.

As for getting it added, I doubt that will happen. You can create a ticket on the SVN timeline ( http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ ). Most likely brainslayer and Kong will never get to adding the feature. There are just too many bugs to fix.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
jmp68fr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 20:19    Post subject: Web access (monitoring) Reply with quote
Router :Netgear WNDR4500v2
Firmware: DD-WRT build 33772

Hello

tcpdump exists natively in DD-WRT.I have launched some commands and analyzed with Wireshark.It's not very handy but it meets my needs.
Thanks for the tip.

Best regards
tedm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
tcpdump does not exist natively on all routers. Some firmware builds have it, others don't.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum