Tx Linksys - I apologized to my wife for buying your WRT's

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 20:21    Post subject: Tx Linksys - I apologized to my wife for buying your WRT's Reply with quote
( I had to apologize for WASTING MONEY ON LINKSYS ROUTERS !!! )

I have purchased WRT1900ACv1, ACv2, & WRT3200ACM.

As I bought them I put them in service as the main router.
I used a Netgear R8000 as and access point, then a bridge.

Current setup- WRT3200ACM(main) WRT1900ACv2(AP), R8000 as Bridge.

For the life of me I couldn't get any decent speed or ping.

my ping wouldn't go below 43ms, max 5 up, 110 down.
I pay for 15/200

Just for sh!ts and giggles, I took my WRT3200ACM and replaced it with the Netgear R8000, cpu overclocked to 1200, running Tomato.

I still have the ACv2 as an ap. I dug up an old AC56U to get my media bridge. It is linked via 5ghz, to a 5ghz radio on the Tomato router.

With the R8000 as main router, my ping is 8ms. 17 up 221 down. That is through the 5ghz on the ACv2 router as access point.

My PS4 THROUGH THE MEDIA BRIDGE --> measures itself at 12 up and 166 down, which was always 3 up, 65(or so) down.

NEVER LINKSYS AGAIN.

Hey Linksys --> I have 3 routers you can buy back.

Edit: Jan 15 2018 - WRT3200ACM/Gargoyle(main), WRT1900ACv2/Gargoyle(AP). R8000/DDWRT(mediabridge).

BUT NEVER BUYING LINKSYS AGAIN !!!

_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u


Last edited by LookingForMyMojo on Mon Jan 15, 2018 18:50; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I fully support the claim.
Dear users. Please return or resale all WRT units if you can.
WRT is unstable and very bad product by design mostly because of Marvel radio but why we have to be punished for company problems

_________________
Netgear R7800
ZlydenGL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Strange things are going on...

But I'll stand on LinkSys (Belkin?) side.

Mine WRT1900AC works perfectly fine, with ping to the closest web resources 5-15ms, I can utilize all my 100mbit channel (speedtest.net shows 94mbit/sec down, 88 mbit/sec up - and hey, I still have transmission running) and I have full 1gbit interlal wired. From all my previous devices, Broadcomm, Atheros and MTK, I'm definitelly fond of - and prefer - my current Linksys. Moreover, at the moment Linksys does all the stuff in my home network - I don't need additional APs/repiters anymore.

If you don't like it - well, just sell it on the market Smile I'm sure that there are a lot of users that would be grateful for this action.
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
pretty sad when my Netgear R8000 running Tomato, can outperform the WRT3200ACM on stock, ddwrt, or lede.
_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
akr-wrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2017
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
ZlydenGL wrote:
Strange things are going on...

But I'll stand on LinkSys (Belkin?) side.

Mine WRT1900AC works perfectly fine, with ping to the closest web resources 5-15ms, I can utilize all my 100mbit channel (speedtest.net shows 94mbit/sec down, 88 mbit/sec up - and hey, I still have transmission running) and I have full 1gbit interlal wired. From all my previous devices, Broadcomm, Atheros and MTK, I'm definitelly fond of - and prefer - my current Linksys. Moreover, at the moment Linksys does all the stuff in my home network - I don't need additional APs/repiters anymore.

If you don't like it - well, just sell it on the market Smile I'm sure that there are a lot of users that would be grateful for this action.


What build are you using? Which DD-WRT features do you use?

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

PIA OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/pages/client-support/dd-wrt-pptp

Provider: Charter Communications
Modem: Arris SurfBoard TM1602
Router: Linksys WRT3200ACM (33215)
WDS: Linksys 1900AC_v1 (31924)
Usb Nas: Imation Apollo 25 (1TB)
Services: Samba Share + PIA OpenVPN Client
blenn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 87
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
pretty sad when my Netgear R8000 running Tomato, can outperform the WRT3200ACM on stock, ddwrt, or lede.

Why is it sad that a powerful Netgear router happens to outperform a powerful Linksys router when they are running different firmwares? Interesting and possibly peculiar, yes. But sad?!?

No one is forcing you to use Linksys routers and if you don't like them you could just leave them alone. To me it just sounds like ranting when you seek out Linksys discussion forums to tell us that you don't like the routers we use and beta test. If you have no interest in neither participating in the testing or the productive dialogs I strongly recommend that you move on to other places on the internet.

_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS V2 dd-wrt bs r35034
Netgear R8000 dd-wrt kongac r36440M
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
blenn wrote:
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
pretty sad when my Netgear R8000 running Tomato, can outperform the WRT3200ACM on stock, ddwrt, or lede.

Why is it sad that a powerful Netgear router happens to outperform a powerful Linksys router when they are running different firmwares? Interesting and possibly peculiar, yes. But sad?!?

No one is forcing you to use Linksys routers and if you don't like them you could just leave them alone. To me it just sounds like ranting when you seek out Linksys discussion forums to tell us that you don't like the routers we use and beta test. If you have no interest in neither participating in the testing or the productive dialogs I strongly recommend that you move on to other places on the internet.


You obviously didn't read my post . I have been testing etc., for over 3 years. They AREN'T GETTING BETTER !!!

Always the same story.

"when you seek out Linksys discussion forums to tell us that you don't like the routers".

lol..............I have been PART of the Linksys WRT forums since they started testing, I tested the KONG image for the WRT1900ACv1, before it was even available to download from his FTP site. I also tested and provided bug reports to Chadster as he generated the first 3rd party firmware for the WRT1900ACv1, called "MCWRT". Thanks to "Gufus" it also had great adblocking !

With the WRT3200ACM, I tested and provided bug reports, screen shots, etc., to Eric as he was adding WRT3200ACM to Gargoyle's support list.

Speak when your information is accurate, otherwise you sound like a bumbling fool.

As far as power, you cannot compare the specs of the WRT3200ACM to the Netgear R8000. The 3200 should be blowing the R8000 away.

dual 1.866 vs dual 1.0, etc., etc., etc.

So for the R8000 to outperform the WRT3200, is VERY SAD !!!

_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 21:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have conceded defeat.

WRT1900ACv2 & WRT3200ACM, in the garbage. Network is R8000 running Tomato, and a couple gigabit switches. Network is super fast, no drops.

Thanks all for your help and suggestions. I am done with Linksys.

_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
jakewow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
pretty sad when my Netgear R8000 running Tomato, can outperform the WRT3200ACM on stock, ddwrt, or lede.


Have you tested with the router acting as a VPN client? Does the R8000 still outperform in that case?
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
jakewow wrote:
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
pretty sad when my Netgear R8000 running Tomato, can outperform the WRT3200ACM on stock, ddwrt, or lede.


Have you tested with the router acting as a VPN client? Does the R8000 still outperform in that case?


Not using R8000 anymore either. got fed up and bought an ASUS AC86U. Never been happier.

_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
I have conceded defeat.

WRT1900ACv2 & WRT3200ACM, in the garbage. Network is R8000 running Tomato, and a couple gigabit switches. Network is super fast, no drops.

Thanks all for your help and suggestions. I am done with Linksys.


Agree about garbage.
One thing. The last I knew Tomato did not support dual core cpus. At least not when I was running it on a Netgear r7000.

--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I worked with Shibby to add the R8000 (3rd radio)support. there is support for AC56U(dual 800nhz) as well. But very specific dual cpu routers.
_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
blenn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 87
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
@myersw and @lookingformymojo:
So what is the best open source firmware for the R8000 in your opinion?
I'm on stock right now but I honestly miss the functionality of DD-WRT.

_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS V2 dd-wrt bs r35034
Netgear R8000 dd-wrt kongac r36440M
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 17:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
read here for current Tomato, Shibby is on a long break............

http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/fork-tomato-by-shibby-compiled-by-kille72.73397/

Myself, I found Tomato easier to use, I overclocked the CPU to 1.2.

_________________
My "WRT" rant, and why I have gone ddwrt on x86, no more consumer routers. ( ac86u as access points & bridges )

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=312142&highlight=ac86u
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
blenn wrote:
@myersw and @lookingformymojo:
So what is the best open source firmware for the R8000 in your opinion?
I'm on stock right now but I honestly miss the functionality of DD-WRT.

Why not give Kong's firmware a try?
--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum