Netgear R7000 - wl0 (only) stops working +++ SOLVED +++

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 22:54    Post subject: Netgear R7000 - wl0 (only) stops working +++ SOLVED +++ Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7000
Mode: AP
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 std (06/04/20)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.226 #304 SMP Thu Jun 4 07:59:59 +04 2020 armv7l
Reset: erase nvram
Previous build: stock Netgear

I have two Netgear R7000 and use them only as AP with 4 SSID (same SSIDs on the two AP):
SSID-1: wl0 - wpa2 psk, mac filter (2.4G bridged on home LAN)
SSID-2: wl0.1 - wpa2 psk, VAP for guest access, not bridged
SSID-3: wl0.2 - wpa2 psk, VAP for IOT access, not bridged
SSID-4: wl1 - wpa2 psk, mac filter (5G bridged on home LAN)

For VAP to work i need the startup workaround:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;wlconf eth1 down;wlconf eth1 up;wlconf eth2 down;wlconf eth2 up;startservice nas

I don't use WAN, NAS, openvpn, wol, nothing at all, only dnsmasq and iptables for VAP. On the APs is enabled snmp and syslog to external server.

The dhcp server for SSID-1 and SSID-2 is on my wan router (Mikrotik).

All works fine (I have about 10 wifi client for each AP) on both SSID, BUT after some days (more or less every week) SSID-1 (wl0) became unusable: the SSID-1 is visibile, the wifi client associates but it doesn't receive the IP address.

On the same AP SSID-2, SSID-3 and SSID-4 are functioning. If I check with the brctl command the client mac-address is present on the bridge br0, so I suppose that the router doesn't forward dhcp packet from the client to the dhcp server, or the other way around.

The dhcp server is OK because if I connect to SSDI-4 (bridged on LAN together with SSDI-1) on the same AP the client starts immediately.
Likewise if I go to the other AP the client starts immediately also on SSID-1.

I searched on forum but seems that I'm the only one with that problem.
Tried to change firmare version on an AP, newer r43516 and an older DD-WRT v3.0-r37015M kongac, but no luck, after some days wl0 stops working with both releases.

I need to restart the AP (from GUI, SSH or with power button) to restore SSID-1 functionality.

I think it's unlikely an hardware problem, because it occurs on different R7000.

So I need help to troubleshout the problem.

Do you think I can report this as a bug?

I think that if it was a configuration error the AP wouldn't work immediately, and not after some days.

Advice welcome!


Last edited by eolo on Tue Dec 01, 2020 21:09; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
wabe
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2020 8:38    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7000 - wl0 (only) stops working Reply with quote
eolo wrote:


I think it's unlikely an hardware problem, because it occurs on different R7000.

So I need help to troubleshout the problem.

Do you think I can report this as a bug?

I think that if it was a configuration error the AP wouldn't work immediately, and not after some days.

Advice welcome!


Have you tried upgrading to the most recent build? That would be my first action. Build 44715 is good and stable. I'm using it on two Asus RT-AC68Us which is very similar to an R7000.

_________________
AC-68U rev. C1 on Build 45420
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 45493
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 44340
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2020 20:46    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7000 - wl0 (only) stops working Reply with quote
wabe wrote:
eolo wrote:


I think it's unlikely an hardware problem, because it occurs on different R7000.

So I need help to troubleshout the problem.

Do you think I can report this as a bug?

I think that if it was a configuration error the AP wouldn't work immediately, and not after some days.

Advice welcome!


Have you tried upgrading to the most recent build? That would be my first action. Build 44715 is good and stable. I'm using it on two Asus RT-AC68Us which is very similar to an R7000.


Thankyou for the advice, just upgraded to r44715 one of the 2 APs. I'll update in some days if problem resolved.
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2020 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've done some other searches on the web, and found similar problems here:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/R7000-2-4ghz-not-working-but-5ghz-is-fine/td-p/1372110

Seems like a firmware related problem, and who resolved installed Advanced Tomato.
wabe
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2020 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
eolo wrote:
I've done some other searches on the web, and found similar problems here:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/R7000-2-4ghz-not-working-but-5ghz-is-fine/td-p/1372110

Seems like a firmware related problem, and who resolved installed Advanced Tomato.

Lot's of people here are running dd-wrt on R7000s. Have not seen reports of this propblem before. Hopefully flashing a newer firmware will solve it.

_________________
AC-68U rev. C1 on Build 45420
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 45493
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 44340
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 766
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 2:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a couple R7000s running 40270M, only one active at a time, and I haven't seen this issue. I have the following setup:

SSID-1 - wl0 - 2.4G bridged to LAN (br0)
SSID-2 - wl0.1 - 2.4G VAP bridged to guest wifi (br1)
SSID-3 - wl1 - 5G bridged to LAN (br0)
SSID-4 - wl1.1 - 5G VAP bridged to guest wifi (br1)

All four APs are using WPA2-PSK with AES algorithms.

I have seen a certain client drop from the SSID-1 network, but I'm pretty sure that is a hardware problem with the laptop which is 8-9 years old.

I currently have 16 days of uptime, but I've had much longer than that without issue. You might try that build, but you've already done a newer and older one so maybe not.

Have you tried a full reset of the config and configure again from scratch?

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7201
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 6:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
eolo wrote:
I've done some other searches on the web, and found similar problems here:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/R7000-2-4ghz-not-working-but-5ghz-is-fine/td-p/1372110

Seems like a firmware related problem, and who resolved installed Advanced Tomato.


The problem reported there is over 3 years old and was about stock Netgear firmware.

One bad client can bring a Network down.
did you add any clients which are susceptible like iOT clients or other new clients?
Do you have Tx/Rx errors
What does syslog says?
Do you have much interference form neighbours etc (aka are you on a free channel?).

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
I have a couple R7000s running 40270M, only one active at a time, and I haven't seen this issue. I have the following setup:

SSID-1 - wl0 - 2.4G bridged to LAN (br0)
SSID-2 - wl0.1 - 2.4G VAP bridged to guest wifi (br1)
SSID-3 - wl1 - 5G bridged to LAN (br0)
SSID-4 - wl1.1 - 5G VAP bridged to guest wifi (br1)

All four APs are using WPA2-PSK with AES algorithms.

I have seen a certain client drop from the SSID-1 network, but I'm pretty sure that is a hardware problem with the laptop which is 8-9 years old.

I currently have 16 days of uptime, but I've had much longer than that without issue. You might try that build, but you've already done a newer and older one so maybe not.

Have you tried a full reset of the config and configure again from scratch?


Your setup is very similar of mine. Now I've upgraded to r44175, as suggested by wabe, and I'm waiting if the problem reoccurs. If yes, I'll try a full reset as you suggested. Thankyou.
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
eolo wrote:
I've done some other searches on the web, and found similar problems here:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/R7000-2-4ghz-not-working-but-5ghz-is-fine/td-p/1372110

Seems like a firmware related problem, and who resolved installed Advanced Tomato.


The problem reported there is over 3 years old and was about stock Netgear firmware.

One bad client can bring a Network down.
did you add any clients which are susceptible like iOT clients or other new clients?
Do you have Tx/Rx errors
What does syslog says?
Do you have much interference form neighbours etc (aka are you on a free channel?).


Thankyou egc for your support.

No new recent client, I changed my old WNDR3700 with a new R7000 for 802.11ac support.
WNDR3700 worked flawlessy for years with dd-wrt. The second R7000 takes the place of a R6400, that worked flawlessy for year with dd-wrt. The R64000 works now as repeater of a R7000 without problems.

About error on wl0:
R7000-1 - RX 17 error, TX 64 error, uptime 1d, 42m
R7000-2 - RX no error, TX 30 error, uptime 13 hours
the error counter seems increase slowly (about +1 TX error after 1 hour, RX error stable).
The log of all my router are collected on my syslog server; here the extract of the last event (the MAC are renamed):

Nov 11 17:47:09 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.46 from BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB
Nov 11 17:47:31 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.46 for BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB without success
Nov 11 17:49:10 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning message repeated 3 times: [ Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.46 for BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB without success]
Nov 11 17:52:13 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:14 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:23 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:38 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:53:02 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:53:03 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:53:18 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:53:40 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:54:15 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:54:31 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:54:54 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:54:55 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:55:08 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:55:15 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:55:15 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:56:51 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:57:07 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:57:30 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:57:31 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:57:46 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:58:21 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:58:47 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:59:01 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 17:59:27 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:59:28 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:59:43 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success
Nov 11 18:00:07 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA


Nov 11 15:57:54 192.168.10.250 process_monitor[1403]: cyclic NTP Update success (servers 193.204.114.232)
Nov 11 17:49:39 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPDISCOVER(br1) BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB
Nov 11 17:49:39 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPOFFER(br1) 192.168.12.107 BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB
Nov 11 17:49:40 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPREQUEST(br1) 192.168.12.107 BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB
Nov 11 17:49:40 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPACK(br1) 192.168.12.107 BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB PC-ALICE
Nov 11 16:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3518]: Connecting to 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232] ...
Nov 11 16:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3518]: Time set from 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232].
Nov 11 16:57:54 192.168.10.250 process_monitor[1403]: cyclic NTP Update success (servers 193.204.114.232)
Nov 11 18:54:42 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPREQUEST(br1) 192.168.12.142 cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc
Nov 11 18:54:42 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPNAK(br1) 192.168.12.142 cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc lease not found
Nov 11 18:54:48 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPDISCOVER(br1) cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc
Nov 11 18:54:48 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPOFFER(br1) 192.168.12.143 cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc
Nov 11 18:54:48 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPREQUEST(br1) 192.168.12.143 cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc
Nov 11 18:54:48 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPACK(br1) 192.168.12.143 cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc gateway-1202-1864-9455
Nov 11 17:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3709]: Connecting to 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232] ...
Nov 11 17:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3709]: Time set from 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232].
Nov 11 17:57:54 192.168.10.250 process_monitor[1403]: cyclic NTP Update success (servers 193.204.114.232)
Nov 11 18:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3893]: Connecting to 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232] ...
Nov 11 18:57:54 192.168.10.250 ntpclient[3893]: Time set from 193.204.114.232 [193.204.114.232].
Nov 11 18:57:54 192.168.10.250 process_monitor[1403]: cyclic NTP Update success (servers 193.204.114.232)

192.168.10.254 is the network gateway (Mikrotik) and DHCP server.
192.168.10.250 is the AP (R7000)
AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA is the MAC of my laptop
BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB is the MAC of my smartphone
cc:cc:cc:cc:cc:cc is the MAC of a guest device

At 17:47:09 I tried to connect to SSID-1 from my laptop, without success, from the messages it seems that the DHCP server answered but dhcp packets were non forwarded to the laptop:

Nov 11 17:47:31 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.46 for BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB without success

So at 17:49:39 I tried to connect to SSID-2 (guest access) succesfully:

Nov 11 17:49:40 192.168.10.250 dnsmasq-dhcp[1081]: DHCPACK(br1) 192.168.12.107 BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB PC-ALICE

At 17:52:13 I disconnected my phone from SSID-4 (5GHz access to LAN) and tried to connect to SSID-1: no success.

Nov 11 17:52:13 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:14 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna assigned 192.168.10.60 to AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:23 192.168.10.254 dhcp,info Lan_interna deassigned 192.168.10.60 from AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
Nov 11 17:52:38 192.168.10.254 dhcp,warning Lan_interna offering lease 192.168.10.60 for AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA without success

Following your advice, I checked for neighbour interference, and discovered that the channel configuration wasn't optimal (new neighbour SSID and different channel from the previous check, six months ago.

Now:
both my two R7000 are updated at r44175
channel reconfigured to minimize interference
to choose the channels I modified "channel width" from 40 MHz to 20 MHz

Any advice on what to check on AP if the problem recurs is welcome. Tcpdump on dd-wrt might be useful, but I could not found it.
Thankyou again for your support.
eolo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 21:08    Post subject: Problem solved! Reply with quote
After 20 day of uptime no more problem.

I recap my actions:

- R7000 updated to r44175
- channel reconfigured to minimize interference with neighbor
- to choose the channels I must modify "channel width" from 40 MHz to 20 MHz

I don't know which action was decisive, but I'm very happy.

Thankyou to all for your support.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum