EA8500 wireless internet worse than my phone

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5762
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Depends on what equipment it connects to and your wireless settings.

Are you using 2.4 or 5 Ghz?

Check Wireless->Status.
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5762
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
well that depends on the WLAN settings (such as channel width) and the WLAN chipsets of the devices

normally the router <-> router connection could be faster, since 4x4 MIMO is often possible here

QCA <-> QCA

2x2 <600Mbit
4x4 <800-900Mbit

but we don't know the main router and which chipset it has

For example, it is possible that Broadcom and Qualcomm cannot deliver such good results together.
(there are certainly more chipsets like Quantenna / Mediatek / Marvel)

~140Mbit is not much
I have ~300mbit with 2x2 in the bathroom at 10m through 3 walls
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
why not with VHT80?
80MHz has 4x as much bandwidth as 20MHz
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
more throughput over longer distances

HT20SGI 2x2 ~173Mbit grossrate in best case (short distance)
VHT80SGI 2x2 ~866Mbit grossrate in best case (short distance)
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
they are not relevant in such small quantities

half a million to 10

I wouldn't worry about that
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 13:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you can't configure the main rotuer/AP, you are pretty much stuck. Your best bet is a wired connection to the main router.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
The wifi speed between my router and main router is 533mbit according to the speedchecker. So really it's just the internet connection that is slower than my phone for some reason.


are you talking about the DD-WRT SpeedChecker?

Quote:
Wi-fi test triggers series of downloads that are downloading randomly generated data from the router itself. The downloads happen in paralell using multiple threads to saturate the link and measure maximum throughput over the line that user is connected to the router. The test runs on the active link between user and router


this is a speed measurement between the DD-WRT router and the enddevice (LAN or WLAN)
like iperf3 only less precise / less flexible

It also measures some rubbish in my case.
Shows 30Mb internet-speed if 100Mb actually go through the line

So I'm assuming that the measured 533Mbit is the cable throughput (between your DD-WRT router and client)


Measuring the throughput between the Zyxel and the Linksys should be a bit difficult.

To do this, you would have to attach an iperf server to the WAN/LAN of the Zyxel.

But just show the WiFi status page of the DD-WRT
at least you can see the connection rate there
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1244
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guys, please stop and think about this....in what situation would you not have access to the main router to be able to change stuff? Usually this implies you are using a network that someone else manages and owns and pays for.

Because of the rules of the forum I am now locking this topic.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum