PROBLEMS WITH UPGRADE/DOWNGRADE from build 33375 (SOLVED)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
bruce_wein
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2008
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
How do I check and confirm my exact boot size ?
I have a TP-Link 1043ND v1.x (i don't rememeber if it's 1.1/1.2/1.3/1.4)
Can anyone please post a step by step how-to ? Just the determining the boot size, everything else I got it (or at least i think so...)
Sponsor
mich3lin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 13:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,
as many of you, my router (1043ND) is stuck on older fw and can't be upgraded the usual way. So, I have tried flashing directly through RS232 and TFTP and I managed to get newer version working (36006). But any newer than that and my router gets stuck on boot everytime:
[ 1.070000] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(31,2)
I'm not sure how to get past this... Is it possible that I have an old u-boot version or something?
These are the commands I use to flash fw:
Code:
setenv ipaddr 192.168.0.3     
setenv serverip 192.168.0.5   
printenv         
erase 0xbf020000 +7c0000
tftpboot 0x81000000 firmware.bin   
cp.b 0x81000000 0xbf020000 0x7c0000
bootm 0xbf020000

Or should I flash a bigger range? I'm clueless at this point and would really appreciate any help.
Full log:
Code:
U-Boot 1.1.4 (Apr 28 2011 - 15:55:09)

AP83 (ar9100) U-boot 0.0.11
                           DRAM:
                                  sri
32 MB
d read 0x100000ff
flash size 8MB, sector count = 128
Flash:  8 MB
sing default environment

n:    serial
Out:   serial
Err:   serial
et:   ag7100_enet_initialize...
o valid address in Flash. Using fixed address
 cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7114
eth0: 00:03:7f:09:0b:ad
eth0 up
eth0
Autobooting in 1 seconds# Booting image at bf020000 ...
   Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK

Starting kernel ...



OpenWrt kernel loader for AR7XXX/AR9XXX
Copyright (C) 2011 Gabor Juhos <juhosg@openwrt.org>
Decompressing kernel...
done!
Starting kernel...

    0.000000] Linux version 3.10.108-d2 (root@linux) (gcc version 7.3.0 (OpenWrt                                                                                                   GCC 7.3.0 r6438-46177a850f) ) #58835 Fri Jun 29 08:30:45 CEST 2018
[    0.000000] flash_size passed from bootloader = 8
[    0.000000] bootconsole [early0] enabled
[    0.000000] CPU0 revision is: 00019374 (MIPS 24Kc)
[    0.000000] booting platform Atheros AR9132 rev 2 (0xb9)
[    0.000000] Determined physical RAM map:
[    0.000000]  memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)
[    0.000000] Zone ranges:
[    0.000000]   Normal   [mem 0x00000000-0x01ffffff]
[    0.000000] Movable zone start for each node
[    0.000000] Early memory node ranges
[    0.000000]   node   0: [mem 0x00000000-0x01ffffff]
    0.000000] Primary instruction cache 64kB, 4-way, VIPT, I-cache aliases, line                                                                                                  size 32 bytes.
[    0.000000] Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32                                                                                                   bytes
[    0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pag                                                                                                  es: 8128
[    0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 root=1f02 rootfstype=sq                                                                                                  uashfs noinitrd init=/sbin/init
[    0.000000] PID hash table entries: 128 (order: -3, 512 bytes)
[    0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
[    0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[    0.000000] Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
[    0.000000] Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
[    0.000000] Memory: 29224k/32768k available (2129k kernel code, 3544k reserve                                                                                                  d, 360k data, 196k init, 0k highmem)
[    0.000000] NR_IRQS:83
[    0.000000] irq init done
[    0.000000] plat_time_init: plat time init done
[    0.000000] Calibrating delay loop... 265.42 BogoMIPS (lpj=1327104)
[    0.080000] pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
[    0.080000] Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
[    0.090000] NET: Registered protocol family 16
[    0.100000] Can't analyze schedule() prologue at 80066e20
[    0.120000] bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
[    0.120000] Switching to clocksource MIPS
[    0.130000] NET: Registered protocol family 2
[    0.130000] TCP established hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.140000] TCP bind hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)
[    0.150000] TCP: Hash tables configured (established 512 bind 512)
[    0.150000] TCP: reno registered
[    0.160000] UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.160000] UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.170000] NET: Registered protocol family 1
[    0.170000] gpio_proc: module loaded and /proc/gpio/ created
[    0.180000] Register LED Device
[    0.180000] wl0gpio_proc: module loaded and /proc/wl0gpio/ created
[    0.190000] AR7100 GPIOC major 0
[    0.190000] squashfs: version 4.0 (2009/01/31) Phillip Lougher
[    0.200000] msgmni has been set to 57
[    0.200000] io scheduler noop registered
[    0.210000] io scheduler deadline registered (default)
[    0.210000] Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 1 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
[    0.240000] serial8250.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x18020000 (irq = 19) is a 16550A
[    0.250000] console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
[    0.250000] console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
[    0.260000] guessed flashsize = 8M
[    0.260000] scanning for root partition
[    0.270000] ZCom quirk found
[    0.270000] bootloader size = 100000
[    0.280000]
[    0.280000] found squashfs at 100000
[    0.280000] Creating 8 MTD partitions on "ar7100-nor0":
[    0.290000] 0x000000000000-0x000000100000 : "RedBoot"
[    0.300000] 0x000000050000-0x0000007d0000 : "linux"
[    0.300000] 0x000000050000-0x000000710000 : "rootfs"
[    0.310000] mtd: partition "rootfs" set to be root filesystem
[    0.320000] 0x000000710000-0x0000007d0000 : "ddwrt"
[    0.320000] 0x0000007e0000-0x0000007f0000 : "nvram"
[    0.330000] 0x0000007f0000-0x000000800000 : "FIS directory"
[    0.340000] 0x0000007f0000-0x000000800000 : "board_config"
[    0.340000] 0x000000000000-0x000000800000 : "fullflash"
[    0.350000] ->Oops: flash id 0x10216 .
[    0.350000] Found an RTL8366RB switch
[    0.360000] Realtek RTL8366RB ethernet switch driver version 0.2.4
    0.470000] rtl8366rb rtl8366rb: using GPIO pins 18 (SDA) and 19 (SCK)
[    0.470000] rtl8366rb rtl8366rb: RTL5937 ver. 3 chip found
    0.680000] libphy: rtl8366rb: probed
    0.880000] PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
[    0.890000] PPP BSD Compression module registered
[    0.890000] PPP Deflate Compression module registered
[    0.890000] PPP MPPE Compression module registered
[    0.900000] NET: Registered protocol family 24
    0.910000] u32 classifier
[    0.920000]     Performance counters on
[    0.920000]     input device check on
[    0.920000]     Actions configured
[    0.930000] Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
[    0.930000] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (456 buckets, 1824 max)
[    0.940000] nf_conntrack_rtsp v0.7 loading
[    0.940000] nf_nat_rtsp v0.7 loading
    0.950000] ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
    0.950000] TCP: westwood registered
[    0.960000] TCP: hybla registered
[    0.960000] TCP: vegas registered
[    0.960000] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[    0.970000] Bridge firewalling registered
[    0.970000] 8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
[    0.980000] searching for nvram
[    0.980000] nvram size = 0
[    1.010000] Atheros AR71xx hardware watchdog driver version 0.1.0
[    1.020000] ar71xx-wdt: timeout=15 secs (max=21) ref freq=200000000
[    1.020000] List of all partitions:
[    1.030000] 1f00            1024 mtdblock0  (driver?)
[    1.030000] 1f01            7680 mtdblock1  (driver?)
[    1.040000] 1f02            6912 mtdblock2  (driver?)
[    1.040000] 1f03             768 mtdblock3  (driver?)
[    1.050000] 1f04              64 mtdblock4  (driver?)
[    1.050000] 1f05              64 mtdblock5  (driver?)
[    1.060000] 1f06              64 mtdblock6  (driver?)
[    1.060000] 1f07            8192 mtdblock7  (driver?)
[    1.070000] No filesystem could mount root, tried:  squashfs
[    1.070000] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unkno                                                                                                  wn-block(31,2)
[    1.070000] Rebooting in 1 seconds
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
in older firmwares the string isnt tp-link but dd-wrt. i changed that string to tp-link in that firmware and this all caused the bug since my mtd partition code was looking for the wrong string to detect the bootloader size


and i can see yours is dd-wrt Wink

just read the first page ..first!!

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40634 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
bruce_wein
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2008
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 20:17    Post subject: Re: My 1043ND v1.9 is unbricked now! Reply with quote
rafalB wrote:
I was pretty sure I have had bricked my router. But it was interesting for me that leds were blinking differently when I powered on the router with reset button pressed. I thought that maybe router is alive waiting for firmware. Then I have found this article: https://www.trishtech.com/2015/06/unbrick-tplink-wr740n-wifi-router/
... and following it I was able to unbrick my router TFTPed original latest stock TP-Link firmware downloaded from https://www.tp-link.com/us/download/TL-WR1043ND_V1.html#Firmware renamed to wr1043nv1_tp_recovery.bin
Afterwords I have flashed latest DD-WRT r35034 released on 17.02.2018 (DD.MM.YYYY Smile)


You sir are a GOD ! you just saved me, i was sure my 1043ND v1 was toast, but it's ALIVE !!!
I've tried to flash it to the latest DD-WRT and failed, the router went back to boot-loop so I took your advise and upgraded to r35034 and it's working great !
So - there is no chance to upgrade from r35034 once again ???
SWATcyp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
This upgrading problem still persists. I have WR1043ND v1.8 router and I am stuck at r36006. I tried all of the OP's methods and problem continues. Router flashes the firmware and it stucks in a bootloop with an error of unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (31,2). I do not believe this is a bootblock name thing. Because i flashed the router with the breed bootloader. The OP's suggestions where you preserve the boot sector then flashing it to the router is bypassed via this breed recovery method. I managed flashing r36006 but after that all the releases gave me the error of kernel panic: unable to mount root fs on unknown block (31,2). No need of mentioning that i tried upgrading from the WEB GUI and failed(It uploads the fw then reboots but no change). I also flashed webrevert image to the router. It reverted. Then factory to ddwrt image also gave me the same error. Any actual solutions?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
solution 1 - cut the struggle and buy a new router...
solution 2 stay on this build
solution 3 check those new builds may have been oversized
witch is very likely
solution 4 as this router has a very bad flash chip it may be dead and you are stuck to this build... change the chip with either the same or compatible one

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40634 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
vulgovulto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 May 2012
Posts: 71
Location: Rio Grande do Sul / Brasil

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 14:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I bricked my router and need the full flash dump para o TP-LINK WR-941ND V3.6 to reprogram my flash memory.
Someone has and can send me?
vulgovulto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 May 2012
Posts: 71
Location: Rio Grande do Sul / Brasil

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
vulgovulto wrote:
I bricked my router and need the full flash dump para o TP-LINK WR-941ND V3.6 to reprogram my flash memory.
Someone has and can send me?


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=743026
Mtkr125
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I get connected by Rs232 But it does not show letters but symbols, which can be
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mtkr125 wrote:
I get connected by Rs232 But it does not show letters but symbols, which can be


this means either bad connection or router is dead...
make sure Tx is connected to Rx and that you use the proper voltage, mostly is used 3.3v and speed, bits, error settings are correct

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40634 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
Mtkr125
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
The router I have is a Tp Link 941ND Ver3.6. Now I buy an RS232 TTL usb cable and now if I can see the characters correctly, but I still can not stop the automatic restart, I can not enter "TPL" from the terminal.
davi.naizer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 15:23    Post subject: WR941ND v3 Reply with quote
I don't know if anyone can help me with this. I've tried the procedure described on the firsts posts, but now when I turn the router on (wr941nd v3) all lights up, none blinking, and nothing else happens. I'd tried serial cable connection, but I only got a 0x000 as a response from the router, nothing else. Any advice?
Thnx in advance.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
this thread is regarding problems only with that build,
if you did't read all the thread and too some actions
that are not on the subject very likely to have problems now...
did you identify the boot size first, ware you sure those steps are correct and regarding your router as well???
to unbrick your router if its not dead look in youtube or ggl it if you don't have any outputs from your serial that means router is dead...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40634 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
zloy_elektrik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 20:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
mich3lin wrote:
Hi,
as many of you, my router (1043ND) is stuck on older fw and can't be upgraded the usual way. So, I have tried flashing directly through RS232 and TFTP and I managed to get newer version working (36006).

Same here, except latest working build for my 1043nd v1 is 36104. I flashed several newer builds (36154, 36168, 36247, 36527, 37305, 37932, 37961, 38060) via serial and tftpd, got bootloop on all of them. If I recover to stock tplink firmware via serial+tfttpd, and then flash factory-to-ddwrt.bin newer than 36104 via webgui - same bootloop. Someone probably shoud remove those newer builds from ddwrt router database page for this particuar router. I also have asus rt-n16 upgraded from older ddwrt build to 38060 via webgui, working ok.
ClayDavis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Sep 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
zloy_elektrik wrote:
mich3lin wrote:
Hi,
as many of you, my router (1043ND) is stuck on older fw and can't be upgraded the usual way. So, I have tried flashing directly through RS232 and TFTP and I managed to get newer version working (36006).

Same here, except latest working build for my 1043nd v1 is 36104. I flashed several newer builds (36154, 36168, 36247, 36527, 37305, 37932, 37961, 38060) via serial and tftpd, got bootloop on all of them. If I recover to stock tplink firmware via serial+tfttpd, and then flash factory-to-ddwrt.bin newer than 36104 via webgui - same bootloop. Someone probably shoud remove those newer builds from ddwrt router database page for this particuar router. I also have asus rt-n16 upgraded from older ddwrt build to 38060 via webgui, working ok.


i can confirm same problem with tp-wr1043nd v1.1
anyone confirm installing a build later than 36006?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 8 of 9
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum