PROBLEMS WITH UPGRADE/DOWNGRADE from build 33375 (SOLVED)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3963
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
nope you have to manually fix it if you want to upgrade...
once you fix it, it will be ok to update to new builds...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Sponsor
SYN1ST3R
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2014
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having problems with getting this to work, maybe the directions aren't clear enough for me or I'm doing something wrong. A video tutorial would really help me out I think.

Using:
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, PuTTY 64bit, TL-WDR4300 v1 (using 131072), router currently stuck on v3.0-r33375 std (09/19/17).



Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3963
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
read carefully my 3rd post or make sure your router has an internet already and instead of pscp.exe way just use:

wget ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/11-04-2017-r33679/tplink_tl-wdr4300v1/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

and then proceed with the rest instructions

there is no video tutorial as you may guess...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
SYN1ST3R
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2014
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Everything worked out. I'm now on r33679 (11/5/17) Thanks everyone Very Happy
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 23:29    Post subject: TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V1.8 router with r33375 now bricked ! Reply with quote
OK, so my TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V1.8 was also stuck on r33375

I followed the instructions as follows:

In PUTTY SSH:

root@dd-wrt-ap:/tmp# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00040000 00010000 "RedBoot"
mtd1: 007a0000 00010000 "linux"
mtd2: 006ae000 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00030000 00010000 "ddwrt"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
mtd5: 00010000 00010000 "FIS directory"
mtd6: 00010000 00010000 "board_config"
mtd7: 00800000 00010000 "fullflash"

On PC:
pscp.exe -scp factory-to-ddwrt.bin root@192.168.0.1:/tmp/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

This successfully transferred the full binary.

Then in PUTTY SSH:
dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072
131072+0 records in
131072+0 records out
cd /tmp
cat factory-to-ddwrt.bin >> boot.bin

...and here the router no longer responded.

There are no flashing LEDs, only the power LED.

It is now dead !!!!

I have since tried to establish a serial connection with the router as described here:

http://sjoosten.nl/2013/07/unbrick-tl-wr1043nd.html

but without success.

At power on, I cannot see the bootloader starting and hence I cannot talk to it via the serial connection.

Anyone have any suggestions how I can talk to the bootloader...maybe short some pins on the flash chip Smile

Thanks for any help or advice....
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3963
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, have you checked and confirmed that your boot size is 131072...
I can already see different output in cat /proc/mtd
if you didn't identify the correct size and 131072 its wrong
it could be bricked already

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
fizikz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Nov 2016
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
@eladb @Alozaros I don't see how/why it would be bricked from just the steps described since nothing was written back to fullflash yet. All the writing was done to files in tmp. Assuming no typos.
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
RSCM has the same router and version and since his "cat /proc/mtd" command gave the same results as mine (mtd7 = fullflash), I assumed my bootloader size was also 131072 as shown below:

> root@DD-WRT:~# cat /proc/mtd

> dev: size erasesize name
> mtd0: 00040000 00010000 "RedBoot"
> mtd1: 007a0000 00010000 "linux"
> mtd2: 006ae000 00010000 "rootfs"
> mtd3: 00030000 00010000 "ddwrt"
> mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
> mtd5: 00010000 00010000 "FIS directory"
> mtd6: 00010000 00010000 "board_config"
> mtd7: 00800000 00010000 "fullflash
> root@DD-WRT:~# dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072

> i got 131072 using a hexeditor from a dump of mtd7 (read above @epsilon) (wr1043nd_v1.8 )

I don't understand why it's bricked either since as fizkz pointed out, "nothing was written back to fullflash yet. All the writing was done to files in tmp. Assuming no typos"...there weren't any!
epsilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe the Flash-Chip has died... Did you often flashing or configuring your router?
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, I did often upgrade the firmware from dd-wrt site since I was regularly having problems with the wan and wlan going down.

How can I confirm if the flash chip has indeed died?

If I replace the old chip with a new one (I can solder SMD chips), what is involved in getting the router up and going again?
epsilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 16:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, maybe you had had a hardware problem, not with software. In this case, it could be something else. Ask for help some electronic engineer. And I'm not sure if it worth to pay for reparing your router. You may check yet, if your power supply adaptor is working correct. Connect your router to another power supply adaptor.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 17:04    Post subject: U-Boot Reply with quote
The flash chip will need to be flashed with a working version of U-boot compatible with that router. This may require a flash programmer (SPI programmer) but it may be able to be done via JTAG.

If it is truly the flash chip, just buy a new router.

Did you try the methods described on the OpenWRT wiki: https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr1043nd#firmware_flashing

I would suggest using the factory (TP-Link) firmware first.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 21:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks team for your suggestions.

The power supply is fine. I've also checked all the DC rails on the router main board +12V, +5V, +3.3V, +2.5V, 1.2V and they all seem correct so I think all the Vregs are good.

I am an electronic engineer.

Interestingly, after being powered up for a long time, all chips are still stone cold! I might try and check the 2 crystal oscillators, 40Mhz & 25MHz, to ensure that they're still working!

I've tried all the methods described on OpenWRT without success. 30/30/30 reset has no effect. All ethernet ports are down and the serial interface on the main board is down. Only the power led is on. No blinking leds.

If I have to replace the flash chip, is the 128KB bootloader rom image all that's needed to be able to re-establish tftp comms with the router?
I understand that this bootloader image would have to be flashed in using JTAG.

Anyone know where I can find the 128KB bootloader rom image for THE TP-Link TL-WR1043N(D) V1.8 ?
x0101222
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe you can find it here.


https://github.com/pepe2k/u-boot_mod/blob/master/README.md#supported-devices

An example... In German..



https://youtu.be/l6rw1zo4A2c
eladb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
No sign of the right bootloader on github.com.

The TP-Link TL-WR1043ND uses the AR9132 chip.

Any have any other suggestions?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 9
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum