Setting MAC Filtering with a MAC address range

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Red Dragon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 0:42    Post subject: Setting MAC Filtering with a MAC address range Reply with quote
I want to setup wireless MAC filtering to only allow connections from a brand of device so I want to know to to setup MAC filtering for a MAC address range? This router will only be used for wireless so if I need to set the MAC filtering somewhere else on the router like under access control that would be fine.
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3781
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
pls forgive me and my poor knowledge but what is MAC address range how it does look like ???
I know about IP range and i know how to block MAC addresses
via Iptables or DNSmasq, but i have no idea about MAC range please explain...??
and yes you can use wi fi mac address block list if so ....

p.s.and usually everyone who need help starts with router model and dd-wrt current build otherwise if i can guess those it will be so easy to guess the loto or euro millions Smile

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Red Dragon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry its a WRT54G2 1.3 running DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 micro (09/19/17). I know under MAC filtering there is lots of spaces to put individual MAC addresses but I want to input a range of addresses.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3781
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
so you have to specify one by one im afraid
or use dnsmasq but its the same one by one i dont think
MAC address range will work with iptabless never tried it
also as you are running micro build do in mind many futures, commands, variables will be stripped off in order to match
flash ram size...

try something like

iptables -A INPUT -i eth1 -m mac --mac-source AA:XX:XX:XX:XX:BB -j REJECT

iptables -I FORWARD -i eth1 -m mac --mac-source AA:XX:XX:XX:XX:BB -j REJECT

you can use br0 instead of eth1

or add those lines to additional DNSmasq


dhcp-host=11:22:33:44:55:66,ignore

Or, you can do it this way

dhcp-host=11:22:33:44:55:66,set:known
dhcp-ignore=tag:!known

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Red Dragon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm making my own 3DS Streetpass relay so I was seeing if I could limit it so only 3DSs can connect to it. It might be easier to have it only let access to the server the streetpass relay connects to.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum