firmware not upgrading Buffalo whr-g300n v2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
intdev
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello, I'm using Buffalo WHR-G300N V2.
And I currently using r32170(06/01/17) build.

Not yet resolved this issue?
Is there anyone tried and succeed?
Sponsor
Grindmetal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
write whr-hp-g300n-firmware-MULTI.bin linux function stop_snmp not found function stop_olsrd not found function stop_openvpn not found function stop_openvpnserver not found function stop_freeradius not found Image too big for partition: linux linux: Invalid argument
mage too big for partition: linux



impossible Update stuck in DD-WRT v3.0-r32170 std (06/01/17)

_________________
Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N_Japanese Version
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r32170 std (06/01/17)
Boia11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 19:40    Post subject: Re: Stripping a build Reply with quote
rotarum wrote:
ian5142 wrote:
First of all, no you can not easily cut a build down to make it fit on the router's flash.

The best thing you can do is create a ticket on the SVN to let Brainslayer know about the problem. We had this issue with the Linksys 160N v3 for about 6 months I think before it was fixed.

Don't expect it to happen over night. Also, in order for Brainslayer to make it fit some features that the router currently has may have to be excluded (VPN, Hotspot, etc). Some of those features may have already been excluded.

I would not suggest what you are attempting to do, you will most likely end up with a brick.


Did anyone create a ticket to the SVN yet ?

On my Buffalo WHR HP-G300n the update is also failing .


I created ticket a few months ago
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6284

_________________
TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (2 devices)

Buffalo WHR-G300N v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (1 device)
tdiguy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Back a while ago i remember having a problem updating this router via gui. However i could always update it via TFTP. Has that changed now also?
tdiguy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 23:25    Post subject: Re: firmware not upgrading Buffalo whr-g300n v2 Reply with quote
lch503 wrote:
Hello,

I have been running dd-wrt on two separate Buffalo whr-g300n v2 for a couple of years in order to run hotspotsystem software.

Both run build 21676.

However, the build has not always been completely stable therefore I have been waiting for a suitable firmware replacement. Builds later than this seemed to have an issue whereby a WAN address could not be obtained therefore I downgraded back.

Recently I have tried again, but when I try a firmware upgrade, the firmware upgrade is said to be successful, however the build never does, and stays at 21676 after the router reboots. Note that this is through the admin user interface.

I have also attempted with tftp but with no success yet. I have seen guides but I would like to double check I am doing this correct (using Windows):

Reset the router to factory defaults
connect to router via lan port
set a static ip on the interface compatible with router factory defaults - 192.168.1.100, subnet 255.255.255.0 - still auto dns
set retries in tftp2 to > 10 - do I reboot router at this point or wait until it has completely booted?
set tftp2 ip to 192.168.1.1
press start / connect

If I am doing something wrong or if anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Leon

From what i remember the routers ip when in firmware recovery mode will be 192.168.11.1 so make your computers ethernet port 11.2. If your using a windows machine you will also want a seperate switch between the computer and the router to keep the interface active on your windows machine. Personally i used to use pumpkin tftp because it was so easy to use and i could change the timeout.
The window on bootup is pretty slim so it might take multiple attempts.
Boia11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
tdiguy wrote:
Back a while ago i remember having a problem updating this router via gui. However i could always update it via TFTP. Has that changed now also?



The problem is in the .bin file to flash because have the wrong size of MTD and the system not flash.
From the release r32597 you can't install or upgrade.

_________________
TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (2 devices)

Buffalo WHR-G300N v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (1 device)
lacruz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
@brainslayer: is there still no solution for flashing firmware newer than r32597 for Buffalo WHR-G300Nv2?

Please help us! Thanx in advanced!
Boia11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 14:52    Post subject: Problem fix Reply with quote
Friends! Since about one month, the new releases are working.
This is the latest r40009 of 11/06/19: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/06-11-2019-r40009/buffalo_whr_g300nv2/whr-g300nv2-firmware-MULTI.bin

_________________
TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (2 devices)

Buffalo WHR-G300N v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (1 device)
rotarum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 15:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confirm...suddenly last month updates were working ok with my old WHR-HP-G300N Wink

After 2 years new dd-wrt release working *lol*
Boia11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
oh yeah! Cool
_________________
TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (2 devices)

Buffalo WHR-G300N v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (1 device)
lacruz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N ist still broken....

Rolling Eyes
Boia11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:55    Post subject: Problem has returned Reply with quote
The problem has returned Crying or Very sad , I have already opened a ticket: [Buffalo WHR-G300Nv2] Firmware size big

@BrainSlayer help us! pls

_________________
TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (2 devices)

Buffalo WHR-G300N v2 | dd-wrt 3.0 r39956 std (1 device)
RyTek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm owning a WHR-G300N V2 and was running dd-wrt. I always get annoying request time out whenever I start downloading when connect router via WiFi. Stock fw is not usable since it has more terrible performance. What fw are you guys using? Do you get that issue? (I read some posts that the issue is caused by Intel AC 7260, is that true?)
khoanb1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
RyTek wrote:
I'm owning a WHR-G300N V2 and was running dd-wrt. I always get annoying request time out whenever I start downloading when connect router via WiFi. Stock fw is not usable since it has more terrible performance. What fw are you guys using? Do you get that issue? (I read some posts that the issue is caused by Intel AC 7260, is that true?)


Hello,

I'm using the FW version r40009 (before is r32597). Everything is fine with me. You can set up this configuration for the best performance 300MBps:

Wireless Network Mode: NG-Mixed
Channel Width: Wide HT40
Other settings: auto
Wireless Security: WPA2 Personal/ AES encryption
RyTek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
khoanb1 wrote:
RyTek wrote:
I'm owning a WHR-G300N V2 and was running dd-wrt. I always get annoying request time out whenever I start downloading when connect router via WiFi. Stock fw is not usable since it has more terrible performance. What fw are you guys using? Do you get that issue? (I read some posts that the issue is caused by Intel AC 7260, is that true?)


Hello,

I'm using the FW version r40009 (before is r32597). Everything is fine with me. You can set up this configuration for the best performance 300MBps:

Wireless Network Mode: NG-Mixed
Channel Width: Wide HT40
Other settings: auto
Wireless Security: WPA2 Personal/ AES encryption

W/ NG-Mixed mode, after the disconnection happens, the SSID disappeared from WiFi list on my laptop and it took minutes to show and reconnect again.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum