NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Westpro
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 14:20    Post subject: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
Hi
How to get same vpn speed on Netgear r7800 as on Linksys wrt3200?
Running Express vpn.
Is it possible?
Regards
Peter
Sponsor
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 15:50    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
Westpro wrote:
Hi
How to get same vpn speed on Netgear r7800 as on Linksys wrt3200?
Running Express vpn.
Is it possible?
Regards
Peter

There is no router-specific vpn config.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 906

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 22:44    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
Westpro wrote:
Hi
How to get same vpn speed on Netgear r7800 as on Linksys wrt3200?
Running Express vpn.
Is it possible?
Regards
Peter


I was looking for buy another router and I was actually looked at those but didn’t buy it for the following reason. While looking at the specs & reviews it appears the R7800 does “CPU frequency scaling” which basically means (for lack of a better term) the CPU speed is dynamic and not static. The r7800 could run anywhere from 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz under a load. Again I only looked into Netgear r7800 specs online but I have the Linksys EA8500 and it also does CPU frequency scaling which sucks when configured as an ovpn client. I’m too lazy to look up the specs right now but IIRC think the EA8500 is suppose to max out at 1400 MHZ but it doesn’t matter, Linksys could have labeled 1 GHz CPU because I rarely ever see it go over 1000MHZ which is the root cause for these not being able to reach your ISP’s max speed while you running ovpn.

I tried my EA8500 as an ovpn client and the best is could do was something like 30 upload and 30 download on speedtest. I’m provisioned at 115/37 and the wrt3200acm has NO problem doing 110/35 (or higher) with AES 256 enabled. So if you have the WRT3200ACM running at 1866 MHZ and a EA8500 or R7800 floating between 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz it’s not hard to see why the wrt3200 is going to win that battle every time. I don’t know if it is possible otherwise it someone would have asked by now but it would be nice if the Devs could figure out a way to hard card the cpu speeds. Say if they made the new bottom 600mhz and then a 100 or 200mhz increments from the 600mhz up, sort of like the overclocking option in some of the old Broadcom dd-wrt routers.

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std (08/13/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std (08/09/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: Verizon Fios | Alcatel I-211M-L
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7365
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 22:48    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
05dyna wrote:
Westpro wrote:
Hi
How to get same vpn speed on Netgear r7800 as on Linksys wrt3200?
Running Express vpn.
Is it possible?
Regards
Peter


I was looking for buy another router and I was actually looked at those but didn’t buy it for the following reason. While looking at the specs & reviews it appears the R7800 does “CPU frequency scaling” which basically means (for lack of a better term) the CPU speed is dynamic and not static. The r7800 could run anywhere from 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz under a load. Again I only looked into Netgear r7800 specs online but I have the Linksys EA8500 and it also does CPU frequency scaling which sucks when configured as an ovpn client. I’m too lazy to look up the specs right now but IIRC think the EA8500 is suppose to max out at 1400 MHZ but it doesn’t matter, Linksys could have labeled 1 GHz CPU because I rarely ever see it go over 1000MHZ which is the root cause for these not being able to reach your ISP’s max speed while you running ovpn.

I tried my EA8500 as an ovpn client and the best is could do was something like 30 upload and 30 download on speedtest. I’m provisioned at 115/37 and the wrt3200acm has NO problem doing 110/35 (or higher) with AES 256 enabled. So if you have the WRT3200ACM running at 1866 MHZ and a EA8500 or R7800 floating between 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz it’s not hard to see why the wrt3200 is going to win that battle every time. I don’t know if it is possible otherwise it someone would have asked by now but it would be nice if the Devs could figure out a way to hard card the cpu speeds. Say if they made the new bottom 600mhz and then a 100 or 200mhz increments from the 600mhz up, sort of like the overclocking option in some of the old Broadcom dd-wrt routers.


put this (exactly the whole thing thats highlighted in bold) in commands tab, click save startup then reboot once, done. take it out then reboot once again to restore default krait scaling

for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n performance > $CPUFREQ; done

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44474 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 906

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:


put this (exactly the whole thing thats highlighted in bold) in commands tab, click save startup then reboot once, done. take it out then reboot once again to restore default krait scaling

for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n performance > $CPUFREQ; done



Nice, thanks!!!! Now I have to setup one as an ovpn client and test my theory...


EDIT: here's the before and after speed test results, in my case still not as good as the wrt3200 but 100% better than it was prior your hack

before


after

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std (08/13/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std (08/09/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: Verizon Fios | Alcatel I-211M-L
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
sploit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Posts: 305
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:53    Post subject: Nice Reply with quote
@ tatsuya46

This fix is great, Thanks... there are a few other routers that do this speed governor also.

I had noticed this awhile back and commented on it

Maybe @ brainslayer can build a toggle into the interface?
(ENABLE MAX CPU ACCELERATION)

Also, there is another problem on the EA8500 that needs to be added to the startup as well, which I had to put together.

Basically, the WAN interface will not start sometimes properly. I have to bring it down 60 seconds into boot and then bring it back up. I just added it to the Startup as a delayed boot scripting but it will cause OpenVPN to not connect on a restart if I don't use it on certain VPN providers.

Simple Below fixes the issue (ADMINISTRATION...COMMANDS...SAVE STARTUP)

#!/bin/sh
sleep 60
stopservice wan
sleep 5
startservice wan

_________________
My Karma ran over your Dogma
SploitWorks Custom Flashed Routers
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7365
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
05dyna wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:


put this (exactly the whole thing thats highlighted in bold) in commands tab, click save startup then reboot once, done. take it out then reboot once again to restore default krait scaling

for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n performance > $CPUFREQ; done



Nice, thanks!!!! Now I have to setup one as an ovpn client and test my theory...


EDIT: here's the before and after speed test results, in my case still not as good as the wrt3200 but 100% better than it was prior your hack

before


after


the rest is cause ea8500 is 1.4ghz & wrt3200acm is 1.8ghz its simply got a speed advantage, r7800 would keep up. if i remember correctly krait used in ipq806x is slightly better per 1 mhz than that used in wrt3200acm but only barely, ea8500's speed gap is too much behind for it to compensate. sfe is a problematic buggy feature, dont know if it even works with openvpn at all. u can modify min core idle speeds as well, but cant modify the steps it takes, have to use existing steps, 384, 600, 800, 1000, 1400, 1725 (ipq8065 r7800). eg: set 600mhz or 800mhz etc as minimum idle speed is doable but mbps will still probably drop.

ddwrt current values are found by "cat /sys/etc/here" without ", eg: cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq gives current value of min idle freq for core 0. when checking some, they report no such file or dir, i dont know why.


i think the changes needed to have clock scaling with minimal throughput decreases are tweaks in the following, especially in load thresholds & sampling rates, but ive never tested non ddwrt defaults as i have no need, would need to disable performance governor first & go back to ondemand before testing these, these should be netgear's defaults as of 1.0.0.40. enter in the same format as seen in telnet, ssh, or gui command window.


# The impact on idle-state power with this change is about ~40-45mW.
echo "800000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo "800000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq

this one above is for setting minimum idle freq



# Change sampling rate for frequency scaling decisions to 1s, from 10 ms
echo "1000000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_rate


# Change sampling rate for frequency down scaling decision to 10s
echo 10 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_down_factor


# Change the CPU load threshold above which frequency is up-scaled to turbo frequency,to 50%
echo 50 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold
echo 50 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold_any_cpu_load
echo 50 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold_multi_core


# Change the CPU load threshold below which frequency is down-scaled to 10% (down_threshold = up_threshold - down_differential)
echo 40 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/down_differential


# Set sync_freq and optimal_freq used for multicore scenarios to max freq
echo "1000000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/optimal_freq
echo "1000000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/sync_freq


aes128 would probably help too, aes256 is heavy & is questionable if its even as secure, or less than that of aes128

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44474 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 906

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ tatsuya46 Thanks again for both your original reply and taking the time to document the additional information. As far as my test I did have to disable SFE on the EA8500 to achieve the fastest u/l & d/l results. With regards to the wrt3200 and SFE & encryption the wrt3200 doesn’t seem to be impacted with AES 256 or if SFE is enabled or disabled. Evidently the 1.8GHz CPU does have the advantage there. I didn’t try the 128 encryption with the EA8500 but next time I test it I’ll be sure to give it a try. Had I known about this prior I may have held off on the 3200 purchase and just kept the EA8500 since your hack is doing above and beyond what other previous routers I tried were able to accomplish and I tried a few...

(edit typo)

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std (08/13/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std (08/09/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: Verizon Fios | Alcatel I-211M-L
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7365
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
can still sell the wrt3200acm, its still an overpriced unit (here anyway) so ull get a decent penny for it, or maybe try trading for a r7800
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44474 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
sploit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Posts: 305
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:48    Post subject: wrt320acm Reply with quote
The WRT3200ACM can be purchased at low prices and the VPN speeds are incredible fast.

I hit 170+ Mbps on AES-128-CBC

I would like to see the 7800 try to get near that.
I ordered a 7800 today to test it out.

What I really want to see is OpenVPN use both Processor cores... Then we are talkin

_________________
My Karma ran over your Dogma
SploitWorks Custom Flashed Routers
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7365
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:42    Post subject: Re: wrt320acm Reply with quote
sploit wrote:
What I really want to see is OpenVPN use both Processor cores... Then we are talkin


might want to address the openvpn devs on that..

and that router isnt low here, even the wrt1900ac(s), even the wrt1200ac, are expensive as HELL, STILL. i dont know why but they are here, r7500 v2, ea8500, r7800 are all far better deals here.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44474 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
JamesButler
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:41    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
05dyna wrote:
Westpro wrote:
Hi
How to get same vpn speed on Netgear r7800 as on Linksys wrt3200?
Running Express vpn.
Is it possible?
Regards
Peter


I was looking for buy another router and I was actually looked at those but didn’t buy it for the following reason. While looking at the specs & reviews it appears the R7800 does “CPU frequency scaling” which basically means (for lack of a better term) the CPU speed is dynamic and not static. The r7800 could run anywhere from 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz under a load. Again I only looked into Netgear r7800 specs online but I have the Linksys EA8500 and it also does CPU frequency scaling which sucks when configured as an ovpn client. I’m too lazy to look up the specs right now but IIRC think the EA8500 is suppose to max out at 1400 MHZ but it doesn’t matter, Linksys could have labeled 1 GHz CPU because I rarely ever see it go over 1000MHZ which is the root cause for these not being able to reach your ISP’s max speed while you running ovpn.

I tried my EA8500 as an ovpn client and the best is could do was something like 30 upload and 30 download on speedtest. I’m provisioned at 115/37 and the wrt3200acm has NO problem doing 110/35 (or higher) with AES 256 enabled. So if you have the WRT3200ACM running at 1866 MHZ and a EA8500 or R7800 floating between 384 MHz on idle to 1700 MHz it’s not hard to see why the wrt3200 is going to win that battle every time. I don’t know if it is possible otherwise it someone would have asked by now but it would be nice if the Devs could figure out a way to hard card the cpu speeds. Say if they made the new bottom 600mhz and then a 100 or 200mhz increments from the 600mhz up, sort of like the overclocking option in some of the old Broadcom dd-wrt routers.


put this (exactly the whole thing thats highlighted in bold) in commands tab, click save startup then reboot once, done. take it out then reboot once again to restore default krait scaling

for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n performance > $CPUFREQ; done


Do this for the R7800, as well?
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5322
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:53    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R7800 X4S VPN SPEED Reply with quote
JamesButler wrote:
Do this for the R7800, as well?

Yes
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3813
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep i can confirm those lines from tatsuya46 are working well i was sceptic to try them as they can cause overheating, but since i implemented those lines in my set up i can see R7800 is more responsive and fast the toll is +3-4 C more CPU temp but this is nothing...
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5776
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does OpenVPN use the Crypto Engine in the SOC?
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum