DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
robn30 wrote:
If I use the ubootenv command to set the boot back to stock Linksys, can I use that command while on the stock firmware to get back to DD-WRT. I don't recall stock Linksys coming with SSH baked in or a command option using the GUI like DD-WRT. What's the easiest way to do this on the stock firmware?


Once on stock firmware, if you want to switch back to dd-wrt, just go the the setting that says to revert to previous firmware. I’m paraphrasing. It’s on the trouble shooting page, I believe.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Sponsor
robn30
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
robn30 wrote:
If I use the ubootenv command to set the boot back to stock Linksys, can I use that command while on the stock firmware to get back to DD-WRT. I don't recall stock Linksys coming with SSH baked in or a command option using the GUI like DD-WRT. What's the easiest way to do this on the stock firmware?


Once on stock firmware, if you want to switch back to dd-wrt, just go the the setting that says to revert to previous firmware. I’m paraphrasing. It’s on the trouble shooting page, I believe.


Wow, that seems quite easy. Thanks for the information. So I guess this method is why the WRT3200ACM and others have 2 boot partitions. One last question, this won't blow out my DD-WRT configuration will it? I hoping that if I switch between the two that both configuration setups will remain intact. Thanks again.
XERXES 8933A/A
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:45    Post subject: Booting issues installing after successful flash Reply with quote
Hi, my experience is that I had the same issues reported with WRT1900AC with the latest betas trying to do a first-time install of dd-wrt from inside the Linksys OEM firmware on a WRT1200AC router.

After flashing the latest "DD-WRT Factory image" (36698) firmware on the WRT1200AC, the router fails to boot 3 times, and goes back to the OEM firmware.

The solution was to download and install the 04-06-2018-r35681 beta "DD-WRT Factory image", (which installs and boots successfully from the latest OEM firmware), then install the latest "DD-WRT Webupgrade" (36698) from inside dd-wrt.

Now I am running DD-WRT v3.0-r36698 std ( 08/22/18 ) on the WRT1200AC without issues. Cool

https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2018%2F
conradb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:23    Post subject: Re: Booting issues installing after successful flash Reply with quote
XERXES 8933A/A wrote:
Hi, my experience is that I had the same issues reported with WRT1900AC with the latest betas trying to do a first-time install of dd-wrt from inside the Linksys OEM firmware on a WRT1200AC router.

After flashing the latest "DD-WRT Factory image" (36698) firmware on the WRT1200AC, the router fails to boot 3 times, and goes back to the OEM firmware.

The solution was to download and install the 04-06-2018-r35681 beta "DD-WRT Factory image", (which installs and boots successfully from the latest OEM firmware), then install the latest "DD-WRT Webupgrade" (36698) from inside dd-wrt.

Now I am running DD-WRT v3.0-r36698 std ( 08/22/18 ) on the WRT1200AC without issues. Cool

https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2018%2F


Can confirm. Have WRT1200AC V1 and I had the same 3 failed reboots after firmware install (v Beta 36698). Can confirm that firmware 04-06-2018-r35681 works!
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 8:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have also seen reports of issues with generating backups. The file produced by the GUI backup is missing the .bin file extension.
I think it affects only certain, older browsers.

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
apvm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the sticky, able to flash my WRT1900AC to latest 9/21 build.
Cindy62707
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:49    Post subject: Where to type the command to search for partition Reply with quote
I turned on telenet and typed the command
"ubootenv get boot_part"
but it returned as 'invalid command". Where do I type the above command to find out the partition in the router Linksys WRT3200ACM?

Thank you,
Cindy
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:46    Post subject: Re: Where to type the command to search for partition Reply with quote
Cindy62707 wrote:
I turned on telenet and typed the command
"ubootenv get boot_part"
but it returned as 'invalid command". Where do I type the above command to find out the partition in the router Linksys WRT3200ACM?

Thank you,
Cindy


In a command box, after you telnet into the router.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Cindy62707
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 17:47    Post subject: Re: Where to type the command to search for partition Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Cindy62707 wrote:
I turned on telenet and typed the command
"ubootenv get boot_part"
but it returned as 'invalid command". Where do I type the above command to find out the partition in the router Linksys WRT3200ACM?

Thank you,
Cindy


In a command box, after you telnet into the router.


I've tried all different kinds of variations. Nothing works. What am I doing wrong?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to turn on telnet in the dd-wrt GUI. I think under administration? Not sure, you might have to look for it.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Cindy62707
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 23:39    Post subject: DD-WRT installed, Telnet turned on Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
You have to turn on telnet in the dd-wrt GUI. I think under administration? Not sure, you might have to look for it.


Finally got the DD-WRT installed and Telnet turned on their as well as on Windows. Still getting invalid command.
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 23:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Type command o then hit enter to open telnet.
Also, crop or resize your screenshots before posting to avoid stretching the forum page.

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Open a command window and type: telnet 192.168.1.1. Assuming that is the ip of the router.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Cindy62707
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:27    Post subject: still trying telnet Reply with quote
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Type command o then hit enter to open telnet.
Also, crop or resize your screenshots before posting to avoid stretching the forum page.


Command o didn't work but typing telnet 192.168.1.1 opened a dd-wrt login. I was able to type my username. Then the next line popped up that said Password:
However, nothing types when I try to type my password. I even tred a copy and paste of the password but nothing populates the space where I am supposed to be typing the password. Eventually the system times out.

(PS: sorry for not thinking about cropping the command box for space. Thank you for the infor)
WENED
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 249
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:50    Post subject: Re: still trying telnet Reply with quote
Cindy62707 wrote:
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Type command o then hit enter to open telnet.
Also, crop or resize your screenshots before posting to avoid stretching the forum page.


Command o didn't work but typing telnet 192.168.1.1 opened a dd-wrt login. I was able to type my username. Then the next line popped up that said Password:
However, nothing types when I try to type my password. I even tred a copy and paste of the password but nothing populates the space where I am supposed to be typing the password. Eventually the system times out.


(PS: sorry for not thinking about cropping the command box for space. Thank you for the infor)


Just tried the same on my 3200. Works fine.
Make sure you are using "root", without the quotes of course, as your login and whatever password you set the system to. When typing the password, nothing will show up on screen but should go directly into the system.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master 5GHz AP r40009
WRT3200acm Client-Bridge r40009
WRT1900Ac V1 Client-Bridge r40009
WRT1900AC V1 Client-Bridge r40009
WRT1900AC V1 Client-Bridge r40009
WRT1200AC V1 SPARE r40009
WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro Client-Bridged for 1 IP Camera
EX6200 DD-WRT r38535 - Spare
EX7000 Stock Firmware Spare
Devices and Cameras and Sensors
12 WiFi cameras, 4 desktops, 1 laptop, 10 Sonoff Basic/TH16, Artisan 700 Printer, Ongoing testing of other devices.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum