New Kong's test build: DD-WRT 33000M - 2017/08/02

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 21:56    Post subject: New Kong's test build: DD-WRT 33000M - 2017/08/02 Reply with quote
Kong's DD-WRT test build 33000M - 2017/08/02 has been released: http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/TEST/

Your reports for Broadcom units are greatly appreciated !
Router:
Firmware:
Kernel:
Status:
Reset:
Errors:

This build thread is for reporting successes and problem with loading this experimental test build. This is important info for developers and users. Always state your hardware and SPECIFIC build (e.g. 29440_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin). Do not ask questions about your specific router or how to configure it in this thread; create your own thread to discuss any specific problems you have or need resolved. Please also do not respond to such questions. This thread is to report info, not to seek it. Posts that do not add to understanding this build will be deleted. Make sure you know how to flash properly and the risk before using this build. It is important to adhere to these requirements, to keep this thread from becoming impossibly long and useless. If you don't know what build to flash and how to flash properly and have a means of recovery if things should go wrong, do NOT flash this experimental test build.

_________________
Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
Sponsor
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1865
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 22:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
fit and run fine in my r8500

i will post the results

great work devs




Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 41556 AP OpenVPN webserver RETIRED (bricked)
1 R7800 42912 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 42912 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 42908 AP Webserver OpenVPN
1 DDx86 Vmware 40260
1 E3000 41027 K3 @500 WAP wifi client
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1547
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: 2x R7000
Firmware: 32945M -> 33000M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.79 #405 SMP -> Linux 4.4.79 #409 SMP Wed Aug 2 23:40:23 CEST 2017 armv7l
Status: Both Working without SFE & Monitoring
Reset: No
Errors: None so far
UpTime: about an hour

#1 R7000 (WAN + HE-IPv6 + OpenVPN Client#1)
- IPv4 + HE IPv6 via 6in4 Static Tunnel
- USB Custom Startup Script for Route Tables, OpenVPN Client & Cron Scripts
- GUI Firewall & Startup Scripts
- WiFi Disabled
- SPI with non-filtered Multicast
- WAN port -> Cable Modem
- DNSCrpyt with Cisco OpenDNS
- NTP with Blank IP
- Cron Job - Monitor WAN & OpenVPN Connections
- DDNS Custom with DNSoMatic
- 6 BRs, 9 VLANS & 6 Assignments
- SSH (WAN Access), Telnet & Syslog
- WAN Traffic Disabled
- USB Storage with Auto Mount for Scripts Only
- ebtables + ip6tables used
- YaMON 3.3.1

#2 R7000 (WiFi + OpenVPN Client#2)
- IPv4 Only
- USB Custom Startup Script for OpenVPN Client
- GUI Firewall Script
- 2.4Ghz Radio with 3 SSIDs (BW 40Mhz)
- 5Ghz Radio with 2 SSIDs (BW 80Mhz)
- SPI with non-filtered Multicast
- WAN Port (static IP) Assignment to vlan8 -> Vlan Switch
- DNSSEC via GUI
- NTP with Blank IP
- Cron Job - Monitor OpenVPN Connection
- 5 BRs, 7 VLANS & 11 Assignments
- SSH (local only), Telnet & Syslog
- WAN Traffic Disabled
- ebtables used
- USB Storage with Auto Mount for Scripts Only

With OpenVPN Custom Setup + SFE, ran into Internet access issues. Having SFE Disabled on both R7000s my configuation is working fine.

UPDATE: Uptime over 28 hours without issue. Thanks BrianSlayer & Kong for another good build.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r43904 Std
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special
2x E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35652 Mega
E3000 - TRAVEL Wireless Client WireGuard(+20Mbit/s) - DDWRT r43904 Mega

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r43652 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r43217 Std
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2


Last edited by mac913 on Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:32; edited 1 time in total
ragefury32
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
Firmware: v3.0-r33000M kongac (08/02/17) (dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.79 #409 SMP Wed Aug 2 23:40:23 CEST 2017 armv7l
Status: Seems okay
Reset: NO
updated via web interface
Services used and tested: cifs, smbd, snmpd, sshd, https, openvpn server

CIFS/SMBD worked just fine, as does dnsmasq.
OpenVPN server is v2.4.3, no issues with settings.
SNMPd seems to work fine out of the box.
Everything seems fine so far.
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1551
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
RT-AC56U working fine (no reset).
_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 5894
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R6400

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r33000M kongac (08/02/17)
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.79 #409 SMP Wed Aug 2 23:40:23 CEST 2017 armv7l

Upgraded: from 32945M via ddup --flash-latest
Reset: No not this time

Status: Up and running for 2 hours, basic setup as AP, static leases, OpenVPN client ( on PIA) up and running, 2,4GHz, 5Ghz running.

Errors: Yes, OpenVPN with Policy Based Routing does not forward HTTP(s) traffic to the PBR clients with SFE on see: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5900.

@Kong any chance that this will be fixed?
I sure want to have SFE enabled, it speeds things up quite wonderful

Big Thanks to Kong and BrainSlayer!!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Therameatelf
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Jan 2016
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Name: wzr1750dhp
Router Model: Buffalo WZR-1750DHP
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33000M kongac (08/02/17)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.79 #409 SMP Wed Aug 2 23:40:23 CEST 2017 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 (03/21/17)
Status: AP Working
Reset: GUI reset before Flash
Services: Static DHCP x 12
Errors: None so far.
mchaney
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
R8500, updated with reset, then erase nvram on first boot and set up manually. SFE on. No issues so far.

Mike
mchaney
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
One thing I just noticed. The transmission errors after about a day of operation are a lot higher than the previous version I was running (32170). Not that it's a lot, but it's weird that all three of the wireless interfaces seem to have relatively the same number of Tx errors:

wl0:
Received (RX)
169356 OK, 3 errors
Transmitted (TX)
353103 OK, 4810 errors

wl1:
Received (RX)
72959573 OK, 2 errors
Transmitted (TX)
62912620 OK, 4981 errors

wl2:
Received (RX)
13488 OK, 2 errors
Transmitted (TX)
133692 OK, 4983 errors

On the previous build 32170, Tx errors were always less than 10 in a 24 hour period. I tried to make sure I set up the new build the same as the old after the erase nvram and setting up manually in the GUI. Same channels, wireless security, etc.

Anyone know why the Tx errors might be higher on this build? And is there any way to determine Tx errors by device? Sure would be nice to know which wireless devices are getting the errors.

Thanks,
Mike
Kloze
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Stupid Question. I post it here since it does have to do a bit with the R7000. Seems like R7000 users are liking this firmware while the last poster is noticing a lot of errors when comparing to a previous build. I will continue to monitor this posting for this firmware to see if I should take the plunge.

Now the stupid question. Since the Atheros forum is not very active, I still went ahead and bought a R7800. I was wondering since no one has done recent build posts in that forum, does the build number and kernel the same if the firmware for the R7000 and R7800 are the same. I usually archive the firmwares by build number, date and kernel. Since no one really posts in the Atheros forum I thought to ask here.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1547
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kloze wrote:
...does the build number and kernel the same if the firmware for the R7000 and R7800 are the same.


No the R7800 and R7000 are very different, CPU & Radios are both different. Even the Kernels are different the R7800 uses k3.18.x and the R7000 used k4.4.x.

The only advantage the R7800 has over R7000 Processing Power. I would still get another R7000 since everything else is superior, IMO.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r43904 Std
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special
2x E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35652 Mega
E3000 - TRAVEL Wireless Client WireGuard(+20Mbit/s) - DDWRT r43904 Mega

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r43652 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r43217 Std
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Kloze
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info man. But I cant return it now since I already opened it. I thought the consensus of the R7800 that it was the superior router over the R7000. But now I am hearing different from another Guru. Darn it the R7000 is like 60 dollars cheaper than the R7800 and if the 7000 is superior other than the processing power then I think I may made a grave mistake.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3700
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kloze wrote:
Thanks for the info man. But I cant return it now since I already opened it. I thought the consensus of the R7800 that it was the superior router over the R7000. But now I am hearing different from another Guru. Darn it the R7000 is like 60 dollars cheaper than the R7800 and if the 7000 is superior other than the processing power then I think I may made a grave mistake.


Broadcom vs Qualcomm and the winner is... Qualcomm....
soon R7000 will be an old fart...
there are many pros for R7800 and there are a lot of cons for R7000 so you decide.....

just to let you know...
R7800 has much better radio + range...
R7800 has much more processing power and its not Broadcom...Broadcoms are almost at the bottom of the processing power tree
R7800 has Multi-Mimo + 4 Antennas
R7800 has Vlans up to 100 instead Broadcom only 16...
R7800 has 2 Krait cores
R7800 can handle VPN traffic much more than R7000 or any router on the market except R9000 witch is undisputable leader now...
and all that for 60 bugs on the top i wouldn't bother with R7000 at all

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 43886 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 43028 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44048 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 43886 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 43886 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 43886 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kloze wrote:
Thanks for the info man. But I cant return it now since I already opened it. I thought the consensus of the R7800 that it was the superior router over the R7000. But now I am hearing different from another Guru. Darn it the R7000 is like 60 dollars cheaper than the R7800 and if the 7000 is superior other than the processing power then I think I may made a grave mistake.

I told you on the thread you opened to get the R7000 unless you REALLY need more SoC power but you were blind by 7800 . And I disagree with Alozaros, making to a side the raw power for VPNing, I haven't noticed almost no difference whatsoever on range, in a 250m2 house with thick walls...and VLANs comparison, anecdotal.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
williclarkam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:59    Post subject: DNSCrypt Reply with quote
Router: R7000
Firmware: Tomato -> (OFW) -> v3.0-r33000M
Kernel: Linux 4.4.79 #
Status: Disabled SFE
Reset: Yes
Errors: no, but dnscrypt doesn't work.

When I try to enable dnscrypt, router time goes exactly 2 hours forward (e.g. actual time is: 2:00 PM, after enabling dnscrypt, router time shows 4:00 PM)
and syslog shows certificate not found Sad.

is there anyway to fix this issue? I searched, but couldn't find anything useful Sad.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum