DIR-859 A3 SG

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Jeian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 13:36    Post subject: DIR-859 A3 SG Reply with quote
I can't install DDWRT. It says Firmware Upgrade Failed.

Although I upgraded from stock firmware 1.01SG to 1.02SG. Please let me know if I can flash DDWRT soon
Sponsor
Deltabongo2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2016
Posts: 47
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you using the "factory-to-ddwrt.img" file? Also, I see that on the US site, the latest D-Link firmware is 1.06B01.
pabs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Guys! I have the same problem, only my dlink version is 1.01sg.

Can't install dd-wrt image. I got the file on this link.
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/10-06-2016-r30731/dlink-dir859/

is the version of the firmware compatible in my router?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7517
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
people already have ddwrt on the a3.. use tftp/dlink emergency rom..

and use the latest build, look below in red font for it..current builds have a very important fix to ath10k which is less memory usage, and dir-859 with it's 64mb goes out of memory easily, it should be better now

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
pabs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guru, Thanks for the help but it does not work.

what should i do next? I've already delete my browsing history and disable my antivirus. please bear with me need ur help!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7517
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
cause u did the exact same thing again.. using stock firmware. i said tftp/dlink emergency rom.. they are not the same thing
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
pabs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
oh sorry! but it appears working on gchrome rather than IE. i tried so many cycles before i get successfully migrate to dd-wrt.

thanks so much!
Samspader
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just bought a new DIR-859 A3 with stock 1.01SG firmware. Updated with 1.02SG and tested speeds before I installed dd-wrt. On 5GHz, I was getting ~370 Mbps upload and ~460 Mbps download using iperf3 and smb to my wired server. Client laptop has an Intel 8265 built-in with latest drivers installed.

After installing dd-wrt r33772 std (11/16/17) and setting mode as AP, I couldn't go above 110 Mbps on 5GHz. I already set the ff as recommended in other threads:
1) Channel width: VHT80
2) Wireless Channel: 153
3) Extension Channel: UU (+6)

Wireless Status page shows:
Channel: 153 + 159 (5765 MHz VHT80)
Rate: 1300 Mb/s
ACK Timing: 15µs (2250m)

Also, client laptop only shows the connection speed as 173.3 Mbps, but on stock firmware was always showing 867 Mbps (maximum on the Intel 8235).

Any other tips on how to increase speeds closer to stock firmware?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7517
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
cause thats an invalid 5ghz config, 153 UU for vht80 cant exist, a valid example is 149 UU, & there is other valid configs within the 149-161 range. see the wifi settings link below for wifi settings guidance

https://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings#Extension_Channel

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48954 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
Samspader
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you! That Extension Channel list was very helpful. Setting the correct channel/extension combination I can now see 866.7 Mbps as the connection speed on the client laptop.

Using r33772 (11/16/17) my 5GHz throughput is now 290/410 Mbps upload/download, compared to 370/460 Mbps using the updated stock firmware, or 10-20% less.

Are there more tweaks to increase the throughput closer to stock? I'm comfortable building/compiling the firmware. Which settings/configs should I experiment with?
artsx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2020
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Samspader wrote:
Thank you! That Extension Channel list was very helpful. Setting the correct channel/extension combination I can now see 866.7 Mbps as the connection speed on the client laptop.

Using r33772 (11/16/17) my 5GHz throughput is now 290/410 Mbps upload/download, compared to 370/460 Mbps using the updated stock firmware, or 10-20% less.

Are there more tweaks to increase the throughput closer to stock? I'm comfortable building/compiling the firmware. Which settings/configs should I experiment with?

happy new year and all the best to you.

can you guys provide userguide how to load ddwrt firmware into dlink dir 859 a3?

thanks in advance
AKA_SK
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
artsx wrote:
Samspader wrote:
Thank you! That Extension Channel list was very helpful. Setting the correct channel/extension combination I can now see 866.7 Mbps as the connection speed on the client laptop.

Using r33772 (11/16/17) my 5GHz throughput is now 290/410 Mbps upload/download, compared to 370/460 Mbps using the updated stock firmware, or 10-20% less.

Are there more tweaks to increase the throughput closer to stock? I'm comfortable building/compiling the firmware. Which settings/configs should I experiment with?

happy new year and all the best to you.

can you guys provide userguide how to load ddwrt firmware into dlink dir 859 a3?

thanks in advance


Be aware that dd-wrt firmware releases are in beta and may unstable and can potentially brick your router.

I have the DIR-859 A3 router and i would recommend you to flash build r40527 as its the most stable recent build in my experience.

https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F08-04-2019-r40527%2Fdlink-dir859%2F

If this is your first time flashing dd-wrt firmware over D-Link firmware then pick the factory-to-ddwrt.img and download it.

After your factory-to-ddwrt.img file is downloaded. Go to your D-Link router configuration page by typing the router ip in your browser. Default is 192.168.0.1 unless you changed it. Find the firmware upgrade tab and upload the factory-to-ddwrt.img file and proceed with the upgrade.

After you successfully upgraded to dd-wrt. The default router ip is 192.168.1.1.
artsx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2020
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 0:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
AKA_SK wrote:
artsx wrote:
Samspader wrote:
Thank you! That Extension Channel list was very helpful. Setting the correct channel/extension combination I can now see 866.7 Mbps as the connection speed on the client laptop.

Using r33772 (11/16/17) my 5GHz throughput is now 290/410 Mbps upload/download, compared to 370/460 Mbps using the updated stock firmware, or 10-20% less.

Are there more tweaks to increase the throughput closer to stock? I'm comfortable building/compiling the firmware. Which settings/configs should I experiment with?

happy new year and all the best to you.

can you guys provide userguide how to load ddwrt firmware into dlink dir 859 a3?

thanks in advance


Be aware that dd-wrt firmware releases are in beta and may unstable and can potentially brick your router.

I have the DIR-859 A3 router and i would recommend you to flash build r40527 as its the most stable recent build in my experience.

https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F08-04-2019-r40527%2Fdlink-dir859%2F

If this is your first time flashing dd-wrt firmware over D-Link firmware then pick the factory-to-ddwrt.img and download it.

After your factory-to-ddwrt.img file is downloaded. Go to your D-Link router configuration page by typing the router ip in your browser. Default is 192.168.0.1 unless you changed it. Find the firmware upgrade tab and upload the factory-to-ddwrt.img file and proceed with the upgrade.

After you successfully upgraded to dd-wrt. The default router ip is 192.168.1.1.


thanks for quick feedback. do you think i can do this over wifi? or i need to use cable to connect to router?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7209
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 0:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Flashing over Wi-Fi should be a last resort.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
artsx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2020
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmmm Sad i need to get a laptop with lan then Smile
do you have a flashing tutorial link handy? can you give it to me so i can start reading?

thanks in advance
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum