EA6900 Stock to ddwrt+XVortex

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Whitewizard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 5:45    Post subject: EA6900 Stock to ddwrt+XVortex Reply with quote
Applies to:
Stock EA6900 v1 or v1.1
cfe miniweb server not available
upgrade to ddwrt fw with webui rejected

Prepare XVortex's CFE:
Read the guide, get the files. CFE and CFEdit Tool. Inital Brain Slayer Image. WinSCP.
asuswrt-merlin-xvortex-on-linksys-ea6900
Read egc's guide too
use the CFEEdit.exe tool to edit cfe_ea6900.bin
replace et0macaddr=#s with the macaddr under the router
(dd-wrt)replace 0:macaddr=#s with the addr but with the last digits +2, hexadecimally
(Merlin)replace 0:macaddr=#s with the addr but with the last digits +3, hexadecimally
replace 1:macaddr=#s with the addr but with the last digits +4, hexadecimally
replace secret_code= with the wps code.
saveas new-cfe.bin

Prepare more!
Download http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin the latest Kong-AC image for the EA6900
in Windows features (found easy with search bar) full check Telnet Client and TFTP Client
in Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections, right click network, click properties, highlight tcp/ipv4, properties
Set ipv4 address to 192.168.1.2, subnetmask to 255.255.255.0, gateway to 192.168.1.1, and dns to 192.168.1.1
Reset EA6900 using red reset button, hold until logo flashes.
Regarding cables, disconnect Internet, connect computer to Ethernet 1

For DD-wrt 1/2 easy:
[browserofchoice] 192.168.1.1 for linksyssmartwifi.com, check both boxes.
password=admin (if it never loads one of the screens unplug router, reboot computer, plug back in)
Troubleshooting tab, diagnostics tab, restore previous firmware button
If it asks for a file, give it linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin and skip to the For cfe

For DD-WRT 1/2 not easy:
If not, hold off on clicking yes. Open two cmd prompts. In one type Ping 192.168.1.1 -t
press enter on this one to let it ping, at the end it should say ttl=64
In the other just type tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put "C:\linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin"
(linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin being the initial brain slayer image that contains good nvram, good for TFTP/FW update debricking)
Back to the router webui click yes and the router will reboot.
Wait until the 4th line of ttl=100 in the ping cmd window to press enter on the tftp cmd window
If the tftp window says success after ~23-96s or so continue to For cfe
Otherwise if ttl=64 unplug the router and replug to try to tftp again when ttl=100 in the ping window
(keyboard up arrow in the cmd window to retry old commands)

For cfe:
Set an easy ddwrtpassword @ [browserofchoice] 192.168.1.1
goto Services->Services and look for Secure shell
Enable SSHd and apply settings
winscp.exe login to 192.168.1.1 root [ddwrtpassword]
winscp.exe file transfer new-cfe.bin by dragging and dropping the file (new-cfe.bin) from the left to the right
telnet 192.168.1.1, root, [ddwrtpassword] (mistakes are corrected with the delete key, not backspace (password is masked)) and enter in the following
mtd -r -f write new-cfe.bin boot

Intermission:
Open/check ping cmd window (ping 192.168.1.1 -t)
This load seems to be taking its time, about 22 pings of ttl=100 than ~30 seconds of no reply
Ignore when it [browserofchoice] loads into linksysmartwifi.com
Look in the ping cmd window until ttl=64

For DD-WRT 2/2:
Hold the reset button, power off the router, power on the router, after ttl=100 release the reset button
[browserofchoice] 192.168.1.1 into the CFE miniserver
load dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin into FW update box
if browser refreshes to page not found and/or loads into to linksyssmartwifi.com try again

Undo tcp/ipv4 properties manual settings.

(dd-wrt)Oh but white my mac addresses now suck:
[WEBUI->Administration->Commands]
nvram set et0macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:62
nvram set et0macaddr_safe=00:00:00:00:00:62
nvram set lan_hwaddr=00:00:00:00:00:62
nvram set wan_hwaddr=00:00:00:00:00:63
nvram set wl0_hwaddr=00:00:00:00:00:64
nvram set 0:macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:64
nvram set wl1_hwaddr=00:00:00:00:00:66
nvram set 1:macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:66
nvram commit
reboot
->Run Commands
it will accept every line at once
Replace with own mac addresses, keep a copy.txt incase of nvram reset.
62 being the one printed on the bottom of the router
63 being that addr with the last hexadecimal +1
64 being that addr with the last hexadecimal +2
66 being that addr with the last hexadecimal +4

XVORTEXCFE:
Press and hold WPS button on power on until logo flashes to erase nvram
Minicfe web server now available on power on @ 192.168.1.1 to ethernet users
(dd-wrt)Webui update firmware or ddup --flash-latest does not work due to custom cfe

Overclock without (immediate) risk with XVortex CFE! (Or with risk of BRICK without)
nvram set clkfreq=800,533
nvram commit
reboot
where 800 is cpu mhz and 533 is ram mhz
acceptable clkfreq is 800,533 or 1000,533 or 1200,533 or 1400,533
800,533 or 800,666 or 800,800 and any crossed value
most units can do 1200mhz cpu, 1400mhz cpu is a 50/50
ram is rated for 666mhz
(recommended clkfreq=1200,666)

(dd-wrt)FW Update:
Follow For DD-WRT 2/2: instructions for firmware update
Alternatively if the router is connected to an internet modem,
telnet 192.168.1.1 root [ddwrtpassword]
wget http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin
mtd -f write dd-wrt* linux

Stock (NOT POSSIBLE IF NVRAM WAS EVER ERASED):
minicfe web server initial brain slayer image
mtd stock cfe using for cfe instructions
(cfe is generic and uses existing nvram variables)
Stock firmware updated in webui (with stock cfe flashed)
fw update to stock again
after ttl=64, Unplug router and restart computer to be able to login to linksyssmartwifi.

Recover from attempted stock:
attempt For DD-WRT 1/2 not easy
or
use flash-ea6700
(copied from _Robb_)
open as webpage while ping ttl=64
give inital brain slayer image



flash-ea6700.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  flash-ea6700.zip
 Filesize:  428 Bytes
 Downloaded:  334 Time(s)


ea6900-stock-cfe.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  ea6900-stock-cfe.bin
 Filesize:  512 KB
 Downloaded:  1098 Time(s)


FW_EA6900_1.1.42.174776_prod.img
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  FW_EA6900_1.1.42.174776_prod.img
 Filesize:  15.44 MB
 Downloaded:  1176 Time(s)

Sponsor
thedmuppet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Mar 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Been fighting with this Linksys EA6900 for a few days now. It would not accept any firmware.

Quote:
For DD-WRT 1/2 not easy:
If not, hold off on clicking yes. Open two cmd prompts. In one type Ping 192.168.1.1 -t
press enter on this one to let it ping, at the end it should say ttl=64
In the other just type tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put "C:\linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin"
(linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin being the initial brain slayer image that contains good nvram, good for TFTP/FW update debricking)
Back to the router webui click yes and the router will reboot.
Wait until the 4th line of ttl=100 in the ping cmd window to press enter on the tftp cmd window
If the tftp window says success after ~23-96s or so continue to For cfe
Otherwise if ttl=64 unplug the router and replug to try to tftp again when ttl=100 in the ping window
(keyboard up arrow in the cmd window to retry old commands)


That was the trick though. Went through first time, came right up to DD-WRT. You're a legend. Thank you !
MarcinWaw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 22:57    Post subject: Problems with EA6900 v2 Reply with quote
Hi,

I have been struggling with my EA6900 V2 with firmware 2.0.3.186963 for couple of days now. I also tried your procedure, and it does not ask for the file, but after reboot goes immediately to TTL=64, so also not succeeded with tftp option.

I would like to ask about:
1. more details on unplugging. When to do that, do you mean unplug of network cable or something else.
2. any ideas or attempts ended with success of installing dd-wrt on V2 of EA6900
3. any successful attempts to go back to firmware 1.1.42.161129 on V2 of this router? Can it brick it?


I will appreciate any ideas on what to try to move forward.

Thanks,
Marcin
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum