WRT1900ACS V2 Kong's reflash firm to restore Linksys firmwar

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
rebar1982
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 13:56    Post subject: WRT1900ACS V2 Kong's reflash firm to restore Linksys firmwar Reply with quote
Hello, I have been trying for the past 3 days trying to restore the factory Linksys firmware to my WRT1900ACS V2 router.
Let me give you a little background of what I did to get to this situation. First I installed DD-WRT, then a week later I installed another update bin from the DD-WRT files.
Now I have tried using Putty and Tftpd32 to restore the factory Linksys firmware. I am using the Adafruit USB to TTL adapter. When I set up Putty, using the serial, with settings COM5 (my locations for the adapter) 115200, N,8,1,none and none. when the black Putty screen opens, I power up the router, I do not get any thing in the Putty screen, and the Router Power and SATA LED light up.
I do have the Adafruit adapter connected to pin 1 black, pin 2 white, pin4 green.
I have tested the Adafruit adapter using Putty and shorting together the white and geen wires, Putty echos what ever I type in, so I believe Putty and the Adafruit adapter are working fine.
Using Google search I have looked through many Linksys and DD-WRT posts on firmware.
I have tried to use the Linksys img file within the UI of DD-wrt to install the Linksys factory Firmware image, with no luck.
I have read that Kong has a file available to reflash the Linksys factory firmware for the WRT1900ACS V2.
I have tried the file "ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900acsv2-webflash.bin", with no luck in restoring the Linksys GUI.
Either I am using the wrong file, or the wrong procedures to restore the Linksys firmware.
And the second issue using Putty to restore the Linksys firmware, resulting in the power and SATA led comng on and not giving the splash in the Putty window.
I'm hoping either Kong or someone here on this forum can steer me in the right direction on how to fix this problem.
Thank you
Tom
Sponsor
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I guess it will work
http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/
Sam1789
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
I guess it will work
http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/

Is there one of these restore to LinkSys from dd-wrt for the wrt03200ACM also?

And which Linksys version does it restore?
For the wrt-3200acm there are apparently two = the as shipped version v 1.05.176416 & a later update v 1.0.5.179030 41megs

Sam

_________________
multi-tier router stack
wrt 3200's for speed & cpu power, NG R6300v2's for WiFi AP's,
wrt 1200v2 for one of my secure subnets.
wrt54GLs for ad'l 3rd tier machines.
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sam1789 wrote:
vit5421 wrote:
I guess it will work
http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/

Is there one of these restore to LinkSys from dd-wrt for the wrt03200ACM also?

And which Linksys version does it restore?
For the wrt-3200acm there are apparently two = the as shipped version v 1.05.176416 & a later update v 1.0.5.179030 41megs

Sam


Kong never had a wrt3200 so he never made a dd-wrt to factory firmware. Only way I know is via serial and tftp to restore. There are writeups on how to already, just do a search.
Again the reason you see folks say to always flash from the Linksys UI. That way you always have Linksys available.
--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
Sam1789
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
Sam1789 wrote:
vit5421 wrote:
I guess it will work
http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/

Is there one of these restore to LinkSys from dd-wrt for the wrt03200ACM also?

And which Linksys version does it restore?
For the wrt-3200acm there are apparently two = the as shipped version v 1.05.176416 & a later update v 1.0.5.179030 41megs

Sam


Kong never had a wrt3200 so he never made a dd-wrt to factory firmware. Only way I know is via serial and tftp to restore. There are writeups on how to already, just do a search.
Again the reason you see folks say to always flash from the Linksys UI. That way you always have Linksys available.
--bill

Bill,
Thanks for that info. When I didn't see anything there for the 3200, I was guessing that maybe he'd not done any development for it. I'll do the search you suggest "tftp restore wrt3200acm to Linksys firmware" and variations thereof. Not sure what the serial restore, you mention, is? Are there write ups about it too?

On keeping the Linksys formware in partition 1, right now I am so disgusted with that Smart WiFi" local interface & that they want/demand you use their cloud to get to even functions like disabling remote router management, that I'm not sure I even want it around at all. But I do want a way to get it back if something goes really wrong. I got this router for it's faster cpu, larger ram and flash ram. I run my WiFi on a separate router in my router stack. The 3200 will primarily be for running a router based OpenVPN and maybe some other security related code.
thanks,

Sam

_________________
multi-tier router stack
wrt 3200's for speed & cpu power, NG R6300v2's for WiFi AP's,
wrt 1200v2 for one of my secure subnets.
wrt54GLs for ad'l 3rd tier machines.
rebar1982
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 0:34    Post subject: WRT1900ACS V2 Kong's reflash firm to restore Linksys Reply with quote
Thank you Vit5421- That file worked so far. Tomorrow morning I will attempt to install the WRT1900ACS V2 back into my network.
Thanks again for your help!
Tom
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very good. It was newer been a problem to flash back to Linksys using Kong ddwrt to factory files for all wrt1200 and 1900 routers and even have DDWRT on both partitions.

It will not work for wrt3200 and you have to switch back to Linksys for every new ddwrt flash in order to keep linksys partition.
themanknownassting
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried this on my WRT1900AC V2 with the .img file mentioned. And it fails on me and I have to do a 30/30/30 to get it back to dd-wrt.

I am currently on v3 R32170. Can someone please tell me how to get my version back to stock?
DieMonkeys
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
themanknownassting wrote:
Tried this on my WRT1900AC V2 with the .img file mentioned. And it fails on me and I have to do a 30/30/30 to get it back to dd-wrt.

I am currently on v3 R32170. Can someone please tell me how to get my version back to stock?


I am in a similar situation.
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 688
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
themanknownassting wrote:
Tried this on my WRT1900AC V2 with the .img file mentioned. And it fails on me and I have to do a 30/30/30 to get it back to dd-wrt.

I am currently on v3 R32170. Can someone please tell me how to get my version back to stock?


You are talking about the img.bin file yes?

DieMonkeys wrote:
I am in a similar situation.


If all else fails, and you don't have stock on the other partition (see the link in my sig if you do have it on the other partition)

https://github.com/Chadster766/McWRT/wiki/Linksys-WRT1900AC-Serial-Port
https://github.com/Chadster766/McWRT/wiki/Flashing-Firmware-using-a-USB-to-TTL-Cable

Or if you want to give it a go without having a USB to TTL cable, you can try this (instructions are for the 3200ACM, but I am pretty sure it shoudl still work on other versions, substituting the firmware image file name of course)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=305228&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=55

Or if you want to wait for a new DD-WRT build, it looks like BS added code to be able to flash the stock image from within DD-WRT.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=309871

_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r40890: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
Spiritofc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have an WRT1900ACS V2 , and i flashed the lastest version of dd-wrt (r33257) on both partitions (i used comand ubootenv get boot_part and obtained 2 , after use code ubootenv set boot_part 1 + reboot and ddwrt was still there) .

I found these subject , but before use the link of Vit5421 (http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/)

i want to know if it is valid for ACS VERSION 2 , and without having installed a Kong version (normal version in my case) .

And the file says WRT1900ACS_ddwrt-to-factory.img.bin , so I will get my original firmare ACS V2 or my router becomes an ACS (without v2) ... with subsequent linksys firmware update issues .


Is there any other more secure way to return to stock if I have dd-wrt on the 2 partitions ?


Waiting for your answers , thanks .
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 688
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 22:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Spiritofc wrote:
I have an WRT1900ACS V2 , and i flashed the lastest version of dd-wrt (r33257) on both partitions (i used comand ubootenv get boot_part and obtained 2 , after use code ubootenv set boot_part 1 + reboot and ddwrt was still there) .

I found these subject , but before use the link of Vit5421 (http://source.wifihell.com/3-DD-WRT-KONG/K3-AC-MVEBU/LinksysFW/)

i want to know if it is valid for ACS VERSION 2 , and without having installed a Kong version (normal version in my case) .

And the file says WRT1900ACS_ddwrt-to-factory.img.bin , so I will get my original firmare ACS V2 or my router becomes an ACS (without v2) ... with subsequent linksys firmware update issues .


Is there any other more secure way to return to stock if I have dd-wrt on the 2 partitions ?


Waiting for your answers , thanks .


If you have the latest version from ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/, it has the ability to flash stock linksys firmware directly from within DD-WRT. Just go grab the stock firmware from linksys if you don't have a copy of it.

_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r40890: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
Spiritofc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes i have the latest versión from FTP/betas/2017 .. but i do not Know where i can download the stock (linksys) firmware for apply from DDWrt GUI as you said .

Could you give a valid link ? ATHF

Thank you
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 688
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=165487

Login to dd-wrt, go to administration then firmware upgrade

_________________
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
DD-WRT Firmware: r40890: WRT3200ACM, WRT1200ACv1, WRT1900ACv1
Velop:3 WHW0101, RE6500, RE9000
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 5, Security Onion on Virtual Box, Fingboxes, PiHoles
Spiritofc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is important to select first o second partition to do that ? .... I have ddwrt on both and now my router is booting with partition 1 ...

After flashing linksys firmware on a partition , ddwrt will remain in the other ? and i will run it changing the active partition from comand line ?

Thanks ATHF
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum