Debrick , Upgrade DIR-300, AR430W, AR335W to v24 Stable

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
bennys
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:10    Post subject: Debrick , Upgrade DIR-300, AR430W, AR335W to v24 Stable Reply with quote
by MOD:
i dont know why nobody searches the wiki
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR300


Hello DIR-300 user
I upgrade my DIR-300 from older firmware (2jan08)
to BS RC7 9414 using webupdate.
Update when smooth but guest what my router stop working.

after digging around and found solution from fonera thread.

Ok here is how i debrick my dir-300

tools
TFTPD32 from http://tftpd32.jounin.net/
Standard windows TELNET
Standart windows PING

since this is redboot mode upgrade then
we use linux.bin from
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24/Atheros%20WiSoc/D-Link%20DIR300/linux.bin
(This image for DIR-300)

or

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24/Atheros%20WiSoc/Airlink%20101%20AR430W/linux.bin
(This image for AR430W)

ok setup your tftpd32
setup your PC LAN to 192.168.1.2

attach dir-300 WAN to your PC LAN port

use windows CMD and PING
ping 192.168.1.1 -t and press enter

START-Run--> type "telnet 192.168.1.1 9000" and leave it there

now turn on your dir-300

wait until the first ping appear then you can run those telnet command

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Hardware error.
Hardware error.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=614ms TTL=64 <------ just enter those telnet at this stage
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

========
whooa you got redboot prompt




^C== Executing boot script in 1.360 seconds - enter ^C to abort

^C
DD-WRT> ip_address -h 192.168.1.2
IP: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0, Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Default server: 192.168.1.2
DD-WRT> fis init -f ---> "fis init" fine also
About to initialize [format] FLASH image system - continue (y/n)? y
*** Initialize FLASH Image System
... Erase from 0xbfc30000-0xbffe0000: ...........................................................
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0x80041000-0x803cefff, assumed entry at 0x80041000
DD-WRT> fis create linux
... Erase from 0xbfc30000-0xbffbe000: .........................................................
... Program from 0x80041000-0x803cf000 at 0xbfc30000: .........................................................
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> fconfig[/color][/b]
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
.. fis load -l vmlinux.bin.l7
.. exec
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>> fis load -l linux
>> exec
>><--- just press enter
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 5
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false<--- just press enter
Gateway IP address:<--- just press enter
Local IP address: 192.168.1.1
Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
Default server IP address: 192.168.1.254
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false<--- just press enter
Network debug at boot time: false<--- just press enter
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT>reset



Well it should be up and running now
B.

For next upgrade we can use those simple webupdate method again and use dir300-firmware.bin or ar430w-firmware.bin


Last edited by bennys on Fri Jun 13, 2008 17:36; edited 15 times in total
Sponsor
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
This guide will also work for the AR430W and AR335W for anyone who needs to know.
_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Bubalettow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:29    Post subject: Question about this method Reply with quote
Will this method of flashing work for reflashing to the origonal firmware on the device? I have noticed that p2p heavy trafic temporarly drops the connection and I was thinking that I should go back and try the origonal frmware.

-Bubalettow
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 7:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/10/flashing_dir300_back_to_origin_1.html

You may use this to flash back to stock firmware.

_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
remaker
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
BEWARE! This technique changes the MAC address of your unit - their posted REDBOOT image seems to overwrite the MAC address, probably of their DIR-300. So watch out! The one unit I reverted back has the wrong MAC address.

As an aside, does anyone know how to change the MAC address in flash? I'd like to set it back to what is printed on the unit.

I will probably flash it back to DD-WRT someday, anyway.
nexusbr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 14:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
remaker wrote:
BEWARE! This technique changes the MAC address of your unit - their posted REDBOOT image seems to overwrite the MAC address, probably of their DIR-300. So watch out! The one unit I reverted back has the wrong MAC address.

As an aside, does anyone know how to change the MAC address in flash? I'd like to set it back to what is printed on the unit.

I will probably flash it back to DD-WRT someday, anyway.


I want to know how to change to my original mac too! Crying or Very sad
yakman66
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I followed this procedure to update my AR430W from RC-6 to RC-7. However, instead of typing "fis init -f" I typed "fis init". When I rebooted my router I found that I more or less still had my old MAC address (my WAN MAC changed from ending in :FA to ending in :FB). I'm new to running DD-WRT on Atheros hardware, but maybe the "-f" option in "fis init" erases the part of flash that stores your MAC address?
chico
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 1:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I reverted back to original, MAC has changed and wireless (wpa/wpa2/wep) doesn't work any more (can't autenticate wrong password error).
It only works when security is disabled.
Does it have any thing to do with MAC changed?
So, please how to change the MAC address?
Is there a way to change it by hex editing the dir300redboot.rom?
cgigate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 0:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried to convert AR430w to DIR-300, everything is fine except no wireless signal.
it looks the DIR-300 firmware needs some wireless config info from ROM.

_________________
someguy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 18:03    Post subject: Thx Bennys ! Reply with quote
For a while I thought I bricked my DIR-300 trying to downgrade it from v24 RC7 to RC5. Thank to ur guide of debricking the router, now my router is up and running again. Thx man.
frostmedia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Mar 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 22:51    Post subject: Bricked Reply with quote
I think that i have bricked my DIR-300 using ShadowAndy's method of flashing to DD-WRT, any ideas? I cannot telnet in, but the ping does work. It boots up, detects my computer, connects with my computer, then resets again. How do i stop this, no telnet works, and yes i set my ip address correctly. Thanks
gg.heato
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
i told my friend about dd-wrt he has a dir-300 too. he tried to flash it but bricked it. now im trying to fix the brick for him but it doesnt respond to telnet nor ping. i dont want to buy the equipment for the jtag or serial flashing. what should i do next?

BTW: is there a way to reset by shorting out pins like on the 54gs where you can short out pin 15 with 16?
frostmedia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Mar 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:39    Post subject: I GOT A REPLACEMENT DIR-300!!! Reply with quote
Yay, i went into the shop in which i purchased the DIR-300 and the store manager (friend of mine) simply gave me a new one. Well that was easy, sure beats sending the damn thing off to d-link. Now chaps how do i successfully flash it to DD-WRT without it crashing? Cheers, Jesus.
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1865
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 23:23    Post subject: Re: Debrick , Upgrade DIR-300, AR430W, AR335W to v24 Stable Reply with quote
bennys wrote:
Hello DIR-300 user
I upgrade my DIR-300 from older firmware (2jan08)
to BS RC7 9414 using webupdate.
Update when smooth but guest what my router stop working.

after digging around and found solution from fonera thread.

Ok here is how i debrick my dir-300

tools
TFTPD32 from http://tftpd32.jounin.net/
Standard windows TELNET
Standart windows PING

since this is redboot mode upgrade then
we use linux.bin from
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24/Atheros%20WiSoc/D-Link%20DIR300/linux.bin
(This image for DIR-300)

or

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24/Atheros%20WiSoc/Airlink%20101%20AR430W/linux.bin
(This image for AR430W)

ok setup your tftpd32
setup your PC LAN to 192.168.1.2

attach dir-300 WAN to your PC LAN port

use windows CMD and PING
ping 192.168.1.1 -t and press enter

START-Run--> type "telnet 192.168.1.1 9000" and leave it there

now turn on your dir-300

wait until the first ping appear then you can run those telnet command

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Hardware error.
Hardware error.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=614ms TTL=64 <------ just enter those telnet at this stage
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

========
whooa you got redboot prompt




^C== Executing boot script in 1.360 seconds - enter ^C to abort

^C
DD-WRT> ip_address -h 192.168.1.2
IP: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0, Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Default server: 192.168.1.2
DD-WRT> fis init -f ---> "fis init" fine also
About to initialize [format] FLASH image system - continue (y/n)? y
*** Initialize FLASH Image System
... Erase from 0xbfc30000-0xbffe0000: ...........................................................
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0x80041000-0x803cefff, assumed entry at 0x80041000
DD-WRT> fis create linux
... Erase from 0xbfc30000-0xbffbe000: .........................................................
... Program from 0x80041000-0x803cf000 at 0xbfc30000: .........................................................
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> fconfig[/color][/b]
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
.. fis load -l vmlinux.bin.l7
.. exec
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>> fis load -l linux
>> exec
>><--- just press enter
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 5
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false<--- just press enter
Gateway IP address:<--- just press enter
Local IP address: 192.168.1.1
Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
Default server IP address: 192.168.1.254
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false<--- just press enter
Network debug at boot time: false<--- just press enter
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT>reset



Well it should be up and running now
B.

For next upgrade we can use those simple webupdate method again and use dir300-firmware.bin or ar430w-firmware.bin


Ok guys ..

I flash a hundreds of broadcom routers .. but a friend of mine , ask me to flash his router DLINK DIR 300 .. i done all things until LOAD -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin .. it cant load ..

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
DD-WRT> load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
Using default protocol (TFTP)
TFTP timed out 1/15
Can't load 'linux.bin': operation timed out
DD-WRT>

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

i tried many time .. i done again the fis -h init ... rebooted many times ... all the times it pings again .. but , i didnt pass that step ... what i am doing wrong ? tftp server has some specific settings ?


Thanks in advanced


Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 41556 AP OpenVPN webserver RETIRED (bricked)
1 R7800 42912 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 42912 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 42908 AP Webserver OpenVPN
1 DDx86 Vmware 40260
1 E3000 41027 K3 @500 WAP wifi client
Dmitry
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
is your pc's ip is 192.168.1.2 ?
if its something else then type ip_address -h <ip_of_your_pc> into redboot console

_________________
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum