HTTPD High CPU

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2019 22:45    Post subject: HTTPD High CPU Reply with quote
I've been looking for ideas on why my Netgear WNDR3700 Routers were showing CPU at 100% when I came across a number of posts about httpd using a lot of CPU. Sure enough if I run top on these machines then they show a reasonably consistent 98% usage. However I also have some WNR3500L routers which show httpd running at below 10%. Is this something to do with the hardware or could it be that a build after V3.0-30471, which is the latest I'm using, had a change which has caused this problem
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4411
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:39    Post subject: Re: HTTPD High CPU Reply with quote
px03afk wrote:
I've been looking for ideas on why my Netgear WNDR3700 Routers were showing CPU at 100% when I came across a number of posts about httpd using a lot of CPU. Sure enough if I run top on these machines then they show a reasonably consistent 98% usage. However I also have some WNR3500L routers which show httpd running at below 10%. Is this something to do with the hardware or could it be that a build after V3.0-30471, which is the latest I'm using, had a change which has caused this problem


A lot of work has been done on httpd, you might research a more recent build

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've just updated two of my WNDR3700 routers to r41517 and it seems as though httpd is no longer using a large amount of CPU. In fact there doesn't seem to be very much running at all but one of them is still showing the load average over 1 for the last minute.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2696
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Post-flash reboot wait time for it to settle out is up to 5 minutes. CPU load also depends on configuration.
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41686 mega (12/10/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.5
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum