Linksys EA6400

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
david007co
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2019 0:45    Post subject: Re: Linksys EA6400 Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:

But then you wouldn't get to do fun projects like this.... Rolling Eyes


That looks AWESOME!!! Surprised Cool
Sponsor
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 16:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I managed to install dd-wrt on my EA6400 (US), exactly like the guide says. Choose Venezuela in Wireless Regulatory domain and it will unlock 5Ghz channels between 149 and 165. Choosing Japan unlocks channels between 100 and 144. Does anyone know how to disable Regulatory domain and unlock all channels at same time?

Thank you for the guide!
deslatha
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
cfeedback2 wrote:
deslatha wrote:
So then it is real bad blocks in nand flash or just a bad single byte in nand flash and Samsung mfg mask as whole bad block but not bad page. You can check in dmesg, if it over 5 bad blocks in one partition then ddwrt create nand img in brcmnand partition. That why linksys make 2 partitions Fw with only one nvram.
I had tried to take out and test with ext programer . It is a real mystery that some had real bad blocks but some not. After erase 4mb spare ECC partition then no bad blocks. That yield test of read and write come from mfg on bad single byte was mask as whole bad block.

You sir, know your stuff. I tip my hat to you. This is still my favorite router, I've used your suggested CFE / overclock settings from the get go (after I mangled it a few times with my own clumsy attempts)... I think if anything, it runs cooler at 1200mhz than it did at stock.

I'm unclear how to decipher these bad block messages, can you elaborate a little more? for example mine says:

Code:
nand: 128 MiB, SLC, erase size: 128 KiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
Spare area=64 eccbytes 56, ecc bytes located at:
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 50 51 52 53
54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63
Available 7 bytes at (off,len):
(1,1) (16,2) (32,2) (48,2) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (
0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0)
Scanning device for bad blocks
Bad eraseblock 79 at 0x0000009e0000
Options: NO_SUBPAGE_WRITE,
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "brcmnand"


nand: 128 MiB, SLC, erase size: 128 KiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
Actually nand 128 MiB=128 mega bytes=1 Gigabits @ Single Lay Cell ( 1 cell for 1 bit so it last long up to 100,000 times erase and write) + 4 MiB=4 megabytes for Extra CRC correct data. (called ECC).
There is 1024 blocks which each block=128 KiB=0x20000.
Bad erase block 79 at 0x0000009e0000
79=4Fx20000=0x0000009e0000 ( rootfs partition).
if a bad block is 79th block then it writes to next good block = 79th +1 block=80th block or it may copy the whole partition to dd-wrt partition. but Linksys is so dumped cause it may not be implied to its fw.
The solution that you may write all 0x00 to this block or insert all 00 of 0x20000 to specific your fw if you want to or fw is not worked.
On vortex cfe you can check by CLI:
code
flash -ndump
flash -offset= 0x**** -ndump

but most mtd CLI take care all these problem in dd-wrt fw.
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
After some testing, my lan speed and wifi speed dropped to 40% of the router's initial performance (using stock firmware). I have a 1Gbps internet connection and using the router with dd-wrt limits the connection on LAN to 400 Mbps. Plugging the cable directly from ISP's modem gives me back my 1 Gbps connection. So, until someone fixes this, ddr-wrt on this device is crap.
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 9:15    Post subject: Bricked Reply with quote
Tried to flash back to stock (backed up cfe, original firmware), bricked after flash and reboot.
I don't think this can be fixed. The green led flashes and i have a ping response from 192.168.1.1 TTL=100 but can't connect with TFTP or anything else. No serial connector on the board.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:30    Post subject: Re: Bricked Reply with quote
mschumiv wrote:
Tried to flash back to stock (backed up cfe, original firmware), bricked after flash and reboot.
I don't think this can be fixed. The green led flashes and i have a ping response from 192.168.1.1 TTL=100 but can't connect with TFTP or anything else. No serial connector on the board.


You have to find where the header goes on the board and solder your own pins to the board for serial recovery on Linksys devices, usually. TFTP is ping, power, put. You basically are applying power and putting the file via TFTP simultaneously, because your first ping reply takes less than a second.
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:04    Post subject: Re: Bricked Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
mschumiv wrote:
Tried to flash back to stock (backed up cfe, original firmware), bricked after flash and reboot.
I don't think this can be fixed. The green led flashes and i have a ping response from 192.168.1.1 TTL=100 but can't connect with TFTP or anything else. No serial connector on the board.


You have to find where the header goes on the board and solder your own pins to the board for serial recovery on Linksys devices, usually. TFTP is ping, power, put. You basically are applying power and putting the file via TFTP simultaneously, because your first ping reply takes less than a second.

I understand. Thank you. I have a usb to serial cable somewhere, next i need to figure out the board pins. There was a tutorial around here but can't remember where. Maybe we can do this together Very Happy
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:18    Post subject: Re: Bricked Reply with quote
mschumiv wrote:

I understand. Thank you. I have a usb to serial cable somewhere, next i need to figure out the board pins. There was a tutorial around here but can't remember where. Maybe we can do this together Very Happy


You may be in luck. The last link mentions a header already on the board.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

http://gravitynet.co.nf/index.php/ea6400/installation-guide

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=309425
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:11    Post subject: Re: Bricked Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
mschumiv wrote:

I understand. Thank you. I have a usb to serial cable somewhere, next i need to figure out the board pins. There was a tutorial around here but can't remember where. Maybe we can do this together Very Happy


You may be in luck. The last link mentions a header already on the board.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

http://gravitynet.co.nf/index.php/ea6400/installation-guide

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=309425

I'll go look for my cable.
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've found some cables: A usb to serial bridge and an old nokia CA-42.
I've disassembled the router and found the header.
Need to connect the right wires to the board... kind of difficult.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
mschumiv wrote:
I've found some cables: A usb to serial bridge and an old nokia CA-42.
I've disassembled the router and found the header.
Need to connect the right wires to the board... kind of difficult.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=774670#774670

Quote:
Serial 6-pinout on EA2700:
1(square):VCC
2:n/a
3:Tx
4:n/a
5:Rx
6:GND
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
mschumiv wrote:
I've found some cables: A usb to serial bridge and an old nokia CA-42.
I've disassembled the router and found the header.
Need to connect the right wires to the board... kind of difficult.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=774670#774670

Quote:
Serial 6-pinout on EA2700:
1(square):VCC
2:n/a
3:Tx
4:n/a
5:Rx
6:GND


Made all connection but i'm looking for a 32 bit system... f**k
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm reinstalling an old laptop i have. None of the drivers i've found don't work on my win 10 64 bit pc.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7260
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 16:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
mschumiv wrote:
I'm reinstalling an old laptop i have. None of the drivers i've found don't work on my win 10 64 bit pc.


Hmm. The ones I have installed drivers just fine for win 10. They all work with linux and MacOSX like a charm. I would probably suggest some flavor of Linux for the old laptop, depending on how old it is. Perhaps Debian 10 xfce, if you really need a GUI. Lubuntu is probably a close second. Installing minicom on either is pretty painless, just have to configure minicom to work with the right serial port, etc.
mschumiv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
mschumiv wrote:
I'm reinstalling an old laptop i have. None of the drivers i've found don't work on my win 10 64 bit pc.


Hmm. The ones I have installed drivers just fine for win 10. They all work with linux and MacOSX like a charm. I would probably suggest some flavor of Linux for the old laptop, depending on how old it is. Perhaps Debian 10 xfce, if you really need a GUI. Lubuntu is probably a close second. Installing minicom on either is pretty painless, just have to configure minicom to work with the right serial port, etc.

Didn't venture on linux that much. Only used a couple of times to pack/unpack/modify some samsung smartphone firmware files.
Managed to intall windows 32 bit and luckly the drivers for my usb to serial cable. All connections made.
... What now? Very Happy
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum