Linksys EA6400

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
TheRedDevil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:56    Post subject: Linksys EA6400 Reply with quote
Ok this router is just pissing me off I am trying
to install DD WRT on this Linksys EA6400 router.

The router has been reset back to factory defaults
already.

Running firmware version 1.1.40.160989

And please don't tell me to look at the guide because I have looked at it which is what has caused me to post
this response here.

The guide which they refer to in the supported
routers database is garbage it needs to be totally
rewritten.

https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_EA6400

It tells me to look at the instructions for
"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360"


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1009864#1009864

So that is what I did the only problem is that some of the links that are listed there are not even working.

For example the link for the small firmware version doesn't work

"•Super hacky small DD-WRT: http://d.pr/f/17CIg/5I5UrVmX+ (linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin, Credit: numinit)"

That link is 404 and doesn't even work

Now I found another version of that "super hacky small DD-WRT firmware update and it doesn't work and it says that it is supposed to be for the EA6400 router.

I found this post on the forums giving me the instructions for the EA6400 only problem is when I go to flash the router though the web interface it gives me an error saying that the firmware won't work on the router.

The thread I was looking at is

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1042635&sid=c8b32dcb6011c9c6cf7649a5b49c2e99

And it gives me the instructions of

How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF

That is where I downloaded the smaller build from was the link above. It gives me the following error



When the link in the official manual didn't work I went looking for other places to get this "super hacky small DD-WRT firmware update"

The error which i am getting is

"invalid firmware file This firmware file won't work on this router. If you downloaded it from linksys.com it may have become corrupted. Please download this file again"

The error can be seen at
https://s31.postimg.org/d6qrbqwsb/EA6400_Flash_Error.jpg


The file is called

linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin

It should work on this router.


So then when all of that didn't work I tried the full version of the EA6400 firmware and tried to flash it though the web interface and it gives me an error.

I downloaded the latest version of the full firmware from ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/12-24-2015-r28598/linksys-ea6400/

it won't flash straight on either with the full version.

The full version I am using is located at

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/linksys-ea6400/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin

now when I try and just flash on the full version
via the web interface the error I get is

https://s14.postimg.org/kvvu53lu9/EA6400_unexpected_error.jpg


I am sick of this router it is the biggest piece of garbage I have ever seen. Fucking Linksys is a piece of garbage!

Can anyone give me a GOOD set of instructions to flash this router otherwise I am going to throw it out of the window soon. So far everything I have tried has not worked. This router is an absolute piece of trash.
Sponsor
TheRedDevil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
After I posted all this I saw this

http://gravitynet.co.nf/index.php/ea6400/installation-guide

"If you have had your Linksys router update automatically, if you've updated it manually to firmware 1.0.99.172334 then please downgrade. This firmware has an additional firmware signature check, which will not allow you flash the mini build or downgrade firmware.
http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/releasenotes/EA6400_Customer_Release_Notes_1.1.40.172334.txt

The release notes state that the change in this firmware is that it is digitally signed to comply with FCC requirements. This means only firmware signed by Linksys can be flashed, which means it is impossible to do so via the web front with this firmware."

What bullshit so I guess I am out of luck because I am running version 1.1.40.160989 for my firmware and I tried to downgrade it and it won't!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4338
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 16:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do not know if this will work for the EA6400 but the following is from the EA6900 install guide:

Quote:
New routers after aprox. mid 2016, are reported to be locked!
So you have to take extra steps to upload 3rd party firmware see: http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/asuswrt-merlin-xvortex-on-linksys-ea6900-supports-tomato-dd-wrt.71718/page-7#post-284060
You are suposed to bring up the mini CFE webserver by holding the reset button, power down and while holding restore power. From the mini CFE webserver you are supposed to be able to upload different firmware and erase nvram (confirmation wanted).

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Chesterboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
I do not know if this will work for the EA6400 but the following is from the EA6900 install guide:

Quote:
New routers after aprox. mid 2016, are reported to be locked!
So you have to take extra steps to upload 3rd party firmware see: http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/asuswrt-merlin-xvortex-on-linksys-ea6900-supports-tomato-dd-wrt.71718/page-7#post-284060
You are suposed to bring up the mini CFE webserver by holding the reset button, power down and while holding restore power. From the mini CFE webserver you are supposed to be able to upload different firmware and erase nvram (confirmation wanted).


This only applies to the EA6900 routers.

I currently have an EA6400 running DD-WRT wiich is connected via ethernet as a bridge to my EA6900 running Merlin Vortex I'm not sure those instructions apply here. I understand your furstration but I seem to remember that I used the DD-WRT Brainslayer mini build to get DD_WRT up and running. If you have any questions check with me and I will see if I can help you.
Chesterboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 18:55    Post subject: Re; the EA6400 router Reply with quote
Just a note the EA6300 V1 is in fact an EA6400 so all instructions for the EA6300 V1 apply to the EA6400.

here is a link that may help you out
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=172389&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=990
TheRedDevil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:02    Post subject: Re: Re; the EA6400 router Reply with quote
Chesterboy wrote:
Just a note the EA6300 V1 is in fact an EA6400 so all instructions for the EA6300 V1 apply to the EA6400.

here is a link that may help you out
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=172389&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=990


That guide is the same one I was looking at and is outdated and some of the links don't work it is crap.

I did get it to flash though on the Linksys EA6400 only thing that I can see that isn't working is the logging
it isn't logging the incoming and out-coming packets
the logs are totally empty.

This is under the security tab and scroll down to
"log management"
C1ph3rL0ck
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 19:19    Post subject: Linksys EA6400 Reply with quote
What did you do to get it working on the EA6400???

I've been following the instructions and can't get it to work. I can't find any of the older firmwares to try and downgrade to to get past the Linksys Signature Check they added.
Wetzel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
TheRedDevil wrote:
After I posted all this I saw this

http://gravitynet.co.nf/index.php/ea6400/installation-guide

"If you have had your Linksys router update automatically, if you've updated it manually to firmware 1.0.99.172334 then please downgrade. This firmware has an additional firmware signature check, which will not allow you flash the mini build or downgrade firmware.
http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/releasenotes/EA6400_Customer_Release_Notes_1.1.40.172334.txt

The release notes state that the change in this firmware is that it is digitally signed to comply with FCC requirements. This means only firmware signed by Linksys can be flashed, which means it is impossible to do so via the web front with this firmware."

What bullshit so I guess I am out of luck because I am running version 1.1.40.160989 for my firmware and I tried to downgrade it and it won't!


Yep, biggest load of bs ever. The FCC just takes it upon themselves to pull some ordinance out of their asses because they apparently care so much about router/communication device manufacturers' firmware/software being digitally signed. Laughable. I was going to tell you to downgrade the stock firmware and to turn off auto updating but it seems you figured it out somehow. I'd like to know too just how you tackled that one.

This is clearly an attempt (one of many more that I am sure will manifest soon) to circumvent people from being able to have more privacy and protection for themselves. These devils just never quit.

Since stock FWs are basically shit, for example, there won't be settings/options to use a VPN through it. Instead you'll have to use your VPN service's proprietary software via good ole Windows and risk: (1) having a disconnect where you'll get caught with your pants down (it would take 5 seconds or less) and then get a letter in the mail from a lawyer saying you got caught downloading Milf Mania 34 or (2) having all them lovely W10 spyware apps/services turned on (Win Offender, Cortana, and all the other garbage) so everything can be possibly compromised further.

I seen how some people were saying they needed to log into some global account to make changes from the GUI. One review I had seen, the guy said he needed to have a live connection to make changes in the router settings. Yeah, jee.

Soon, I guess, we will be seeing things like:

New FCC Regulation: Windows Volume now locked at 50% due to health concerns of people's ears.

New FCC Regulation: As of 1/1/18 all ISPs will cap downloads to 2 megabytes/s and 50k upload due to...well, because we feel like it.

New DHHS/FDA Regulation: When grocery shopping you will now be required to buy at least two products containing aspartame and sodium bezoate because it's great for your brain and helps you think better.

It seems rolling back to stock firmwares to update to a DD-WRT release won't do much good either, if one updated to a FW with the digital signature lock. Basically, golden rule #1 right now is DO NOT HAVE AUTO-UPDATE TURNED ON, or else you're hit.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7240
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The FCC regulation is due to people breaking the law and modifying their routers to use non permissible channels, and power levels.
Bottom line: don't break the law because you don't think they apply to you or you will force authorities to take action.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.


Last edited by Malachi on Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:18; edited 1 time in total
Wetzel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
The FCC regulation is due to people braking the law and modifying their routers to use non permissible channels, and power levels.
Bottom line: don't break the law because you don't think they apply to you or you will force authorities to take action.


Fair enough. In other words, similar to illegally uncapping a cable modem, stealing wifi, etc. That I can understand.

Be that as it is may, though, I still don't understand what any of that has to do with using 3rd party firmwares. We aren't allowed to go sawing off random trees in the street, yet chainsaws are legal to buy and use. What would the gubbamints answer to that be if it happened twice in one week? Well, obviously, ban all chainsaws! Rolling Eyes That whole "one bad apple spoils the bunch" has just been taken way too far these days concerning many different issues.

Laws and the punishment for breaking them are nothing more than deterrents. It doesn't outright stop anyone from doing something they shouldn't and I just don't think it's right whatsoever to make some blanket regulation that restricts people from using their choice of 3rd party firmwares. Funny how none of this was an issue for years and years then suddenly it became one and nearly every manufacturer jumps on board.

And then there are the other issues I mentioned along with it that manufacturers started doing. I mean, why on earth would someone be required to have an active inet connection to make a particular change in the settings, or need to log into some account? It's stuff like that I find really alarming.

Imo, it all just seems like a silent attack on 3rd party FW developers, as well as making it more difficult for people to access the more secure settings of their routers.
Lennard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
@TheRedDevil, please elaborate about how you did flash it to DD-wrt. I'm planning on flashing my EA6300V1.

Did you downgrade the stock FW first, or did you solve it in some other way?
cd2022
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not 100% positive but I think I used tftp to down grade at one time.
Lennard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
All right, I just finished the guide and the latest did-wrt build is working on my EA6300v1. Very Happy

I followed Butterworths guide mentioned here before and I reverted back to previous firmware in the Linksys GUI as described in the Updated Information section here: http://gravitynet.co.nf/index.php/ea6400/installation-guide


It's true that the link to the small-hack-ddwrt is broken in Butterworths post but you can download it from the link above in the section prerequisites.

Thanks for this!
Smoke7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Location: Springboro, OHIO

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:03    Post subject: Linksys EA6400 Reply with quote
Hello, I've never installed dd-WRT on any of my routers so I am new here. However I have the same Linksys EA6400 which getting overheated all the time and dropping the connection. I was readin all the instructions and not sure if the version I have after downgraded which is 1.1.40.176337 will work with dd-WRT. Thank you in advance.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7240
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:22    Post subject: Re: Linksys EA6400 Reply with quote
Smoke7 wrote:
Hello, I've never installed dd-WRT on any of my routers so I am new here. However I have the same Linksys EA6400 which getting overheated all the time and dropping the connection. I was readin all the instructions and not sure if the version I have after downgraded which is 1.1.40.176337 will work with dd-WRT. Thank you in advance.


Do yourself a favor and buy a different router.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum