Guest Network unable to connect

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
fahadkhowaja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:46    Post subject: Guest Network unable to connect Reply with quote
I have followed the guides on dd wrt website and youtube as well...generally 2 approaches using bridged (youtube) or unbridged confirguration (unbridged).

But with both approaches I cannot get any client to connect to the network although the guest network is visible.

Need expert assistance.

Please let me know which settings to share to help in debugging the problem.

Thank you.
Sponsor
fahadkhowaja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am using DD-WRT v3.0-r30826 giga (11/01/16) on a netgear router.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8135
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the setup of your router? Gateway, Wireless access point, repeater bridge, etc. ?

What netgear router are you using?

Try to describe your problem in detail, can you connect to the VAP but do you not have internet access, does the VAP hand out an IP address?

The most common problem is that users do not reboot after setting up. Without a reboot DNSMasq does not hand out IP addresses on the VAP Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
fahadkhowaja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you egc!

The missing link was the reboot indeed. I forced a reboot of the router via administration tab and then everything works.

This point should be added to the howtos in ddwrt website to help others.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum