WRT600N tracert exploit with stock Linksys firmware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
uploading 10776 mega now

edit sorry for the multiposting.
Sponsor
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
zikronix wrote:
ok so i didnt do the factory reset and it worked...

now im uploading the latest tng

doing the factory reset last time...didnt work for me

It's better to be safe than sorry... make sure you do a factory reset after you flash the latest version. Then power cycle the unit once after that.

You should be good to go after that.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 22:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok this time it worked....lol...pain the butt...thats why i still love my gl's and the two v4's i got.

one question on this router with this firmware...there seem to be no access to the A Frequency radio....Why not.
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
zikronix wrote:
ok this time it worked....lol...pain the butt...thats why i still love my gl's and the two v4's i got.

one question on this router with this firmware...there seem to be no access to the A Frequency radio....Why not.

Yes there is. It's wl1. You just can't set it to be A-only through the web interface yet.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
i see...so would i set it to mixed or what...so i can run A and N at the same time?

what i was hoping to do...is use N for the backbone and a for the clients.
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
zikronix wrote:
i see...so would i set it to mixed or what...so i can run A and N at the same time?

what i was hoping to do...is use N for the backbone and a for the clients.

Are you setting up repeaters?

You can set it to mixed mode so your other routers can connect using N, but you can't make other clients not allowed to use N.

If you set it to mixed mode, clients will be able to connect using A or N.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
No. Repeater bridge. Wanted to use n for the back bone then either a or g for the clients we have a ton of g interference so prolly a
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
zikronix wrote:
No. Repeater bridge. Wanted to use n for the back bone then either a or g for the clients we have a ton of g interference so prolly a

Okay. In that case, I'd suggest disabling wl0 (as that is the 2.4Ghz radio) and setting up a mixed mode repeater bridge on wl1. That way, the bridge will run on the 5Ghz spectrum and clients will be able to connect using 802.11a.

(I think what's confusing you is the fact that N can run on either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz. So if you tried to set up the network backbone using N on the 2.4Ghz band, you wouldn't get any of the benefits of using A and the interference would still be a problem)

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 23:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
No. I know that n can run at 5 that's why I bought thses routers vs the very cheap garbage n routers out there. Plus they do a so win win.

So set wlan 1 to mixed which should give me n and a

How will I know the backbone is running n vs a

Also let's say I get a g device could I just renambe the wlan0 interface and would that data traverse the network
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 0:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
zikronix wrote:
No. I know that n can run at 5 that's why I bought thses routers vs the very cheap garbage n routers out there. Plus they do a so win win.

Oh, sorry. I guess I made a bad assumption...

Quote:
So set wlan 1 to mixed which should give me n and a

Yes.

Quote:
How will I know the backbone is running n vs a

The routers will auto-negotiate the highest speed. You can check the current connection rate on the web interface.

Quote:
Also let's say I get a g device could I just renambe the wlan0 interface and would that data traverse the network

Yes.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
zikronix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:
zikronix wrote:
No. I know that n can run at 5 that's why I bought thses routers vs the very cheap garbage n routers out there. Plus they do a so win win.

Oh, sorry. I guess I made a bad assumption...


no..just nopoint in buying an n if its using the same freq as G people do that all the time...i bought an n router and i still have interference...
enrogue
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 15:20    Post subject: Advantages of LinkSys Firmware?? Reply with quote
I have owned the 600N for about a 8 months now and am really dissapointed with the performance and especially the range.

Will using the DD-WRT firmware help me?

I've read the entire chain of posts and am still unclear as to what the advantages are over the LinkSys firmware?

Thanks!

EnR
bukil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will this work in this router?
jb510
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 176
Location: Earth, but trying to leave

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
bukil wrote:
Will this work in this router?


Yes EKO 10949 Mega will work on a WRT 600n. By work I mean many people are testing/using it and it will work to to the extent that one would expect an alpha/beta snapshot build to work.
OhPinchy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also have a WRT600N v1.1 running Linksys firmware 1.01.36 build 3 and am about to upgrade to dd-wrt. I will follow the following instructions (posted above) and will be sure to use the image linked by jmh9072 above for step 4.

But I'm a noob at this and want to be sure I know exactly what I'm doing before I go ahead.

Should I do this with only my laptop connected directly to the router over ethernet with the wireless adapter on my laptop turned off?

How exactly do I do a factory reset (not sure if there's a sequence)?

Thanks

-------------------------

To migrate from the Linksys firmware to dd-wrt, I:

1) reset the WRT600N to factory defaults
2) Flash this via the Linksys web gui
3) Rest to factory defaults
4) Flash this via the dd-wrt gui
5) Reset to factory defaults
6) done
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20, 21  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 19 of 21
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum