DIR-819

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
braliao
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:59    Post subject: DIR-819 Reply with quote
Just got my hands on few units of DIR-819; seems to be new to replace DIR-816L. Anyone know if it's internal would allow support for DDWRT?
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7429
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 8:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
give pictures of fccid, internal hardware (cpu, radios, switch, amplifiers, flash chip), & provide instant list of the internal hardware specs. it may be possible.

this is only for me & for others to determine now, if its supportable, beyond that assuming we say yes, u'd have to email brainslayer or maybe kong for info on shipping a donated unit to germany for porting.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45891 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45865 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2180
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 14:32    Post subject: Possible Reply with quote
It is very new, there is not even a wikidevi page for it yet.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
braliao
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
give pictures of fccid, internal hardware (cpu, radios, switch, amplifiers, flash chip), & provide instant list of the internal hardware specs. it may be possible.

this is only for me & for others to determine now, if its supportable, beyond that assuming we say yes, u'd have to email brainslayer or maybe kong for info on shipping a donated unit to germany for porting.


So, I just open one up and take a picture to show you guys? Not really sure where would I get the info you are asking for..
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2411

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
D-Link DIR-819 has a Mediatek MT7620A CPU https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek_MT7620
https://fccid.io/pdf.php?id=3233602
https://fccid.io/pdf.php?id=3233603

Can be easily supported by DD-WRT, since DIR-810L is similar http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#D-Link

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31924 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
braliao
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

So what do I need to do next to get DDWRt for this unit?

Thanks


KrypteX wrote:
D-Link DIR-819 has a Mediatek MT7620A CPU https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek_MT7620
https://fccid.io/pdf.php?id=3233602
https://fccid.io/pdf.php?id=3233603

Can be easily supported by DD-WRT, since DIR-810L is similar http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#D-Link
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7429
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
donate it or wait an unknown amount of time
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45891 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45865 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
braliao
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
donate it or wait an unknown amount of time


OK, just to make sure, I assume following instruction from this page? or is there something new?

https://www.dd-wrt.com/site/community/donations

Is 1 unit enough?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7429
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
1 is enough. if in doubt email (not pm) brainslayer first http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/profile_sec.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2 he is lead developer
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45891 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45891 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45865 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
braliao
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
donation sent.. thanks for everyone's reply
jnava19
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:56    Post subject: Support for DIR 819 Reply with quote
Hello, I found this post, but couldnt find any on DD-WRT site...Could you let me now if there is a version available? If donation is required, can you point me next steps? Thanks
niko_xx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 22:22    Post subject: DD-WRT for d-link DIR-819 Reply with quote
Hi,

I have ported DD-WRT to the DIR-819 and it seems to work ok. It is loosely v3.0 and linux v3.10.

I have appended a zip with the following:

DIR-819_ddwrt.bin
DIR-819_ddwrt.img
DIR-819_org.bin
DIR-819_org.img

The bins are for update (both work from the respective router web interfaces: d-link and dd-wrt) and the imgs are for rewriting the bootloader too. To write the imgs you will need access to the console, which implies soldering some pins onto the board (I fiddled a bit with the bootloader, more out of love for the English language than anything else Very Happy).

The _ddwrt are (obviously) dd-wrt and the _org are if you want to go back to the original firmware.

Disclaimer: This works on my DIR-819, it's not my fault if you brick yours. But most brickings can be fixed with access to the console. In the worst case, get an arduino and you can flash the EEPROM directly (which I have also tried and it works just fine).
putznutz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
WAN didn't work. MAC was incorrect and even cloned old address hoping that would do it. That didn't work.

Then used attached _org.bin to revert, and that took me to a softbrick. Had to set fixed IP to crash firmware recovery. Used original 1.01A from D-Link site to bring back to stock.
niko_xx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 17:16    Post subject: Sorry to hear that Reply with quote
And very strange since as said, it works on mine just fine. If you really want to use dd-wrt on it, and you have the time, send me all the logs and info you can, I will see if I can replicate the problem and fix it.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2180
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 20:44    Post subject: Mediatek Reply with quote
How did you make the dd-wrt files?

I am trying to add support for the Linksys EA6100-CA. I have fairly extensive serial and tftp experience. I tried flashing a modified Buffalo 1166D file, it just comes up with a kernel crash.

I then erased the firmware on the flash (via serial) both primary and alternate. Now all I get is bad magic number.

Note: The Linksys EA6100, Buffalo WHR-1166D and the DIR-819 are all based on the MediaTek 7620A.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum