How to setup WAN to use VLAN 101 using the UI

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
hoegge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2020
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 17:47    Post subject: How to setup WAN to use VLAN 101 using the UI Reply with quote
Hi

My new ISP requires the gateway / router to connect on VLAN 101 on the WAN. Is there a way to do that via the UI? It does not seem so clear (to me) how and I could not find anything online, that does not involve a lot of shell commands, which is usually not very useful, since most of those are reset /overwritten when the router is rebooted. There seems to be UI functions for it but not sure how to use them and there is no help on the side.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
Hoegge
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6958
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any shell commands that work to make the connection would likely have to be in the startup script in Administration->Commands. It would be nice to know what router and build number is being used.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net


Last edited by kernel-panic69 on Tue May 12, 2020 19:16; edited 1 time in total
hoegge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2020
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried to add a tag with 101 and then check the tag box on the vlan page and untag 1 - but apparently that was a big mistake (bricked the router and I had to reset it to get it back up running and forgot to save settings before) - doh! Very Happy

And sorry for missing info:
Linksys WRT-1900AC v1 running FW version 42803


Last edited by hoegge on Tue May 12, 2020 18:52; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6958
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
This thread in the Marvell forum is your reference:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317199

AFAIK, you can't do this via webUI on Marvell, you *must* use command line.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
hoegge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2020
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the hint. I have now tried to add:
Code:

swconfig dev switch0 set reset 1
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "6 0 1 2 3"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set ports "5 4t"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 2 set vid 101
swconfig dev switch0 set apply

to the startup script. After reboot there is no way to contact the router anymore - same thing as happened, when I used the GUI to tag the WAN port. Is it due to the release is too old (but most recent I think v42803)?

Best
Hoegge
hoegge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2020
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried to ask more detailed in the Marvell forum:

How to VLAN tag WAN traffic for ISP on WRT1900AC

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1204325#1204325
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6958
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2020 0:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I'm locking this one. Not going to have two threads about the same subject running amok.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum