Netgear R6300v2 and R6300v2ch

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
fitz55
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:40    Post subject: Netgear R6300v2 and R6300v2ch Reply with quote
Hi All,
New here and I have read tons of articles and what to do that my head is spinning. Simple questions:

1) Where to get the latest firmware for Netgear R6300v2 and Netgear R6300v2ch?

2) Simple install instructions?

I know how to install but I have read factory reset, install .chk file, reboot, update with .bin, do a 30/30/30, one site says no one says you need to do it. I'm just confused. So can someone please give me the answers to questions 1 and 2 and I would be very grateful

Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2804
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
for BS realises
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/

or Kong realise

http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/31100/

so 30/30/30 is useless on Netgear routers, usually reset to factory does the trick better or using telnet/ssh erase nvram, so for first flash use chk file make sure you reset to defaults before flash its good to erase nvram even after flash http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Supported%20Models

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -----DD-WRT 41027 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -----DD-WRT 40890 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ---------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
merrow75
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
for BS realises
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/12-15-2016-r30949/

or Kong realise

http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/31100/

so 30/30/30 is useless on Netgear routers, usually reset to factory does the trick better or using telnet/ssh erase nvram, so for first flash use chk file make sure you reset to defaults before flash its good to erase nvram even after flash http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Supported%20Models


Stick with Kong's builds as newer builds from Brainslayer will brick the router.

Files available from Kong's repository (latest revisions together with some select older ones) or CloneVince's repository (an archive containing older builds and latest builds).

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.K3_R6300V2.chk

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.K3_R6300V2CH.chk

All the best.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
As Merrow said, on BS, anything newer than 30432 will brick them. So unless you need torrenting, stick with Kong's.
merrow75
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xeon2k8 wrote:
As Merrow said, on BS, anything newer than 30432 will brick them. So unless you need torrenting, stick with Kong's.


Thank you for confirming the details regarding the last BS build that was working.

All the best.
fitz55
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 0:08    Post subject: Netgear R6300v2 Reply with quote
First off thanks for all the responses as I have taken the route Kong's 31100 and worked like a charm as I have 4 Netgear R6300v2 and especially when you back up old working 6300v2 prior to upgrading. Reason for asking is I bricked my original and all it does is loop and reboot cant ping as it reboots after 15 sec. I have done all the reset stuff 30-30-30 or just short taps on the reset - still loops. This leads me into next question of how to debrick it. Cable has been ordered and should be here 1/12/17 and I have what I hope is how to do it. Does anyone one have the proper instructions on what software and order to do this procedure. Again thanks for all information supplied earlier now just want to try my hand at debricking process. I also will apologize if this is not the proper place to ask this

Best to all
Fitz55
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 0:18    Post subject: Re: Netgear R6300v2 Reply with quote
fitz55 wrote:
First off thanks for all the responses as I have taken the route Kong's 31100 and worked like a charm as I have 4 Netgear R6300v2 and especially when you back up old working 6300v2 prior to upgrading. Reason for asking is I bricked my original and all it does is loop and reboot cant ping as it reboots after 15 sec. I have done all the reset stuff 30-30-30 or just short taps on the reset - still loops. This leads me into next question of how to debrick it. Cable has been ordered and should be here 1/12/17 and I have what I hope is how to do it. Does anyone one have the proper instructions on what software and order to do this procedure. Again thanks for all information supplied earlier now just want to try my hand at debricking process. I also will apologize if this is not the proper place to ask this

Best to all
Fitz55

It's the right place, but you are not following the right process. First search on forum or Google and then ask if you got stuck. Check out this

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304363&highlight=r6300v2+unbrick

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
fitz55
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xeon2k8 - I appreciate the link and instructions but reason for the post was Looking for Instructions

I / you / others all post scenarios on try this and do that and don't do this or that. I indicated I do research and find multiple articles - When asking for help I include as much info as possible so it keeps it simple and understandable to whomever reads the posting. So thanks again for the link and info now waiting for my serial cable and with some luck and good info might give me some good footing to Unbrick this puppy..

Thanks to all who responded
madmax7766
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
i successfully changed R6300v2ch to R6300v2
following steps posted by Zband psot#5

https://www.myopenrouter.com/comment/43661#comment-43661

((The following is how I got into my r6300v2CH router. I was able to turn the router into a non Charter router with the process that I went through.

You have to make sure that Telnet is installed and functioning on Windows or Linux system that you are using. I used a Windows 7 Home Premium system.

Once Telnet is on your Windows 7 system go to the following website : http://www.antinode.info/nte/index.html and download the command line program nte.exe under the executable kit and put it in an accessible directory. (You must know how to use command line for the program and telnet) Go to the directory where nte.exe is and execute the program. It will give you instructions on what to do. This program is for the enabling of telnet in the router. (This was the only way that I could get telnet to function on my system. Putty didn't work. It would give me the same problem over and over about how the login was incorrect. nte.exe fixed this problem.) After following the instructions and executing the program properly you should be told at command line that the program has enabled telnet in the router.

Open cmd.exe (I ran it as Admin just to make sure of the following) from command line type in Telnet to activate Telnet.

Telnet will expect you to type something like the following

o 192.168.1.1 23 - this is the routers IP address and port 23

Assuming all is going well for you, your command line interface will change to a # symbol.

Then type in the following that is also listed in one of the above posts:

burnboardid U12H240T00_NETGEAR

nvram set board_id=U12H240T00_NETGEAR

To my understanding the above are commands for the router to change the ID of the router which will then allow you to flash new firmware. When the two router commands have been executed you can get out of telnet and go back to the router interface through your web browser and flash the firmware that you need to. For me I my first flash was to firmware

stock V1.0.4.2....

after that I installed the most recent version of DD-WRT to my router and it works perfectly.



After Thoughts:

I just posted this information to add to what others had here in this thread as I wanted others to see another option for getting into their router. I tried a lot of the above mentioned methods including using PUTTY and none of them would work. After a day of ripping out my hair as I had never used Telnet or PUTTY before I found the website above and used it to solve my issues with flashing DD-WRT to two r6300v2 Charter routers. They both work great and I am tickled to once again have routers with DD-WRT on them.))

i used latest firmware on latest windows 10 pro
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum