D-Link DIR-859 Rev A3 Chipsets Confirmed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
dimitri_souza
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2016 0:04    Post subject: D-Link DIR-859 Rev A3 Chipsets Confirmed Reply with quote
I just got a DIR-859 REV A3 here in Brazil.

I have not flashed DD-WRT yet, but I opened this router and confirmed the following chipsets:

- Qualcomm QCA9563-AL3A (3x3:3 bgn 2.4GHz)
- Qualcomm QCA9880-BR4A (3x3:3 abgn+ac 5GHz)
- Qualcomm QCA8337N-AL3C (Gigabit Ethernet Switch)
- Winbond W9751G6KB-25 (RAM 64 MB)

It looks like all chipsets are the same as REV A1 as listed at WikiDevi: https://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-859_rev_A1

I was not able to confirm the Flash chip.

I took some pictures of the REV A3 board and chipsets (below).

Full resolution pictures are available at: http://imgur.com/a/FlQTk



Last edited by dimitri_souza on Sat May 07, 2016 23:17; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
dimitri_souza
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 19:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just flashed DD-WRT v3.0 beta r29519 on this DIR-859 V3 and it is mostly working.

I noticed however that the status page is reporting only 64MB of RAM (and per photos above it should have 128MB).

Wifi 2.4GHz also has the issue already reported - it works only if "MAC Clone" is enabled.

I will be using this device primarily as an Access Point (routing disabled), I will keep posting here in these threads my additional findings.
dimitri_souza
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Apr 2007
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I edited my original post above.

The RAM memory for this router seems to be 64MB of RAM for all revisions (A1, A2, A3), and not 128MB as I had previously reported.

I had assumed it would be 128MB based on Wikidev information, which seems to be wrong.

My assumption that it is a 64MB RAM is based on two facts:

1) The information at the Winbond W9751G6KB datasheet (https://www.winbond.com/resource-files/da00-w9751g6kbg1.pdf).

2) The RAM information reported by DD-WRT (64MB of RAM) - see below.

proletariat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
This isn't working for me at all. Could you outline the method you used to flash?

EDIT: Got it working by using Internet Explorer to access the router after the initial flash.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum