New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 14:31    Post subject: New Kong's build: DD-WRT 30840M - 11/04/2016 Reply with quote
Kong's DD-WRT build 30840M - 11/04/2016 has been released: http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

Your reports for Broadcom units are greatly appreciated !
Router:
Firmware:
Kernel:
Status:
Reset:
Errors:

This build thread is for reporting successes and problem with loading this experimental test build. This is important info for developers and users. Always state your hardware and SPECIFIC build (e.g. 29440_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin). Do not ask questions about your specific router or how to configure it in this thread; create your own thread to discuss any specific problems you have or need resolved. Please also do not respond to such questions. This thread is to report info, not to seek it. Posts that do not add to understanding this build will be deleted. Make sure you know how to flash properly and the risk before using this build. It is important to adhere to these requirements, to keep this thread from becoming impossibly long and useless. If you don't know what build to flash and how to flash properly and have a means of recovery if things should go wrong, do NOT flash this experimental test build.

_________________
Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
Sponsor
Tarv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 16:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.

_________________
Netgear R7000 - r37015M kongac
Netgear EX6200 - r37015M kongac
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1285

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tarv wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.

Erase nvram would be a better testing rather than travelling around versions.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tarv wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.


Most likely you did not power off the device. I have seen this too when doing speed tests, sometimes flashing a new build requires you to power off/on or the unit will behave strangely, could be some hw registers that are not in their proper state etc.

Anyways it would be complete magic if 30800/30815/30840 would show any speed differences, there are only 2 or 3 changes for this target and they do not have any influence in networking.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
cc999
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 19:32    Post subject: Update Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
Tarv wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.


Most likely you did not power off the device. I have seen this too when doing speed tests, sometimes flashing a new build requires you to power off/on or the unit will behave strangely, could be some hw registers that are not in their proper state etc.

Anyways it would be complete magic if 30800/30815/30840 would show any speed differences, there are only 2 or 3 changes for this target and they do not have any influence in networking.


KOMG

Is an nvram erase necessary or just a ddupdate power off and on?

CC
Tarv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
Tarv wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.


Most likely you did not power off the device. I have seen this too when doing speed tests, sometimes flashing a new build requires you to power off/on or the unit will behave strangely, could be some hw registers that are not in their proper state etc.

Anyways it would be complete magic if 30800/30815/30840 would show any speed differences, there are only 2 or 3 changes for this target and they do not have any influence in networking.


Correct, I did not power off the device at any point. I'll do that and re-test.

Also want to clarify that this is QoS related. QoS is limiting my downstream. My settings are always the same, but in different cases (above) the QoS is limiting the speed much more than it should.

If I disable QoS at any point, I get full 170 Mbps / 15 Mbps speeds. I DID test this at every point 1 thru 4 that I mentioned above.

_________________
Netgear R7000 - r37015M kongac
Netgear EX6200 - r37015M kongac
decompiled
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 1:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.
Tarv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?

_________________
Netgear R7000 - r37015M kongac
Netgear EX6200 - r37015M kongac
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


I'm in an R8500, so different hardware, but my ISP provides 230 down and 12.5 up. I set QoS to 208 down and 11.5 up. QoS keeps up just fine to match that for me,
ciscodlink
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2014
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
Tarv wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30840M kongac
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r30815M kongac

All flashing done with ddup, did not erase nvram. Reporting on ongoing issue with QoS downstream speeds.

1) 30815 seemed to be working ok as per my previous posts. Testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

2) Upgraded to 30840, issue with slow downstream speeds returned. Testing at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

3) I rolled back to 30815 in an attempt to regain my speeds. Oddly enough, the speeds remained the same at D:81 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

4) I rolled back yet again to 30800, and then immediately upgraded back to 38015. This put me back where I started, testing at D:145 Mbps / U:13 Mbps

That is all I did with this test. Hope this helps.


Most likely you did not power off the device. I have seen this too when doing speed tests, sometimes flashing a new build requires you to power off/on or the unit will behave strangely, could be some hw registers that are not in their proper state etc.

Anyways it would be complete magic if 30800/30815/30840 would show any speed differences, there are only 2 or 3 changes for this target and they do not have any influence in networking.


So what is the correct way to upgrade now?

Delete everything (fav)ctory reset) = erasing nvram
Then power off the device
Then power on + flash new build with resetting everything to default

?
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


I'm in an R8500, so different hardware, but my ISP provides 230 down and 12.5 up. I set QoS to 208 down and 11.5 up. QoS keeps up just fine to match that for me,


The only reason I can think off why people have problems-> it depends on the type of wan.

In my tests I build up a pseudo wan with dhcp, but with mtu 1500 and no routers between as I still don't have my line upgrade with faster pppoe.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
DaveTheNerd wrote:
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


I'm in an R8500, so different hardware, but my ISP provides 230 down and 12.5 up. I set QoS to 208 down and 11.5 up. QoS keeps up just fine to match that for me,


The only reason I can think off why people have problems-> it depends on the type of wan.

In my tests I build up a pseudo wan with dhcp, but with mtu 1500 and no routers between as I still don't have my line upgrade with faster pppoe.


Makes sense. For reference, I'm in the USA on a Comcast/XFINITY cable modem connection, and QoS is working fine.
decompiled
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


Spectrum 30/3.5 with

QOS settings of:
28000/3400
HTB
FQ_Codel

DDWRT gets my desired speeds and straight A's on the dsl reports speedtest. I can saturate the line and still have a great browsing experience. I have tried tomato, merlin and stock fw with no luck. I am loving 30000 series from Kong.
DD-WRT-Nub
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 15:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000


Spectrum 30/3.5 with

QOS settings of:
28000/3400
HTB
FQ_Codel

DDWRT gets my desired speeds and straight A's on the dsl reports speedtest. I can saturate the line and still have a great browsing experience. I have tried tomato, merlin and stock fw with no luck. I am loving 30000 series from Kong.


Yup, for me QoS using HTB with FQ_Codel has been stable with past firmwares, but PIE Queueing Discipline is another story.
Tarv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 17:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
decompiled wrote:
Tarv wrote:
decompiled wrote:
Router: R7000
Firmware: Kong 30840

Upgraded, soft reboot.

Wired, wireless and QOS working as expected.

What is your max downstream from your ISP and are you limiting it in QoS? If your ISP provides > 100Mbps and you are using QoS, what do you speed test at?


Spectrum 30/3.5 with

QOS settings of:
28000/3400
HTB
FQ_Codel

DDWRT gets my desired speeds and straight A's on the dsl reports speedtest. I can saturate the line and still have a great browsing experience. I have tried tomato, merlin and stock fw with no luck. I am loving 30000 series from Kong.

Yeah, when I was running 60/6 from my ISP, my experience was the same as you described. I did not see this issue at all until i moved to 150/15.

The issue disappears when QoS is disabled. I see Kong mentioned a different WAN being the issue, but wouldn't this suggest otherwise?

My ISP provides a Hitron CGNM-2250 which is put into passthru to bypass their router.

_________________
Netgear R7000 - r37015M kongac
Netgear EX6200 - r37015M kongac
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum