Nighthawk X10 (R9000)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 45, 46, 47  Next
Author Message
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Kong- You need to revert the compat wireless on the R9000 build like you did for the R7800 and EA8500. Build 35945 won't allow iOS/bonjour to work after the timeout of ~5min. Not sure if you made the change in the following build on 5-26-18. But I'm not going to try it based on the feedback from Labo and others where wifi drops out.

Switching back to BS 35034 until someone else throws out a "better" build to use.
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7338
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
@Kong- You need to revert the compat wireless on the R9000 build like you did for the R7800 and EA8500. Build 35945 won't allow iOS/bonjour to work after the timeout of ~5min. Not sure if you made the change in the following build on 5-26-18. But I'm not going to try it based on the feedback from Labo and others where wifi drops out.

Switching back to BS 35034 until someone else throws out a "better" build to use.


theres a work around now https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1135297#1135297

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44082 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 22:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
theres a work around now https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1135297#1135297


So I cut and pasted "multicast_to_unicast=1" w/o quotes into both radio's custom cfg box and still no dice...
I tried reverting the R9000 all the way back to BS 34886 and still no dice...

Any other thoughts?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7338
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
sub r35927 and still having it, then r9000 is having a separate issue
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44082 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44085 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1382

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 0:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
theres a work around now https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1135297#1135297


So I cut and pasted "multicast_to_unicast=1" w/o quotes into both radio's custom cfg box and still no dice...
I tried reverting the R9000 all the way back to BS 34886 and still no dice...

Any other thoughts?


I replaced the wife's cranky Ipad with a detachable HP Chromebook. Smile

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
sub r35927 and still having it, then r9000 is having a separate issue


OK, I knew something didn't pass the sniff test so I went back and did a factory reset when I re-flashed 36330.

I then put in the "multicast_to_unicast=1" (with no quotes) in the wireless security custom config window and Viola....I now have working bonjour again. This means my Kodi and HP printer work again!

So, now I'll keep you guys posted on how 36330 runs.... it's been up for 2hrs so far and seems to be just fine. That said, I do reboot my router every night to make sure things don't linger.

Thank You Tatsuya!

@Kong-guess the workaround will have to do until a permanent fix is in place. No need to revert the compat wireless for now...
WNDR4300_66
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 0:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just curious has anyone been experiencing full hangs after about a week or so of uptime?

I have been running v3.0-r35452 std (03/20/1Cool until a few weeks ago when the X10 became completely unresponsive. I did a hard reboot and it worked fine for another week so and hung again. I upgraded to v3.0-r37961 std (12/12/1Cool and it seemed to be working fine until it hung again. I took a look though the logs but it seems like the UI only shows from the current startup.

Is there way I can enable log capture from the previous reboot to help troubleshoot this issue?

Is there a recommended software build that I should be using instead? Thanks.
yodog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 0:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just switched to Voxel... the UI is pure aids (since it's default netgears), but the reliability and the problem free connections with all my mobile devices and wifi network adapters is very nice for a change.

My one big complaint is there's not much adjustability with the firewall/nat filtering and when you select channel 100(DFS), it will automatically switch channels when radar is detected and it always defaults to channel 36 which is really crap compared to the usual channels 149, 153, 157, 161. DD-WRT just stays on channel 100 until I manually change it. But it's still worth it at the moment because I am not constantly trying to fix something.

Hopefully a good build will come about and I will definitely switch back, but after the no update via web GUI issue became widespread, and the multi cast to unicast "fix" thing, IMO DD-WRT for the R9000 just went downhill.

Anyone have any thoughts/comments?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5698
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use the Kong Build.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317746
yodog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Going to try the new Kong build 12/26. Funny, Brainslayer also released a version on the same date.


Which netgear-to-ddwrt firmware file to choose if upgrading from the netgear firmware? hmmm...
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
yodog wrote:
Going to try the new Kong build 12/26. Funny, Brainslayer also released a version on the same date.


Which netgear-to-ddwrt firmware file to choose if upgrading from the netgear firmware? hmmm...


Always use a Kong build on Netgear routers which he builds on/for for first time flash. Use the .IMG filename for stock to dd-wrt. Anything already running a dd-wrt firmware you flash a .BIN filename.
yodog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
yodog wrote:
Going to try the new Kong build 12/26. Funny, Brainslayer also released a version on the same date.


Which netgear-to-ddwrt firmware file to choose if upgrading from the netgear firmware? hmmm...


Always use a Kong build on Netgear routers which he builds on/for. For first time flash use the .IMG filename for anything already running a dd-wrt firmware you flash a .BIN filename.


Ok the route of Kong it is then! Voxels firmware is giving me weird problems with my Philips Hue motion sensors. I hope this Kong version is fast and stable!
Johnnyde94
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Mar 2012
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:09    Post subject: Frame Compression on Netgear X10 (R9000) on Kong build Reply with quote
Hello, there I have a question about frame compression on my Netgear X10 AKA R9000. I've looked through the WIki and generally around the internet but I can't find anything on Frame Compression. My options for frame compression are Disabled, LZO, LZ4, LZMA. Out of those options what would be the best setting for general streaming and gaming? Out of the options is one compression algorithm better than the rest? The CPU on the router is powerful so I don't think the increased CPU work would be a problem.

Thanks in Advance

PS: If someone could update the QCA wireless settings wiki with this information that would be helpful.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:59    Post subject: Re: Frame Compression on Netgear X10 (R9000) on Kong build Reply with quote
Johnnyde94 wrote:
Hello, there I have a question about frame compression on my Netgear X10 AKA R9000. I've looked through the WIki and generally around the internet but I can't find anything on Frame Compression. My options for frame compression are Disabled, LZO, LZ4, LZMA. Out of those options what would be the best setting for general streaming and gaming? Out of the options is one compression algorithm better than the rest? The CPU on the router is powerful so I don't think the increased CPU work would be a problem.

Thanks in Advance

PS: If someone could update the QCA wireless settings wiki with this information that would be helpful.


As best I know, Frame compression isn't working.
See Tatsuya46's second post.
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1147929&highlight=frame+compression#1147929

AND

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6286

to get the lowest possible latency:
Setup>Networking>Port Setup section and change all of the
TX Queue Length to 2 from 1000. This will help reduce a bunch of latency.

For more ambiguous info about frame compression see the link below and look at slide 54... TL/DL Seems like LZMA is the way to go, but if it's not working, why bother enabling it. Both the Router and device must support it....likely not going to happen. This seems like a future 802.11xx implementation to help with congested wifi spectrum, and LTE/cellular too...

https://www.slideshare.net/virendrauppalwar/design-of-efficient-mobile-femtocell-by-compression-and-aggregation-technology-in-cellular-network-63261975
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1126
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 18:33    Post subject: Messing around with Cores and IRQ's Reply with quote
I've been wanting to play around with moving around some IRQ's to different CPU cores for testing latency/throughput purposes.

Here are my findings so far...
There is no ETH0 interface. It appears BS has split up the ETH0 interface to "load balance" across all 4 cores of the CPU. The R9000 has 2 switches inside and the WAN is VLAN'd to the remaining ports...based on BS's comments back around page 5 and 8 of this particular thread. You'll see the funky labeling for the TX and RX ports...

This is what I see under cat /proc/interrupts:
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# cat /proc/interrupts
           CPU0       CPU1       CPU2       CPU3
 17:          0          0          0          0     GICv2  29 Level     arch_timer
 18:       5401       3658       3865       3085     GICv2  30 Level     arch_timer
 21:          0          0          0          0     GICv2  42 Level     timer
161:       1368          0          0          0     GICv2  53 Level     fd880000.i2c-pld
168:        522          0          0          0     GICv2  49 Level     serial
170:      24645          0          0          0     GICv2  33 Level     al-nand
220:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 134217728 Edge      aerdrv, PCIe PME
224:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 268435456 Edge      aerdrv, PCIe PME
225:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 402653184 Edge      aerdrv, PCIe PME
226:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 81923 Edge      al-dma-comp-0@pci:0000:00:05.0
227:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 81924 Edge      al-dma-comp-1@pci:0000:00:05.0
228:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 81925 Edge      al-dma-comp-2@pci:0000:00:05.0
229:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 81926 Edge      al-dma-comp-3@pci:0000:00:05.0
230:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 67587 Edge      al-crypto-comp-0@pci:0000:00:04.1
231:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 67588 Edge      al-crypto-comp-1@pci:0000:00:04.1
232:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 67589 Edge      al-crypto-comp-2@pci:0000:00:04.1
233:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 67590 Edge      al-crypto-comp-3@pci:0000:00:04.1
234:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 67586 Edge      al-crypto-interrupt-group-d@pci:0000:00
235:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 65539 Edge      al-crypto-comp-0@pci:0000:00:04.0
236:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 65540 Edge      al-crypto-comp-1@pci:0000:00:04.0
237:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 65541 Edge      al-crypto-comp-2@pci:0000:00:04.0
238:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 65542 Edge      al-crypto-comp-3@pci:0000:00:04.0
239:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 65538 Edge      al-crypto-interrupt-group-d@pci:0000:00
240:        552          0      16461          0      MSIx 135790592 Edge      ath10k_pci
241:        300          0          0      13766      MSIx 136314880 Edge      ath10k_pci
242:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 403177472 Edge      wil6210
243:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 16386 Edge      al-eth-msix-mgmt@pci:0000:00:01.0
244:       1982          0          0          0      MSIx 16387 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-0@pci:0000:00:01.0
245:          0       2631          0          0      MSIx 16388 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-1@pci:0000:00:01.0
246:          0          0       2027          0      MSIx 16389 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-2@pci:0000:00:01.0
247:          0          0          0       2784      MSIx 16390 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-3@pci:0000:00:01.0
248:       1371          0          0          0      MSIx 16391 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-0@pci:0000:00:01.0
249:          0       1177          0          0      MSIx 16392 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-1@pci:0000:00:01.0
250:          0          0       1332          0      MSIx 16393 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-2@pci:0000:00:01.0
251:          0          0          0       1158      MSIx 16394 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-3@pci:0000:00:01.0
252:          0          0          0          0      MSIx 49154 Edge      al-eth-msix-mgmt@pci:0000:00:03.0
253:        298          0          0          0      MSIx 49155 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-0@pci:0000:00:03.0
254:          0        320          0          0      MSIx 49156 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-1@pci:0000:00:03.0
255:          0          0        507          0      MSIx 49157 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-2@pci:0000:00:03.0
256:          0          0          0        542      MSIx 49158 Edge      al-eth-rx-comp-3@pci:0000:00:03.0
257:        523          0          0          0      MSIx 49159 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-0@pci:0000:00:03.0
258:        333          0          0          0      MSIx 49160 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-1@pci:0000:00:03.0
259:          0        737          0          0      MSIx 49161 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-2@pci:0000:00:03.0
260:          0          0          0        508      MSIx 49162 Edge      al-eth-tx-comp-3@pci:0000:00:03.0
IPI0:         0          1          0          0       CPU wakeup interrupts
IPI1:         0          0          0          0       Timer broadcast interrupts
IPI2:      2350       5878       3767       6549       Rescheduling interrupts
IPI3:      7134       1651        997       2724       Function call interrupts
IPI4:         0          0          0          0       CPU stop interrupts
IPI5:         0          0          0          0       IRQ work interrupts
IPI6:         0          0          0          0       completion interrupts
Err:          0



By Default, all three wifi's sit on Core 0.

Echo 1= Core 0
Echo 2= Core 1
Echo 4= Core 2
Echo 8= Core 3

I have moved IRQ 240 (I assume this is the 5ghz radio) to Echo 4 (Core 2) and IRQ 241 (I assume this is the 2.4ghz radio) to Echo 8 (Core 3).

Will see how she runs...

EDIT, looking at the above output, it also looks like BS hard coded IRQ 258 and 259 to the wrong cpu cores.

As a result, this is what I am running in my startup command right now:
Code:
echo 4 > /proc/irq/240/smp_affinity
echo 8 > /proc/irq/241/smp_affinity
echo 2 > /proc/irq/258/smp_affinity
echo 4 > /proc/irq/259/smp_affinity


Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# lspci
0000:00:00.0 Ethernet controller: Annapurna Labs Ltd. SFP+ 10G Ethernet Adapter (rev 01)
0000:00:01.0 Ethernet controller: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev 01)
0000:00:03.0 Ethernet controller: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev 01)
0000:00:04.0 Network and computing encryption device: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 0011 (rev 01)
0000:00:04.1 Network and computing encryption device: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 8011 (rev 01)
0000:00:05.0 System peripheral: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 0021 (rev 01)
0000:00:05.1 System peripheral: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 8021 (rev 01)
0001:00:00.0 PCI bridge: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 0031 (rev 01)
0001:01:00.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1182
0001:02:03.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1182
0001:02:07.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1182
0001:03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9984 802.11ac Wave 2 Wireless Network Adapter
0001:04:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9984 802.11ac Wave 2 Wireless Network Adapter
0002:00:00.0 PCI bridge: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 0031 (rev 01)
0002:01:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042A USB 3.0 Host Controller
0003:00:00.0 PCI bridge: Annapurna Labs Ltd. Device 0031 (rev 01)
0003:01:00.0 Network controller: Wilocity Ltd. Wil6200 802.11ad Wireless Network Adapter (rev 02)


_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43874 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 45, 46, 47  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 46 of 47
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum