Nighthawk X10 (R9000)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46, 47  Next
Author Message
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ WNDR4300_66,

Kong's latest build has a memory leak, so avoid it.
The latest 4/4/18 BS build also has issues. So please use Either 03/20 or 03/26 BS build.

What is your Mac model, if this is newer than 2014 then you should get connected @1300mbps. Your Mac now has connected using only 2 streams

Yes, I have WAN counter and SFE on. With this router you should get >900 <930 mbps based on the users report.

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
Sponsor
WNDR4300_66
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
labo wrote:
@ WNDR4300_66,

Kong's latest build has a memory leak, so avoid it.
The latest 4/4/18 BS build also has issues. So please use Either 03/20 or 03/26 BS build.

What is your Mac model, if this is newer than 2014 then you should get connected @1300mbps. Your Mac now has connected using only 2 streams

Yes, I have WAN counter and SFE on. With this router you should get >900 <930 mbps based on the users report.


The speed might be due to a non optimal location I was testing from. I see the mac reporting using 80Mhz. I did the VHT 80 as I thought you said not to do the VHT 160. Did I miss understand?

(Are you running IPv6 as well? I have that setup but I cannot seem to get the configured static DNS servers to show up for IPV6.) Figured this out...disabled raided and set it up via dnsmaq options.

For switching the BS build does that require a full flash or can I just "upgrade" to it?
D3FenD3r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 20:05    Post subject: udhcpc option 60 Reply with quote
I have netgear r9000
I removed the provider's router and put a mediaconverter
the provider releases the ip via dhcp.
via dhcpc option -v(vendor class) by hand works,
with an 8-hour lease, then it falls.

---> udhcpc -i brwan -V "askey_HW_ES1_SW_0.00.67 / dslforum.org"

where can I insert it starting alone and renew the lease?
kyle1519
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
WNDR4300_66 wrote:
I see that YaMon is being used by a few people. If I don't care about the per device traffic monitoring is the default WAN Traffic Counter okay to use with SFE enabled. Does it adversely effect the WAN / LAN thought put? Is there a reason to use YaMon that I am missing? Thanks.


If you don't care about per device traffic monitoring, I wouldn't see a real point in using YAMon. Up to you if you want to use it but keep in mind, you do need to disable SFE to use it for accurate reporting. Hope that helped!

WNDR4300_66 wrote:
Thanks for the information. Based on the feedback from current settings I will adapt / merge with yours.


Let me know what results you get from it!

WNDR4300_66 wrote:
When you switch over to the BS build did you do a full erase of the system or just a standard upgrade and keeping the existing configuration? I have been hit twice by the reboot issue so I am tempted to the move to 03-20 build as you have.


I did a full flash when I switched from Kong 3500M to BS 3/20. I've been using it for three weeks now with no issues at all. Happy I made the change because having my router restart randomly every 30 hours was very frustrating.

_________________
Modem: Arris SB8200
Router: R9000 (BS R35452 3/20/18 )
Switch: TP-Link TL-SG108 8 port Gigabit

Tested Routers to replace my WRT1900AC that was experiencing speed issue. (March 2018)

-WRT3200ACM - Probably ran the best out of the three but lots of reported issues on forum. Didn't want to keep it just in case.
-R7800 - Worked great after WAN interrupt tweak. Still liked the R9000 better since I didn't need to tweak it and performance was the same with LAN.
-R9000 - Ended up replacing previous router with this. Ran the best Wi-Fi out of the three without having to tweak anything. Beast of a router too!
ere109
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 76
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just read 15 pages to get caught up from where I last checked in (p.33). I had asked the question, and saw it posed once in the last 15 pages: IS SFP+ fully supported? My switch is SFP+, so I need that functionality before I can convert to DD-WRT for my R9000.
I need my router to be a stable daily driver. My wife expects flawless internet all the time... I never had this problem before I got married. I'll download the BS 3/20-26, but will probably hold off for a little longer - especially while waiting for an answer on SFP+. I'll flash one of my old routers to get familiar with new features.
In addition, I've gotten into FreeNAS, and it's been eating too much of my free time.
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
ere109 wrote:
IS SFP+ fully supported? My switch is SFP+, so I need that functionality before I can convert to DD-WRT for my R9000.

Yes, I have my server connected to it. I get around 6 to 7 Gbps. not 9+Gbps as it should.

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
s1mf3r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
really hoping for a new kong build soon since the latest one has a memleak and crashes randomly every other day
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1382

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
s1mf3r wrote:
really hoping for a new kong build soon since the latest one has a memleak and crashes randomly every other day


I keep a few previous builds on the pc to revert to when a buggy build shows up.

You can always load a BS build while you are waiting.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
DeXB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2017
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
For anyone struggling, previous Kong builds can be found here: https://www.myopenrouter.com/download
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 21:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
s1mf3r wrote:
really hoping for a new kong build soon since the latest one has a memleak and crashes randomly every other day

#metoo Wink
Hoping for Kong's build. His last build has memleak . Fortunately BS build now works ok.
I wish people who owns R9000 donate to both Kong and BS to get some traction on this best in class router.
I have done few times already. May be this month will donate again for both.

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
blackskull182
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

Don't update to the 04-20-2018-r35770! Just brick my R9000.

I've also tried to:
From r35667 to r35770 = brick;
From r35681 to r35770 = brick;
From factory to r35770 = brick.

No issue staying on the r35681.

Bye
WNDR4300_66
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
blackskull182 wrote:
Hi,

Don't update to the 04-20-2018-r35770! Just brick my R9000.

I've also tried to:
From r35667 to r35770 = brick;
From r35681 to r35770 = brick;
From factory to r35770 = brick.

No issue staying on the r35681.

Bye


Bricked or stoned? Wink

I am using the 3/20 build that was suggested by others and it is working like a charm.
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
WNDR4300_66 wrote:
blackskull182 wrote:
Hi,

Don't update to the 04-20-2018-r35770! Just brick my R9000.

I've also tried to:
From r35667 to r35770 = brick;
From r35681 to r35770 = brick;
From factory to r35770 = brick.

No issue staying on the r35681.

Bye


Bricked or stoned? Wink

I am using the 3/20 build that was suggested by others and it is working like a charm.


Easily recoverable by tftp flash (Kong's .img file)

_________________
ASUS RT-AX89X: Main gateway.
QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
Nighthawk SX10 10GbE Switch
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
Archer AX11000 WAP Bridge
2 X R7800 DD-WRT Mesh
2 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
Dodge DeBoulet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 12:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
@labo, how extensive was your testing with BS' 35831? A few of the recent dd-wrt builds have been broken for the R9000 and I've stayed with Voxel's firmware.

Key requirements for me are solid 2.4/5GHz and wired Ethernet functionality, DDNS (via No-IP), DHCP reservations, VPN server, and port forwarding. I don't care about the 60GHz radio or SFP ports (at least yet).

Upgrading (and of course downgrading) is a pain in the butt for me as the R9000 supports multiple households. If I was the only one impacted I wouldn't hesitate to test it myself.

Thanks in advance ...
yodog
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 17:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm on Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35681 std (04/06/1Cool and it's pretty good. Sometimes it feels like the internet is slow/hangs up. But every time I've ever done a test via speedtest.net it's always fast.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46, 47  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 45 of 47
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum