Nighthawk X10 (R9000)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 51, 52, 53  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
janthony6 wrote:
Since I'm still on it, has anybody gotten 80, 160, or 80+80 mode to work for 5ghz?

When on, none of my devices see it.


The channel list is incorrect it displays lots of invalid channel combos.


it is, i been trying... Smile

also 80+80 seems to demand that the +80 part is always on channel 149~161, is it possible that we can have the +80 part on a lower? like i set primary to 149+UU (149+155), for first 80 MHz, & second part is 36+UU etc? cause of this i cant use 80+80, since it forces last half to upper 5 ghz band as i have to use a channel like 100, 36 etc (also have lower tx power on client device side) as my smart tv (32LB5800-UG) only accepts channels 36~48, 149~165 no dfs channels at all.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Sponsor
mrstimpy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 16:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried too, and it works...

I don't know if it is just a coincidence, but I did a factory reset beforehand as none of my devices would work on VHT160 mode. Then I did the FR and it would work, but I also did made some changes on the wireless channels from the auto default. In my case using #36 with UU ext. delivered the best results.

I started having really AWESOME speeds, same speeds I used to have on my ASUS AC87U. Currently getting TX 1170M/RX 877M average, super stable on my best client(TP-Link T9E adapter).

Had to go on a low channel due to the channel limitation on the nVidia Shields. But so far this rocks!

BTW, newbie question, I need to define a port-forwarding range of ports, do I need to use the separate tab for it? I am asking cause I have single port-forwardings defined and they do work but, when I defined a range-forwarding for Passive FTP it is failing on the MLSD command while retrieving the directory listing. I have read around and it seems to be related to lack of proper forwarding of the passive ports. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
janthony6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
got it working by changing channels. both 160 and 80+80 seem to work. I'm using iPhone 7 and the new MacBook Pro's. They are connecting to both.

What is better 160 or 80+80? What channels are you using? 160 works with 36 and UUU. 80+80 works with 140 and UL or UU.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
see this ticket http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5699#comment:24 im still trying to convince brainslayer about correct channels.

in detail, see this .txt file, i list all the valid & invalid vht80 channels for 802.11ac http://svn.dd-wrt.com/attachment/ticket/5699/ath10k%20channels%20ALL.txt

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
janthony6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
80+80 with 132 and UU seems to give me the best speeds. All my 5ghz devices connect to it and are very fast. under 160 I noticed my MBP's connect to it while my iPhone's stay on the 2.4.

Speed with my iPhone 7 with 80+80 is as good or better than my stock firmware. Getting 373.61 down and 411.35 up.

Anybody know of a good VPN for torrenting that can support gigabit ethernet speeds? I tried ExpressVPN and all of it's servers in LA. All were were poor connections.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
janthony6 wrote:
80+80 with 132 and UU seems to give me the best speeds. All my 5ghz devices connect to it and are very fast. under 160 I noticed my MBP's connect to it while my iPhone's stay on the 2.4.

Speed with my iPhone 7 with 80+80 is as good or better than my stock firmware. Getting 373.61 down and 411.35 up.

Anybody know of a good VPN for torrenting that can support gigabit ethernet speeds? I tried ExpressVPN and all of it's servers in LA. All were were poor connections.


probably cause of best noise etc, u dont have any vht160 or 80+80 devices, i dont either, they are still rare. usually 149+ is best cause of higher tx power, not just from the router, but from vendor devices too.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
janthony6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
31571 is out....but it doesn't seem to be in the r9000 folder.
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 673
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got my second R9000. Tried to interconect as repeater WDS-AP -> WDS-STA using WiGig AD radio but not working.
The radio is now on with the latest firmware which is good news but TX Power shows up as 0dBm so not transmitting at all? don't know.

Good news is other radios, 5Ghz & 2.4Ghz I can set up as WDS repeater and works great. I got a throguhput of 364Mbits/sec
between two PCs connected to each R9000. This is the best I could get. I'm hoping to Gigabits/sec level once the AD radio works.
Thanks a lot BS! pretty to close to production release.

_________________
1 X R7800: Main gateway( r39855M kongat (05/25/19)
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
1 X R7800 Mesh
2 X R9000 Mesh
1 X R8000: Repeater bridge
1 X R8500: Client bridge (RB doesn't work on R8500)
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
After assigning IP addresses to the 60G radios and adding entries to the ARP tables in both routers, the 60G radio configured as a STA can successfully ping the 60G radio configured as an AP. However, when the AP pings the STA, the STA receives the ping but doesn't answer. Also noticed that the STA is unbridged from BR0. Attempting to add it to BR0 produces a "not supported" error message.

Update1:

root@R9000RT2:~# ./usr/bin/strace -v brctl addif br0 giwifi
execve("/usr/sbin/brctl", ["brctl", "addif", "br0", "giwifi"], ["SSH_CLIENT=192.168.18.128 35120 "..., "USER=root", "LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/lib:/usr/lib:/j"..., "SHLVL=1", "HOME=/tmp/root", "SSH_TTY=/dev/pts/0", "PS1=\\[\\033[01;31m\\]\\u@\\h\\[\\033[0"..., "LOGNAME=root", "TERM=xterm", "PATH=/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sb"..., "SHELL=/bin/sh", "PWD=/tmp/root", "SSH_CONNECTION=192.168.18.128 35"..., "TZ=EST5EDT,M3.2.0,M11.1.0"]) = 0
set_tls(0xb6f63750, 0xbe9acac0, 0x4909c8a8, 0, 0xb6f636a8) = 0
set_tid_address(0xb6f636c4) = 16076
open("/lib/libgcc_s.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
fcntl64(3, F_SETFD, FD_CLOEXEC) = 0
fstat64(3, {st_dev=makedev(31, 5), st_ino=1127, st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_nlink=1, st_uid=0, st_gid=0, st_blksize=1024, st_blocks=775, st_size=396612, st_atime=2017-03-07T20:48:21-0500, st_mtime=2017-03-07T20:48:21-0500, st_ctime=2017-03-07T20:48:21-0500}) = 0
read(3, "\177ELF\1\1\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0(\0\1\0\0\0\210;\0\0004\0\0\0"..., 936) = 936
mmap2(NULL, 106496, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE, 3, 0) = 0xb6ed7000
mmap2(0xb6ef0000, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED, 3, 0x9000) = 0xb6ef0000
close(3) = 0
socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, IPPROTO_IP) = 3
socket(AF_UNIX, SOCK_DGRAM|SOCK_CLOEXEC, 0) = 4
ioctl(4, SIOCGIFINDEX, {ifr_name="giwifi", }) = 0
close(4) = 0
ioctl(3, SIOCBRADDIF) = -1 EOPNOTSUPP (Not supported)
ioctl(3, SIOCDEVPRIVATE, 0xbe9acc04) = -1 EOPNOTSUPP (Not supported)
writev(2, [{iov_base="can't add giwifi to bridge br0: "..., iov_len=46}, {iov_base=NULL, iov_len=0}], 2can't add giwifi to bridge br0: Not supported
) = 46
exit_group(1) = ?
+++ exited with 1 +++

- Magnetron1.1


Last edited by Magnetron1.1 on Thu Mar 09, 2017 19:44; edited 1 time in total
janthony6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm really liking dd-wrt now.

I've noticed that I get better speeds using HT160 instead of 80+80. I'm using 128 LLL for HT160. On Speedtest I got 375 down and 420 up. Does the +80 not work in the other mode because of the issue with channels? Also is 80+80 better than full 160 if it works?

Also, I finally figured out my correct IPv6 settings. Is anybody using dnsmasq with IPv6. If so, what's the code?
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6868
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
some news:

Linux DD-WRT 4.9.13 #17 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 8 00:16:54 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6868
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
testbuild using 4.9 kernel. might be interesting to know if it improves network performance in some way
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
janthony6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
when installing updates, do I just use the web version every time or do I always need to install the factory one first?
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6868
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
just the web version. factory to ddwrt is only? guess what. for upgrading from factory firmwares (or using the recovery mode)
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7244
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you on factory firmware every time you flash it?
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 51, 52, 53  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 15 of 53
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum