Nighthawk X10 (R9000)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 51, 52, 53  Next
Author Message
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong,
many of us would be interested in seeing how you implement content controls.
Do you plan on rolling it out in the builds for the R7000?

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4354
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
slidermike wrote:
Kong,
many of us would be interested in seeing how you implement content controls.
Do you plan on rolling it out in the builds for the R7000?


It can be installed through opkg on all of the routers I support I do not intend to integrate it to the build for now, as I'm still playing with it and you can play a lot:-).

See: http://e2guardian.org/

Have not uploaded the updated package though. I made a block template for it that macthes our privoxy template and customized the configs to work with dd-wrt.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong,
has Netgear sent you the new router yet for testing?
Also, once you get it we would be interested in hearing if you prefer it or the R7800.
Last time I read a comparison by you a couple months ago I believe you said teh R7800 was a great router.
Im still using the R7000 in AP mode. Repurposed an old pc sitting around the house with Sophos UTM as the router/firewall.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
ironmanlok
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
both R7800 and R9000 have good hardware, both have better CPU than anemic cortex A9 used in most arm routers (including R7000 and R8500)

AFAIK the only problem are atheros open source drivers, which looks kinda bad according to R7800 thread on atheros forums

the only thing preventing me from upgrading my R7000 to a R7800 (and probably R9000 too) is the lack of stability from ddwrt (or even lede/openwrt) due to those drivers
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7052
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
ironmanlok wrote:
both R7800 and R9000 have good hardware, both have better CPU than anemic cortex A9 used in most arm routers (including R7000 and R8500)

AFAIK the only problem are atheros open source drivers, which looks kinda bad according to R7800 thread on atheros forums

the only thing preventing me from upgrading my R7000 to a R7800 (and probably R9000 too) is the lack of stability from ddwrt (or even lede/openwrt) due to those drivers


ath10k for qca9984 in the r7800 is better now, im probably the one making the most noise about problems as usual, its biggest problem, the stuck beacons after a few hrs from boot is fixed since mid sept, the radio hangs/crash on sustained high throughput have reduced as well. most of the rest of the problems are in ddwrt (wrong displayed tx rate always 97M, qos, missing vht80+80 etc), its said k4.4 or k4.9 would be much better for ipq but its still on 3.18

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150/4GB ------> Pending
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
psychopomp1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Kong
How soon will a DD-WRT build be released for the R9000? I'd be more than happy to contribute towards your project... Smile

@Mods
Not sure why this thread is in the 'Broadcom' section, perhaps it should be in the 'Atheros' section as the router uses mainly QCA hardware + Annapurna CPU? (I believe same 2.4ghz & 5ghz QCA radios as R7800)

Cheers
Psycho
psychopomp1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any update on a DD-WRT build?
psychopomp1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bump! Any update?
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 263
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 13:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
psychopomp1 wrote:
Bump! Any update?

Bump?

Folow this repository http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/ donate to developers and don't "bump" a thread with no sense comments Smile
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
If one of the users in a hurry for a R9000 build would send a R9000 to Kong for his collection he would happily finish the port and test it.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 5 R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7052
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
expect buggy qca firmwares and drivers for wigig...if theres even a firmware available yet. and remember, 802.11d has SHIT range, put a sheet of paper between the router ull probably drop signal...
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150/4GB ------> Pending
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41074 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
If one of the users in a hurry for a R9000 build would send a R9000 to Kong for his collection he would happily finish the port and test it.


I don't have an R9000 but I do have contacts at Netgear. I think Kong does, too, but if I'm mistaken in that and you want an introduction, Kong, send me a PM and I'm happy to do it.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4354
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
R9000 support is possible, all drivers, radio firmwares are available. But since the Netgear GPL release does not really follow the Openwrt standards ,on how the support is integrated, it is more work than usual.

Since a lot of existing core code in the kernel needs to be touched it would be better if BS adds the basics as he can test changes against already supported units that share these code parts.

And I'm looking into code for a VDSL modem right now, since I'm about to switch from ADSL to VDSL, thus do not want to spent so much time porting the R9000.

I already asked my netgear contact if they can also send BS an R9000, but I have no update on this.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
jonathanm1978
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you do get one (or BS), can you update in this thread whether they've added a fan to it?

The unit I have does NOT contain a fan, but in the firmware, you can find that there are parameter for a fan to be set (in the /debug.html at the very bottom)...
As seen here:
psychopomp1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
^^^ That's strange, my R9000 came with a big fan which is clearly visible through the vents. AFAIK every R9000 comes with a fan, maybe you need to RMA it & get a replacement.

Also the fan only comes on when a certain temperature is reached.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 51, 52, 53  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 53
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum