Linksys e8350, Netgear R7500, Asus AC87U Progress.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 17:04    Post subject: Linksys e8350, Netgear R7500, Asus AC87U Progress. Reply with quote
Hi...
All this routers have same Quantenna QSR1000 5GHz chip.
I have e8350 as I can see it's not supported by dd-wrt cause of Quantenna. There is build for Netgear R7500 what is working good except 5Ghz part.
And also there exist Asus AC87U build that is working fine
and it has Quantenna supported as I understood from forum topic. Maybe someone can explain me why Quantenna part from AC87u can't be ported to R7500 and e8350.
Thanks.
Sponsor
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
To add some info...
basically to use it wee need 4 packages(drivers)
qdpc-host
qca-nss-drv
qca-nss-gmac
qcsapi(qcsapi_sockrpc, qcsapi_pcie, qevt_client)

That can be theoretically borrowed from AC87U .
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
qtn is such shit the devs dont want anything to do with them, nor do oems. thats why replacement routers & v2's etc (r7500) dropped them. dont hope for it & just go for a supported unit like ac-88u/r7500 v2/r7800 etc. ac-87u's qtn radio doesnt work fine, its littered with problems, it hardly functions. broadcom, & qualcomm atheros & even MEDIATEK, can take the biggest shit possible on their radio firmwares & drivers, & still be squeaky clean compared to quantenna.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I already have this router so I wanted to do at least something with it...I know the guy from openwrt community ILOVEPIE compiled everything needed for it, but nobody where interested in that time so there was no release...basically it's not that hard to do it but I'm far from that level...
And we are not changing QSR firmware but simply making bridge between it and main software and this qdpc-host(https://github.com/zhangjingye03/qdpc-host) already exists so we need only wifi part qcsapi(https://github.com/Noltari/qcsapi) then we'll have fully functioning firmware with some basic 5Ghz AC support... that is not so bad...
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7644

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is an never ending line of people who can't do things themselves but nevertheless knows how easy it is to do those things..

dd-wrt won't be ported to E8350 without one of the developers getting a hardware sample to test on.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Later I would try to do it myself but I would need to do it from scratch that will take much more time then having working preconfigured environment adding for example as target 8500 and qsp packages from 87U. Maybe in reality it is much harder I never tried it with ddwrt only openwrt.
In any case if I'll have any progress I'll keep you posted.
Thx.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
-=xxx=- wrote:
Later I would try to do it myself but I would need to do it from scratch that will take much more time then having working preconfigured environment adding for example as target 8500 and qsp packages from 87U. Maybe in reality it is much harder I never tried it with ddwrt only openwrt.
In any case if I'll have any progress I'll keep you posted.
Thx.


Our code for the 87U won't get you anywhere, the qtn radio in the R7500v1 is integrated differently it uses a different firmware, needs a kernel module + is configured differently. Thus involves quite some work, would be specific for a single unit and therefore add additional complexity which is not worth it if we can only add support for one more unit.

Quantenna brewed their own stuff here not following the linux standard for wireless.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 18:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for information, it's really useful, routers world got much more complicated then it was before.
Maybe you know difference between R7500v1 and 8350 do they have same software and hardware structure, source code from 7500 is fully compatible with 8350 ?
This Quantenna made lot of mess...
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 23:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I made GLP code request Linksys provided http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/gpl/E8350_v1.0.02.009.tar.gz
compiled firmware uploaded to router not it is dead...
If someone can help me to recover it it would be great:
I stuck in u-boot:
Code:

U-Boot 2012.07-svn65 [local,local] (Sep 11 2015 - 09:46:52)

CyberTan U-Boot Version: v1.0

smem ram ptable found: ver: 0 len: 5
DRAM:  491 MiB
NAND:  SF: Detected MX25U3235F with page size 64 KiB, total 4 MiB
ipq_spi: page_size: 0x100, sector_size: 0x10000, size: 0x400000
132 MiB
In:    serial
Out:   serial
Err:   serial
cdp: get part failed for rootfs
Net:   MAC1 addr:0:3:7f:ba:db:1
athrs17_reg_init: complete
athrs17_vlan_config ...done
S17 inits done
MAC2 addr:0:3:7f:ba:db:2
eth0
Warning: eth0 MAC addresses don't match:
Address in SROM is         00:03:7f:ba:db:01
Address in environment is  b4:75:0e:c2:aa:f3
, eth1
Warning: eth1 MAC addresses don't match:
Address in SROM is         00:03:7f:ba:db:02
Address in environment is  00:06:3b:01:41:01

Hit any key to stop autoboot:  0
Device 1: nand1... is now current device
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "nand0":
0x000000000000-0x000004000000 : "mtd=0"
UBI: attaching mtd2 to ubi0
UBI: physical eraseblock size:   131072 bytes (128 KiB)
UBI: logical eraseblock size:    126976 bytes
UBI: smallest flash I/O unit:    2048
UBI: VID header offset:          2048 (aligned 2048)
UBI: data offset:                4096
UBI error: compare_lebs: PEB 118 and PEB 119 have the same version 0
UBI error: ubi_init: cannot attach mtd2
UBI error: ubi_init: UBI error: cannot initialize UBI, error -22
UBI init error 22
(IPQ) #
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
u really didnt even read any of ur replies u got did u...

try tftping stock fw..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
-=xxx=-
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I read everything, but I didn't like how it works in 5ghz wifi so at least I can experiment with it ...
standart commands for tftp don't work.
setenv image flash.img
setenv ipaddr 192.168.1.1
setenv serverip 192.168.1.2
run flashimg
pimpdout
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 0:32    Post subject: Help Reply with quote
I have an e8400 and it had a bad flash. This is not dd-wrt related even tho I wish I could load it I'm just trying to get the linksys firmware loaded onto it.

I'm connected to the board and have access to shell and a ipq prompt.
I can run tftpboot with the variables and it will download an image but does nothing with it.
'help' command doesn't work either.
"flashimg" says "not defined".

I'm stuck and hoping someone out there can help me get his thing back up.

I attached the log if anyone can help.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5895
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:00    Post subject: Re: Help Reply with quote
pimpdout wrote:
I have an e8400 and it had a bad flash. This is not dd-wrt related even tho I wish I could load it I'm just trying to get the linksys firmware loaded onto it.

I'm connected to the board and have access to shell and a ipq prompt.
I can run tftpboot with the variables and it will download an image but does nothing with it.
'help' command doesn't work either.
"flashimg" says "not defined".

I'm stuck and hoping someone out there can help me get his thing back up.

I attached the log if anyone can help.


stop the bootload in uboot and when get IPQ prompt you should be able get something from
help
You need to see what its ubootenv is and go from there.... don't remember off hand probably
printenv

You will need to load the original Linksys firmware for that router...
https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=205533

Should be able to load it via TFTP thru ethernet using serial control somewhat like the EA8500 --
http://mrjcd.com/EA8500_DD-WRT/
but you need to look at its ubootenv see whats what .... probably have some crazy 'name' you can use for the firmware that will work better.
'bout all I know to tell you

iffin the uboot is broken then ---- sorry but in that case I would prolly just get a real router.
pimpdout
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:18    Post subject: Re: Help Reply with quote
uboot could be broken I suppose. I can get tftpboot to work but no other commands in that guide work.

(IPQ) # run flashimg

## Error: "flashimg" not defined

help gives me "Unknown command 'help' - try 'help'"
That doesn't seem good lol

I bought this for $20 on eBay thinking I could fix it.. hah
Oh well, thanks. Seems this thing is dead.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5895
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could probably fix it but you still wouldn't have much.
Looking at the log it would seem someone shot some fly-by-firmware to it that didn't agree with the Linksys unit.

This is a more involved than what you'll find in these forums.

I really suggest you find a dd-wrt supported router to play with Very Happy
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum