Set Up As Repeater

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
jo15765
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 17:18    Post subject: Set Up As Repeater Reply with quote
I have just flashed DDWRT v24-sp2 onto my Netgear WNDR4300 v1. I have a Netgear WNDR4300 v2 set-up as my primary router, with IP Range is 192.168.5.XXX and Security is WPA-PSK [AES].

Question I have is, how would I set-up my DDWRT router as a Repeater so that I can hardwire it into my v2?

Also - can I use the same SSID since I am setting it up as a repeater?
Sponsor
jo15765
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found this article here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

that states to set Wireless Mode : Repeater Bridge but I only see these options:
AP
Client
Client Bridged (routed)
Adhoc
WDS Station
WDS AP

Which one should I set my DDWRT router as?

Further router info is:
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061
Kernel Version Linux 3.8.4 #62 Mon Mar 25 10:06:25 CET 2013 mips
js1662
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2014
Posts: 1237
Location: BC, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Check the first sticky at the top of the Atheros forum!
jo15765
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
js1662 wrote:
Check the first sticky at the top of the Atheros forum!

I followed these settings and plugged an ethernet cable from ethernet4 into ethernet4 of DDWRT router. I am now able to hardwire in devices, but the wireless does not appear to be broadcasting. Did I miss a step (see screenshots below to support wireless not broadcasting and both SSID have 123 appended to the end altho the screenshot only shows one, got trigger happy)?

Tut I followed:
Setup > Basic setup:
Connection Type : Automatic Configuration DHCP (because my primary access point use DHCP)
STP: Disable (don't know why)
Router Name : Whatever you want..i used Repeater
Router IP:
Local IP Address: 192.168.1.120 (because my main router assign number from .100 to .150)
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0 (The same of main router)
Gateway: 192.168.1.254 (The same of main router)
Local DNS: 192.168.1.254 (The same of main router)
Network Address Server Settings (DHCP)
DHCP Type= DHCP Server (I will assign ip also to laptop connected wireless or wired to fonera)
Start ip address: 192.168.1.200 (I could use also from .151 because from .100 to .150 are used by my main router)
Maximum DHCP Users: 44 (Because 192.168.1.254 is used by my main router)

Setup>Advanced Routing:
Operating mode: Rip2 Router

Wireless > Basic settings
Regulatory Domain: (ITALY)
Wireless Mode: Client Bridge (Don't worry..You will use ath0 for client bridge and a virtual interface for accept also WIFI users in fonera)
Wireless Network Name: Net (the same as main router)
Virtual Interfaces (add one):
Wireless Network Name(SSID): Net2 (u can write whatever u want..like Net helper LOL)
Wireless Mode: AP

Wireless > Wireless Security (U will be surprised to see the possibility to configure protection also for virtualinterface)
Wireless Security (ath0)
Security Mode (WPA Personal) (the same kind of the main router)
WPA Algorithms: TKIP (the same of main router)
WPA Shared Key: pippo (the same passphrase of the main router)
Virtual Interfaces (ath1)
Security Mode: WPA Personal (U can choose the kind of protection u want..I used the same kind of protection because i prefer WPA)
WPA Algorithms: TKIP
WPA Shared Key: pluto

Status>Wireless>Site Survey>Join to the SSID of main router for connect fonera (and estabilish the client bridge)
danymarc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 525
Location: Acapulco, Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try the old wiki, the only dif is instead of Auto use Manual
Follow above instructions above from Broadcom except:
6. Open the Wireless -> Basic Settings tab
Physical Interface Section
Wireless Mode : Client Bridge (routed)
Default Gateway Mode : Manual
Gateway : Point to Gateway for network, usually IP of primary router
Wireless Network Mode : Must Match Primary Router
Wireless Network Name(SSID) : Must Match Primary Router exactly including exact case- Make sure you spell this correctly
Wireless Channel : Must Match Primary Router (This will disappear once you put it in RB mode, and isn't needed)
Wireless SSID Broadcast : Enable
Network Configuration : Bridged
Save
Virtual Interfaces Section
Add
Wireless Network Name(SSID) : Same as the primary router (v24SP2 I have not had any problems with signal dropping)
[NOTE] - You CAN try using the same SSID but it usually will not work properly. Many have had random disconnects and/or no connection if the SSID's are the same.
Wireless SSID Broadcast : Enable
Save

_________________
TP-Link: TL-WR741ND V4
TP-Link: TL-WR842ND V2
jo15765
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
@danymarc

THANK YOU for the tip on Default Gateway Mode : Manual!!!


For the Virtual Network name - same SSID as primary router. For my 2.4 GHZ or 5 GHZ network SSID?

Also, if I am going to set the ath0 and ath1 as the 2.4GHZ name and 5.0 GHZ name respectively, will that interfere with the name that I give my Virtual Network Name?
jo15765
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Should I see a second instance of the SSID when I look at my wireless networks? (if I have the SSID the same)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum