Linksys WRE54G Range Expander broadcom FOUND!! Runs LINUX!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
akcam2006
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:20    Post subject: help Reply with quote
I used the very well written procedures from there: http://jozerworx.com/tutorials/wre54g/default.htm
It was after completing step 8 in section 4 using “dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin” that the device stopped responding.

I have tried using the following pin outs from page two of this forum but they do not seem to be working.

O O O O left to right: +3.3v +3.3v grnd grnd
O O O O O ttyS0 output, unknown, unknown, ttyS0 input, unknown

I’ll recheck my solders and give it another try to see what happens.
Thanks for trying to help.
Sponsor
dvlad666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry if thais offends you, but
Are you sure you used proper RS232 device? I.e. the one that's working and has 3.3-5v levels. WRE is not capable of communicating directly with PC's COM port!
akcam2006
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope not offended at all and yep I am sure. I used the same setup on a couple of my other projects and it worked perfectly.

I just checked all my solders and everything seems to be correct yet when I run hyperterminal and get everything fired up nothing is received.
dvlad666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you played with bitrate/stop/parity bits?
Afaik that should be 9600 and not any flow control
akcam2006
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep, I have played with just about every setting I could think of. Please keep the questions comming I'm sure you will ask one I have tried.
gallo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 140
Location: Spring Hill, Fl

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:40    Post subject: i definetly need help unbricking my wre54g v1 Reply with quote
i have a serial connector port that i want to solder in place on the wre54g and i have an older laptop with a db9 connector on it so i can hook up the wre54g. my first question is the orientation of the connector that i am placing on the pcb. i looked at the beginning of this thread but am having a hard time figuring it out. next step is after i add the serial port and connect it to the laptop what do i do to reflash the original firmware back in to try and get it back to life. can someone please post a very detailed explaination or point me in some direction that has all the info.
Please help.
TIA.
tech_fox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Having read this topic I am a bit confused.
Has it been possible to connect using the internal connections and reflash the WRE54G.
I have a bricked WRE54G V1 as a result of applying the files listed in the database for this model.

I am keeping my fingers crossed.
SparksCapone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
dvlad666 or akcam2006,
Did you ever manage to get your unit unbricked?

I am in a similar situation, followed the guide made by Jozer99, had the initial DD-WRT file flashed and running, then updated to the recommended dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic 14896 build recommended in the database at http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/Linksys/WRE54G/1/dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin/3746

After the 30/30/30 reset the router was bricked. I tried additional resets to make sure, but nothing helped.

I have since "serial-ed" into the router and get the following:

CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: Mon Apr 12 17:57:52 CST 2004 (vlinux@Test)
Copyright (C) 2000,2001,2002,2003 Broadcom Corporation.

Initializing Arena.
Initializing Devices.
et0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 3.50.21.0
CPU type 0x29007: 200MHz
Total memory: 0x2000000 bytes (32MB)

Total memory used by CFE: 0x8032BA00 - 0x80430F00 (1070336)
Initialized Data: 0x8032BA00 - 0x8032DB50 (8528)
BSS Area: 0x8032DB50 - 0x8032EF00 (5040)
Local Heap: 0x8032EF00 - 0x8042EF00 (1048576)
Stack Area: 0x8042EF00 - 0x80430F00 (8192)
Text (code) segment: 0x80300000 - 0x80309420 (37920)
Boot area (physical): 0x00431000 - 0x00471000
Relocation Factor: I:00000000 - D:00000000

Device eth0: hwaddr 00-90-4C-60-04-00, ipaddr 192.168.1.245, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Boot program checksum is invalid
Reading :: Failed.: Error
CFE> ^C
CFE>

I have cleared the NVRAM area several times and rebooted with the same outcome.

I have read the Peacock thread, and the Serial Recovery page ( http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery )
but since this unit does not have an Ethernet port, I am unable to get tftp to connect.

I have also read the CFE pdf file at
http://melbourne.wireless.org.au/files/wrt54/cfe.pdf
and it seems there should be a way to use the Flash or possibly the Load command to write a new firmware.

So my questions are:
Is it possible to send the firmware to the router over the serial connection using CFE? If so, how?

If not, does anyone know how to either add an Ethernet jack to this unit, or possibly an SD card hooked to the GPIO ports?

I tried to find a pinout for the BCM4712 to see how hard this would be, but all I can seem to find is the 2 page product press release.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance!
desiromeo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Suburbs

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys, i was fortunate enough due to forgetting to do the 30/30/30 reset after flashing 14896, that i still have my wre54g working....though it doesnt seem to be very stable...I read on the wiki that:
Quote:
The revision 1 hardware is very similar to a WRT54GS without the Ethernet switch, and can run most generic Broadcom builds under 2MB (after the initial flashing).


So was wondering if i should try to flash the more stable 14929 build on this and hoping it doesn't brick...Can anyone confirm this could be done since its still below 2mb(the micro version obv)...any ideas?

I really dont want to brick it...

_________________
ASUS RT-AC68U [Kong build 24850] = main router
Linksys E2000 [Build 15962M NEWD-2 K2.6 big] = client bridge
desiromeo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Suburbs

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 23:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
bazzoola wrote:
Just an update:

I noticed that the web server is not accessible after a while.
I telnet to the Range Extender and ran ps
I noticed that httpd is running but I can't connect
Sometimes it works again by itself. Otherwise I have to restart the Extender to get it back up.


I get this same exact problem with 14896 on it right now with the unit at both 200mhz and 252mhz...

_________________
ASUS RT-AC68U [Kong build 24850] = main router
Linksys E2000 [Build 15962M NEWD-2 K2.6 big] = client bridge
desiromeo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Suburbs

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 22:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried running a micro version past 14896???
_________________
ASUS RT-AC68U [Kong build 24850] = main router
Linksys E2000 [Build 15962M NEWD-2 K2.6 big] = client bridge
rchadwick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey Everyone. I followed the Jozerworx tutorial pretty much exactly, and I now have build 13064. The web server seemed to keep crashing, but I increased the CPU from 200MHz to the next highest notch, and it seems more stable now. A few questions for those that know:

1) What's the best build for this? I used the build Jozerworx used (13064), as I figured that would work. Should I stick with it?

2) Do I have to do anything in NVRAM to tell DD-WRT about the lights and reset button?
desiromeo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Suburbs

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could try 14896 from the router database...might be more stable...but DO NOT do the 30/30/30 reset after or you will brick your router like everyone else...or you can be a real trooper and try 14929 micro generic and let me know how it goes...lol.

Im running 14896 @ 252mhz and after a while im unable to reach the webgui but am still able to reach any webpage i want...so its still functional so i dont care too much, just cant reach the webgui for a while. But that happened even running @ 200mhz if not more...

_________________
ASUS RT-AC68U [Kong build 24850] = main router
Linksys E2000 [Build 15962M NEWD-2 K2.6 big] = client bridge
rchadwick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 5:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the response. Actually, I did the 30/30/30... Guess I was just lucky. The Web GUI is disappearing on me as well, but it's really annoying me. I thought raising the frequency did it. It helped, but it still happens. Must be something with the WRE instead of the firmware. Weird.
rchadwick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I haven't bricked it yet, but I can't configure it either. In the process of setting it up to be a repeater, at some point it freezes, and the only way I can get it back is to hold the reset button for 10 seconds, which resets everything back to defaults. I guess I'll have to try 14896.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum