WRT1200AC v2 Question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
b3_c00L
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 19:41    Post subject: WRT1200AC v2 Question Reply with quote
I purchased WRT1200AC v2 and I was wondering if someone can help me locate the best DD-WRT firmware for the router. Is WRT1200AC v2 supported?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsor
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 19:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
In my opinion Kong's builds are the best. He tests before posting so you can be pretty sure that it will work. Grab the factory to dd-wrt.img file for your router. He has the router model in the file name. Flash through the Linksys UI and have fun.

Link to Kong's in case you do not know:

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-MVEBU/

--bill

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
b3_c00L
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the follow up. I am a bit confused as I was at the link that you provided but the img file appears to be for wrt1200ac but not for v2.

Do you think that that is a problem?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7208
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
My mistake.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.


Last edited by Malachi on Mon Jul 18, 2016 23:11; edited 1 time in total
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 22:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I almost linked the same malachi, he has the 1200ac v2 though, not the 1900. Not sure we have any official support yet for the 1900acsv2 or 1200acv2

Last edited by cybrnook on Wed Jul 20, 2016 19:39; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7208
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oops. I thought maybe he made a mistake and assumed he meant wrt1900ac v2.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
PhobMX
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well if it helps, I think I mistakingly flashed WRT1900ACv2 v3.0-r27700 std into my WRT1200ACv2. I noticed random reboots under load (12 devices) so I'm trying to go back to stock.

Note this is a mistake so if you love ddwrt so much and still want to go ahead don't hold me responsible. I'm 100% sure I have a WRT1200ACv2 as verified in the model and version below the device, besides I was too cheap to pay the extra $50 to get the WRT1900AC lol...

I noticed of my stupidity after trying to restore to the stock firmware and just getting DDWRT back after the firmware upgrade reboot. Also I'm no longer able to restore firmware backups, however restoring to factory settings and configuring it all over works fine.

I'll open another thread about this issue but hopefully it helps until WRT1200ACv2 is properly supported.
Inc0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello b3_c00L,

I just bought the same router and flashed a kong build on it: DD-WRT v3.0-r30015M kongmv (06/24/16).
I can't find the "VLANs" tab (it should be between "advanced routing" and "networking" in the "setup" menu.
Are you experiencing the same problem?
doniNZ74
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Posts: 96
Location: Down down .... under

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Inc0 wrote:
Hello b3_c00L,

I just bought the same router and flashed a kong build on it: DD-WRT v3.0-r30015M kongmv (06/24/16).
I can't find the "VLANs" tab (it should be between "advanced routing" and "networking" in the "setup" menu.
Are you experiencing the same problem?


I noticed this too on my Kong build on my WRT1900ac. I made a comment about it here but so far nobody else seems to be complaining about it:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=256298&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=2055
Inc0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
doniNZ74 wrote:
Inc0 wrote:
Hello b3_c00L,

I just bought the same router and flashed a kong build on it: DD-WRT v3.0-r30015M kongmv (06/24/16).
I can't find the "VLANs" tab (it should be between "advanced routing" and "networking" in the "setup" menu.
Are you experiencing the same problem?


I noticed this too on my Kong build on my WRT1900ac. I made a comment about it here but so far nobody else seems to be complaining about it:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=256298&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=2055

I hope it's just a bug or something like that; VLANs are something i need to be able to configure to do what i was planning.
doniNZ74
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Posts: 96
Location: Down down .... under

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Inc0 wrote:

I hope it's just a bug or something like that; VLANs are something i need to be able to configure to do what i was planning.


Hopefully its just the GUI tab missing. It should still be possible via CLI.

May be worth it to log a ticket for this one: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7208
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look at this, maybe it will help.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=999791#999791

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Dave_D
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Deleted, misread the OP.

doniNZ74 wrote:
Inc0 wrote:
Hello b3_c00L,

I just bought the same router and flashed a kong build on it: DD-WRT v3.0-r30015M kongmv (06/24/16).
I can't find the "VLANs" tab (it should be between "advanced routing" and "networking" in the "setup" menu.
Are you experiencing the same problem?


I noticed this too on my Kong build on my WRT1900ac. I made a comment about it here but so far nobody else seems to be complaining about it:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=256298&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=2055
Inc0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
doniNZ74 wrote:
Inc0 wrote:

I hope it's just a bug or something like that; VLANs are something i need to be able to configure to do what i was planning.


Hopefully its just the GUI tab missing. It should still be possible via CLI.

May be worth it to log a ticket for this one: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5500#comment:1

Looks like it's never been there Sad
CLI still works.
tliechti
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 8:51    Post subject: Any news on the official support of the WRT1200 AC V2? Reply with quote
Just got my 2 new Linksys 1200AC v2 I'd like to upgrade with ddwrt. I do need them for a point-2-point connection with external antennas in very harsh environment. ddwrt is needed for the client bridge option on the remote site. Befor I flash my boxes now, what build should I use?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum