Linksys EA 6900 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
wufwufwuf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:49    Post subject: working fine... just 3 points of feedback Reply with quote
I have done the flash and used the method 2 to get round the NVRAM issue which has yet to be proven to work so fingers crossed.

1) when initial flashing, the webui does not always refresh, so I opened a new browser tab to access 192.168.1.1 - this gets to the flashed landing page even while the flashing tab still displays 'waiting' status

2) after updating to latest builds do we still need to flash twice each time to ensure both the firmwares are updated? Also is there anyway to check the version of both sets? eg by telnet?

3) is there any feedback on whether the method 2 of NVRAM is a better workaround or would it restrict future functionality when DD-WRT keep expanding its capabilities?

Again it was very helpful to have read this page before flashing... I could have bricked mine if went ahead initial flashing with the latest builds?!

Thank you
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 7:34    Post subject: Re: working fine... just 3 points of feedback Reply with quote
Glad it worked

You can check method 2 by observing your Status page, under Space usage, there the used NVRAM is shown. After applying method 2 this is usually in the low twenties (if you did not enable SSH, as described)

Method 2 which you applied is non destructive and does not restrict any functionality

HTML issues are mostly due to your webbrowser, using Internet Explorer works best, and yes you have to refresh sometimes and wait until the gui refreshes, you have to be patiient Smile

You do not have to flash twice but in case something goes wrong you probably revert to an earlier version you downloaded. You can check that you still have two linux partitions with the the following command from command prompt: cat /proc/mtd

Mine looks like:
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 03e00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03c60000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 04000000 00020000 "ddwrt"

Yours should have an extra linux2 partition, mine does not have it because I have used method 3



wufwufwuf wrote:
I have done the flash and used the method 2 to get round the NVRAM issue which has yet to be proven to work so fingers crossed.

1) when initial flashing, the webui does not always refresh, so I opened a new browser tab to access 192.168.1.1 - this gets to the flashed landing page even while the flashing tab still displays 'waiting' status

2) after updating to latest builds do we still need to flash twice each time to ensure both the firmwares are updated? Also is there anyway to check the version of both sets? eg by telnet?

3) is there any feedback on whether the method 2 of NVRAM is a better workaround or would it restrict future functionality when DD-WRT keep expanding its capabilities?

Again it was very helpful to have read this page before flashing... I could have bricked mine if went ahead initial flashing with the latest builds?!

Thank you
wufwufwuf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Goedemorgen!

Thank you for teaching us the basics... indeed I see two 'partitions'(?) as follows:

root@Linksys EA6900:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 01d00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 01b60000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 02100000 00020000 "linux2"
mtd5: 01fc0000 00020000 "rootfs2"
mtd6: 04000000 00020000 "ddwrt"

is there a way we can flash new builds so both firmwares are the new ones?

Also looking at status, I see NVRAM showing 28KB/64kKB, could this mean that my model is a newer version without the problems of the 32KB limit?

Hope these don't sound too naive, and hopefully your answer help all us improve together...

Dank u wel!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glad that I can be of assistance Smile

As your partition scheme shows your are on the original Linksys scheme, you basically have two firmware partitions linux and linux2 (with their accompanying rootfs)

This also means that your NVRAM of 64 Kb is split into two 32 Kb parts hence the 32 Kb bug, which therefore also applies to your EA6900 Sad

With 28 Kb used your are good to go, but when adding more settings this can increase, so keep a look at the used NVRAM

You can flash both partitions, for flashing the second partiton substitute the appropriate line in the guide with:
mtd write linksys-ea6900-webflash.bin linux2

However it is not necessary, keeping an earlier working partition is not bad, so i would advise not to do so.

If you want to get rid of the 32 Kb bug use method 3, but only if you really have to, because there are drawbacks as described.

Feel free to ask anything

Groeten en succes!

wufwufwuf wrote:
Goedemorgen!

Thank you for teaching us the basics... indeed I see two 'partitions'(?) as follows:

root@Linksys EA6900:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 01d00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 01b60000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 02100000 00020000 "linux2"
mtd5: 01fc0000 00020000 "rootfs2"
mtd6: 04000000 00020000 "ddwrt"

is there a way we can flash new builds so both firmwares are the new ones?

Also looking at status, I see NVRAM showing 28KB/64kKB, could this mean that my model is a newer version without the problems of the 32KB limit?

Hope these don't sound too naive, and hopefully your answer help all us improve together...

Dank u wel!
wufwufwuf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 16:28    Post subject: suspected bricking? Reply with quote
Sorry to report that despite all the good progress above, it seems that this morning there was no network access via the router (I think I put in a self boot tick in the set up screen), and even browser access to 192.168.1.1 is not working!

Looking at https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486 I was able to get the ttl=100 and ttl=64 pings.

Just wondered if anyone has any idea what next (before I go tftp route?

If unsalvable, perhaps we should just buy routers in future with the least reported troubles in upgrades and maximum open architecture...
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 17:23    Post subject: Re: suspected bricking? Reply with quote
The latest builds have, unfortunately, stability issues.
You can probably recover by doing the following:
Hold WPS button (the little protruding blue button at the back)
Unplug
Wait 10 seconds
Plug in
Wait approx. 25 seconds untill the linksys light start blinking
You router should come back up in a couple of minutes

A very stable build for me was 29620M, a Kong build, you can get older Kong builds at Clonevince website (see the guide)

Do not forget to reset to factory defaults, before and after upgrading (see the guide)


wufwufwuf wrote:
Sorry to report that despite all the good progress above, it seems that this morning there was no network access via the router (I think I put in a self boot tick in the set up screen), and even browser access to 192.168.1.1 is not working!

Looking at https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486 I was able to get the ttl=100 and ttl=64 pings.

Just wondered if anyone has any idea what next (before I go tftp route?

If unsalvable, perhaps we should just buy routers in future with the least reported troubles in upgrades and maximum open architecture...

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
wufwufwuf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 18:06    Post subject: Phew! Reply with quote
Thank you for coming to the rescue again!

Not sure how you knew these weird combos, but it worked again! This brings up the problem of using new builds... is there a place to share / find out the latest stable build for each router? The Wiki table appears to be a bit out of date?

Will check out the Kong build you recommended.

Merci!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:46    Post subject: Re: Phew! Reply with quote
There is no such thing as a "stable" build. Stability is also dependend on the configuration/settings you use, so what is rock solid for me can be unstable for you.
That said, some builds are more "stable" than others.
The last builds using linux Kernel 3 form Kong are regarded as very stable.
I have never had problems with Kong's build 29620M, so if you are looking for a "stable" build, that is the one I recommend, but 29300M is also regarded as very stable.
I have added a section in the install guide about "stable" builds.


wufwufwuf wrote:
Thank you for coming to the rescue again!

Not sure how you knew these weird combos, but it worked again! This brings up the problem of using new builds... is there a place to share / find out the latest stable build for each router? The Wiki table appears to be a bit out of date?

Will check out the Kong build you recommended.

Merci!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
wufwufwuf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 14:05    Post subject: hopefully sorted... Reply with quote
Thank you sir... looking forward to trouble free usage from now out!

one thing to note is for method 2, I had to put the commands in again (seems to have lost it even though the Wan/wifi settings have remained).

For the collective good of new users like me, someone should suggest that the kong builds return to under the

https://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads

hierarchy?
dqs5005
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 5:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just bought this router today and it was loaded with the latest stock firmware.

I'm unable to perform the initial flash on this router as I consistently get the "Invalid firmware file" error message. I've even tried downgrading the firmware with no luck.

Any suggestions?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 8:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linksys is locking their routers down starting mid this year (exceptions are the WRT models). So it is possible that you no longer can load a non linksys firmware.

However the latest firmware I saw was from 2014 so perhaps it is still possible.

First read the peacock thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=514860

Second try with internet explorer as webbrowser and be sure to do a full reset before flashing.

Third try to telnet into your router and then report back. (Use putty to do this: http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/latest/x86/putty.exe )

Forth downgrade to an earlier firmware using internet explorer

dqs5005 wrote:
I just bought this router today and it was loaded with the latest stock firmware.

I'm unable to perform the initial flash on this router as I consistently get the "Invalid firmware file" error message. I've even tried downgrading the firmware with no luck.

Any suggestions?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
dqs5005
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just tried all four with no luck.

I get a connection refused message when I try to use putty and I'm unable to downgrade stock firmware as well.

It's interesting to note that the stock firmware loaded onto my router is newer than the one that is available for download on their support page.

Any other ideas?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well may be you are just out of luck and have a new version which is locked. What is the version number and date?

dqs5005 wrote:
I just tried all four with no luck.

I get a connection refused message when I try to use putty and I'm unable to downgrade stock firmware as well.

It's interesting to note that the stock firmware loaded onto my router is newer than the one that is available for download on their support page.

Any other ideas?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4161
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
The last thing you can try is the TFTP procedure, I suggest to install an earlier linksys EA6900 factory firmware as these are probably not locked

see : http://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=137928 and

Peacock thread item 6: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486

keep us informed

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
dqs5005
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi egc, appreciate all the help you've been suggesting. I just gave the tftp option a try as well to downgrade the linksys firmware with no luck.

Unfortunately, it looks like I may have a version of the firmware that blocks me from downgrading. V1.1.42.172191 is what I have, which seems to be a more update version than what is currently listed on their support page.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 10, 11, 12  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum