E4200 bad flash recovery

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 16:49    Post subject: E4200 bad flash recovery Reply with quote
Hello,

I have a E4200 running DDWRT for some years.
When I was updating to r29193 I made a mistake with the .bin file and flashed a version for another router with different nvram size.
Now the router doesn't start up. These are the symptoms:

1-I turn on the router while pinging it from computer, it starts flashing cisco logo and responds to 4 or 5 pings whith ttl=100 and then starts giving "request time out".

2-I already tried to tftp, it flashes the router and gives "flashed successfully". This way the router keeps responding to ping with ttl=100 and logo keeps flashing forever. As I turn off/on the router, happens whats is described point 1.

Is there any way to fix this or do I have a brick now??

Thank you in advance.
Sponsor
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I just want to give some update.

As the router downloads the firmware, and responds to ping with ttl=100 I assume the bootloader is OK.
Now I'm trying to erase nvram using serial interface.
I soldered the serial port header on router board and made the connections.
On putty, when I startup the router I receive lots of characters and symbols.
Is this normal or should I receive legible text?

As I said on first post, the router flahes the LED twice and then stops. When the led stops, the characters stops coming too.

I hit the ctrl+c but always happens the same.

Can someone help me from now on?
What should I do, or what am I doing wrong?
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
No one?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 22:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Google dd-wrt serial recovery.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Google dd-wrt serial recovery.


Thank you but for the answer I bet you haven't read what I wrote...
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did read it. I suspect your putty settings are wrong. That's why I said what I did. Or a bad solder connection which is covered in the dd-wrt serial recovery wiki which I bet you didn't read carefully.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
I did read it. I suspect your putty settings are wrong. That's why I said what I did. Or a bad solder connection which is covered in the dd-wrt serial recovery wiki which I bet you didn't read carefully.


I did read the wiki but I found more than one wiki page related to serial, I don't know which one to follow.

I'm doing it on Fedora with Screen application. "sudo screen /dev/ttyS0 115200" - do I need to type something else?
When the router is turned off I receive the echo of what I type, so I believe the solder is right.
What I asked was if I should receive legible text or if is normal to receive those characters when the router is booting.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, you should get legible text. If it echoes correctly on the screen when you touch tx and rx then maybe you have the wrong pins soldered.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
With the router turned off you shouldn't be getting an echo.
_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php


Last edited by ddaniel51 on Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:07; edited 1 time in total
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you using a usb 3.3 volt adapter or an rs232 port on the computer?
_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 20:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm using a RS232 directly from computer.
One of those wiki pages about serial recovery tells you only need 3 wires Rx Tx and GND, I haven't connected any VCC.
Is it mandatory to connect vcc?
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look's like I need to make this circuit to work with RS232 from PC:



Or this:


I have all of those components at my place, I'll try later.
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Let us know if you have any success after already applying positive and negative 12vdc from the rs232 port to the router 3v rx port.


btw, your serial conf is supposed to be 115200,8,n,1
full duplex.

_________________
Segment 0 Cisco RV340 Dual WAN router
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 AP 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 Unifi Wifi 6 LR US 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 Unifi UAP AC PRO 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
DHCP & Syslog Services Asustor 7010T NAS 10GB
NetGear XS716T 10GB Switch
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon
https://usage-monitoring.com/index.php
mama_mia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
Let us know if you have any success after already applying positive and negative 12vdc from the rs232 port to the router 3v rx port.


btw, your serial conf is supposed to be 115200,8,n,1
full duplex.


I will!
Maybe I did broke the Rx port, but with all the help people at this community gave, It's normal to make mistakes. I waited for an answer for days, and people only started answering after the mistake was made and only to say that I did wrong.
So thank's for all the help!

btw, I asked about "screen" configuration and only now some one (you) told me what they are.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's not true. I told you to google dd-wrt serial recovery.
You told me you read that page. I just googled it. This is what is on the page you said you read:
"[edit]Hyperterminal and Putty

You connect to the router with the programs hyperterminal or putty.
The settings you want are: Baud: 115200 Data bits: 8 Stop Bits: 1 Parity: none No Flow control
On Windows XP:
Hyper terminal Setup In Windows XP, Click Start Button-->All Programs-->Accessories-->Communication-->HyperTerminal Enter a name for the connection, Click ok Choose com port you adapter is plugged into, Click ok Set: Bits per second = 115200 Data Bits = 8 Parity = none Stop bits = 1 Flow control = none Click ok Click File-->Save As, and select a place to save it to so you don't have to enter the settings again.
Putty Setup After installing putty, run it Serial line = The COM port your using for serial (ie. COM3) Speed = 115200 Click on Serial under Connection Serial line to connect to = same as above (Serial line) Speed (baud) = 115200 Data bits = 8 Stop bits = 1 Parity = None Flow control = None Click Session Enter a name for your connection under saved sessions Click Open"

Which is what Daniel just told you.

So you either didn't read or you lied.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum