Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 174, 175, 176 ... 192, 193, 194  Next
Author Message
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5355
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
0=Disable 1=Enable there are not other values.

t= Tagged

VLAN is for wired ports only. For wifi, create VAP.
Sponsor
nima2019
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
0=Disable 1=Enable there are not other values.

t= Tagged

VLAN is for wired ports only. For wifi, create VAP.


Per Yngve Berg wrote:
0=Disable 1=Enable there are not other values.

t= Tagged

VLAN is for wired ports only. For wifi, create VAP.


So your command puts physical ports 3 and 6 in VLAN_1 and ports 1 and 2 in VLAN_3. Is that right? How do those ports correspond to the physical ports on the device?

What do the 4t and 6t correspond to in terms of actual traffic?

Can I create a separate Vlan for each individual port or do routers have limitations on how many vlans you can create?

Thanks again for your help.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5355
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 16:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Port 0: WAN
Port 1-4: LAN
Port 5: eth0 (from switch to router)
Port 6: eth1 (from switch to router)

The IPQ chip have a limit of 128 defined VLANs. You will probably never reach this limit.
nima2019
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Port 0: WAN
Port 1-4: LAN
Port 5: eth0 (from switch to router)
Port 6: eth1 (from switch to router)

The IPQ chip have a limit of 128 defined VLANs. You will probably never reach this limit.


Ok. So in your example command port 3 becomes part of vlan1 and ports 1 and 2 become part of vlan 3. Is that right?

Can you explain the '4t 6' and '4t 6t' logic please?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5355
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a switch connected to port 4 and have all VLANs tagged in a trunk to it.

6: eth1

6t: eth1.x tagged interface.
scope2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2017
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Im considering buying a R7800 to replace my R7000..

The R7000 is not capable of more than 250-ish Mbps, unless I enabled Shortcut Forwarding Engine. Im confident the R7800 is able to do much better with the SFE disabled..

I do however have a question about VPN on the R7800.. What kind of speeds should I be getting?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7236
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:
Im considering buying a R7800 to replace my R7000..

The R7000 is not capable of more than 250-ish Mbps, unless I enabled Shortcut Forwarding Engine. Im confident the R7800 is able to do much better with the SFE disabled..

I do however have a question about VPN on the R7800.. What kind of speeds should I be getting?


something around 90mbps iirc, after setting cpu governor to performance

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42465 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42478 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42478 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42478 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42478 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42294 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1357
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
scope2 wrote:
Im considering buying a R7800 to replace my R7000..

The R7000 is not capable of more than 250-ish Mbps, unless I enabled Shortcut Forwarding Engine. Im confident the R7800 is able to do much better with the SFE disabled..

I do however have a question about VPN on the R7800.. What kind of speeds should I be getting?


something around 90mbps iirc, after setting cpu governor to performance

This is the best I have seen posted by anyone:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1157610#1157610

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY DoT install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 BS std GW AP & GW WDS AP -- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
MikroTik SXT R LTE RouterOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 r42410 std TFTP R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM AP
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1439
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
scope2 wrote:
Im considering buying a R7800 to replace my R7000..

The R7000 is not capable of more than 250-ish Mbps, unless I enabled Shortcut Forwarding Engine. Im confident the R7800 is able to do much better with the SFE disabled..

I do however have a question about VPN on the R7800.. What kind of speeds should I be getting?


I switched from R7000 a great router and I have families using them without issue but I use VPN service from IPVanish. With R7000 I was getting around 25-30Mbps, now with the R7800 I get around 60Mbps. Another big improvement is WiFi Range is better/stronger too.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r42460 Std
3rd R7800 - TEST NEW Provider 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r42460 Std
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special
E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35531 Mega
E3000 - TRAVEL Wireless Client WireGuard(30Mbit/s) - DDWRT r42335 Mega

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & OpenVPN - KONGAC 39855M
WRT610Nv1 - Repeater Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - KONGAC 39855M
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
rawd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had a R7000 that died before getting a R7800. VPN performance between the two was night and day.
_________________
R7800 AP - KONG 19 2020-01 / LuCI branch git-20.039.66806-1846d17
R7800 AP - r40270 kongat
R7000 CB - r42335 std
PiHole 4.3.2 - dnscrypt-proxy 2.0.39 - RPi 3 B+
Synology DS216J - DSM 6.2.2
xrayos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
so what's the best kong build for the 7800 these days?
murtaza12
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 122
Location: Pakistan

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 14:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
xrayos wrote:
so what's the best kong build for the 7800 these days?


Latest one is pretty decent.

Also, new QCA9984 FW:

https://github.com/kvalo/ath10k-firmware/tree/master/QCA9984/hw1.0/3.9.0.2

_________________
Active devices:
Netgear R7800 - Stock v1.0.2.68
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT 19.07.1
ASUS RP-AC68U - 3.0.0.4.382.40019
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 673
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
murtaza12 wrote:


Also, new QCA9984 FW:

https://github.com/kvalo/ath10k-firmware/tree/master/QCA9984/hw1.0/3.9.0.2


Already integrated:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6186

_________________
1 X R7800: Main gateway( r39855M kongat (05/25/19)
1 X RAX120 WAP Bridge
1 X RAX75 WAP Bridge
1 X R7800 Mesh
2 X R9000 Mesh
1 X R8000: Repeater bridge
1 X R8500: Client bridge (RB doesn't work on R8500)
seombre
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 19:15    Post subject: Where are the builds? Reply with quote
Anybody got an idea, where builds went? http://www.desipro.de/ (and all subdirectories for that matter) return "Forbidden".
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 231
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this the ones you want:

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/TEST/

they work for me.

<edit>Sorry, thought this was the R8000 thread </edit>

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 174, 175, 176 ... 192, 193, 194  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 175 of 194
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum