Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 184, 185, 186, 187, 188  Next
Author Message
dnulho1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:

the last Kong build is still running well, sadly you can find it only on demand....

What build# is kong's last? Do you happen to know a place that I can find it?

I was not aware that MU-MIMO was so specialized and selective, I was under the impression that it was a general feature that was being integrated with the latest hardware and supported with 802.11ACv2. Same with the Beamforming technology, as both are presented as soft/firmware defined. I could be reading way to much into those technologies though. "Dynamic QOS" was the name that Netgear gives to their proprietary QOS algorithm, I have adjusted that bullet to reflect such.
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3070
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
here is the last Kong build look at the attachment you have to be logged in
you have to flash with factory-to-ddwrt first, so im sending you both ...via PM

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41664 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
2x Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DNSCrypt-proxy v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5219
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/33100-why-you-don-t-need-mu-mimo
blkt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
dnulho1 wrote:
Alozaros wrote:

the last Kong build is still running well, sadly you can find it only on demand....

What build# is kong's last? Do you happen to know a place that I can find it?


Stable r37495M to last r40270M are here. https://tinyurl.com/R7800
el-guapin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I ended up switching my R7800 from BS 41218 back to Kong 40270. I find it to be a bit more stable with QOS.
_________________
Netgear R7800
dnulho1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 0:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey, so it has been a couple weeks, I have done much more thorough research on this router and how to image it. When I do though, it isn't booting the new firmware, instead acting like there is no valid firmware at all. set the router back to U-Boot tftp mode, and push the factory .img back on it, and the router boots up just fine with no issues whatsoever. If I had any settings changed those settings are still there. I tried doing a factory firmware settings reset, as I can't seem to telnet/ssh in and do an 'nvram erase' command. but that didn't change behavior, and after flashing to ddwrt, failing, and flashing back to factory, the router was at the new installation/setup page, just as if I hadn't installed the dd-wrt firmware.
Factory: v1.0.2.62
DDWRT: 40559, whatever version Alozaros PM'ed me.

If anyone has any ideas of what I can do to get a ddwrt .img to stick, that would be great.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2641
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
dnulho1 wrote:

If anyone has any ideas of what I can do to get a ddwrt .img to stick, that would be great.


blkt wrote:
Stable r37495M to last r40270M are here. https://tinyurl.com/R7800


In the top / first folder in the link blkt provided is a factory-to-ddwrt.img that should flash fine. Then you go into the dd-wrt UI, reset to defaults and let it reboot. Then, you can go into the 40270M folder and flash that and configure away to your heart's content, reboot and you should be good to go. That is, of course, if you configure it correctly as advised...

_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.5
blkt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
dnulho1 wrote:
If anyone has any ideas of what I can do to get a ddwrt .img to stick, that would be great.

Did anyone else read this in Bill Lumberg's voice?

Netgear R7800 Install Guide by egc

Post #2 with back to stock and factory to r40270M

Another factory to r40270M

Yet another factory to r40270M

kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2641
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I didn't have enough energy to do all that, blkt lol. I wasn't even going to post. I should've waited for yours.
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.5
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
finally some progress.. r41603 for the first time BS builds have identical latency to kong's, BUT the over 3x cpu usage from wifi radios' sirq is still present. this is in bridge/ap mode, ive not tried nat/qos on r7800 yet as its handled by a diff machine. but something has differently changed (probably the fixing of ticket 6897), and i can actually use BS build now in my usage case.. cpu still needs to be on performance governor. ill give r41603 webflash here to try.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
KILLERDOG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys,well it came and i put dd-wrt on it, only problem is the 5 GHz network shows up but wont let me connect. The 2.4 is fine and i can connect every time. Any ideas ?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2641
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.5
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1258
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
And

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1154611#1154611

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
KILLERDOG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi, thx, but ive read it, 5 times actually. One minute i see the 5 ghz network, next i dont. If i put the settings down to 20 mhz, it connects fine. I dont get it, my dlink 882 connected on channel 104 and didnt have any issies. I think it maybe be the firmware version im using. I tried Kongs and i didnt like the 5 and 2 ghz netowkr mixed up. Just trying to find a stable DD-wrt..
KILLERDOG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, so im using firmware version 41517. Some settings below :

Wireless Mode : AP
Wireless Network Mode : AC/N-Mixed
Channel width : vht160(160mhz)
Wireless channel 104
Extension channel ULL (+2 )

Is this the problem...?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 184, 185, 186, 187, 188  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 185 of 188
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum