can I access my home network remotely with ddwrt?

randomfreefaller
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:15    Post subject: can I access my home network remotely with ddwrt? Reply with quote
Hello there,

Please forgive me in advance as I'm very new to all of this terminology and apologise if I sound naive when explaining my question.

What I would like to do is purchase a router from yourselves and to use the router for a couple of things. I want to be able to use an external hard drive via USB for some Network Attached Storage within my local network. I also wish to set up an OpenVPN server so that I can secure my home browsing.

That seems ok for me to grasp so far as I understand I could configure the router with VPN provider credentials like cyber ghost etc. The would mean I didn't need to role my own server which is helpful as I'm a newbie to this tech.

However, the third thing I wish to do (and seems to be the hardest to work out) is to be able to access the HDD attached to the router (NAS) when I'm away from my local network. Can I do this? If so, how would I go about it? I've been reading about installing OpenVPN on the router and using Tunnelblick as the client etc. For me this seems a bit in depth at the moment. Could I load the router with Cyberghost VPN server settings and access my local network this way?

Any help is much appreciated, thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Jacob[/url]
Sponsor
raqua
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

You will be able to do all these things with DD-WRT.

@1) You will need to have USB port on the router you buy. No all have it. Then it is pretty easy, you will find info about it here (with other helpful tips):
http://tips.desipro.de/

@2) There are 2 modes of VPN. Your router can be client or server.