tew-828dru unable to upgrade build

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
beersrus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 21:59    Post subject: tew-828dru unable to upgrade build Reply with quote
Anybody figure out how to upgrade the build on said router? If so please tell all.

I'm stuck on v3.0-r27506 (07/09/15) std
wanting to load the 12/24/15 28493 build

cheers
noel
Sponsor
b0rk1983
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
what happens when you attempt to upgrade?

Did you 30-30-30 before the upgrade?
beersrus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 0:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once you flash it, on the splash page it shows a different build number, but you can't do anything with it. As soon as you do a reset it reverts to the base build-whatever dd-wrt you initially loaded after the factory.

I have done 30-30-30 and followed the other threads on the forum to no avail.

Anybody figure out how to consistantly upgrade the DD-WRT build on the TEW-828dru?
b0rk1983
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
For the benefit of everyone else who is more knowledgeable than me, we'd need more information on what you see. A screengrab would be awesome, a copy of the text and build number you see would even better.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:00    Post subject: Re: tew-828dru unable to upgrade build Reply with quote
beersrus wrote:
Anybody figure out how to upgrade the build on said router?
There's a ticket (and other threads) for it: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5111
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
telnet login to the router and show me the output from the command:

cat /proc/mtd

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
beersrus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, weird/awesome thing happened, it just took the new build. Didn't do anything special. Did a 30-30-30 reset after an upload and new build still shows on the splash page. Can change anything I want with intended results.
Good news is the build works well with the router, all WiFi radios work and are tune able.(WL2 is a little wonky, but works)

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28598 std (12/24/15)
Time: 10:49:28 up 11:33, load average: 0.43, 0.39, 0.32

I had loaded it at least 30 times with failures on all 30 times and same results as other people have had on the forum. Tried to revert back to stock, same result as other people on the forum.

Tried telnet,ftpt,ssh, web gui no avail. Turned all my anti virus, anti malware, firewall, etc off and tried, didn't work.

Nothing was working, it always reverted to the base dd-wrt build from the website.

Appreciate anybody who spent some time to read/comment.
I have no explanation on how or why it worked.

cheers
Noel
beersrus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:03    Post subject: Trendnet828dru upgrade procedure Reply with quote
Here is the procedure I use to upgrade firmware to the trendnet 828dru

1. download proper firmware, save file somewhere easily accessible. ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

2. Turn router off wait 10 seconds, turn router back on.

3. Unplug everything except power and cable to computer your using.

4. Do a 30-30-30 reset.

5. Log back into router should be 192.168.1.1.
You will have to reset your username and password.

6.Go to admin tab, then, firmware upgrade.

7.Choose don't reset.

8. Browse for the .bin file and open.

9. Click upgrade and wait till it's done.

10."DO NOT DO A 30-30-30 reset"
[b][u],

If you do a 30-30-30 reset directly after the upgrade, it will probably revert back, show no changes or end up in some hybrid 6th dimension unusable firmware.

Wait for at least 1 day to be able to do another 30-30-30 reset without the router reverting to previous firmware, or some hybrid unusable stuck in the 6th dimension firmware.

11. Turn router off wait 10 sec, turn router back on.

12. Log back into router and check build on top right corner of page.

13. If build is correct woohoo, If not start over, it may take a few times to stick. Took me 30 times at first.

14. Setup how you like, if you change anything on the setup page or the router doesn't take the change,
turn router off, wait 10 seconds, turn router on.

15. Plug everything in, your done.

cheers
Beers Shocked
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
It sounds like the 30-30-30 triggers a linux2->linux partition backup switch/restoration...? Does the upgrade procedure work if you replace the 30-30-30 with a simple GUI reset?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
rodent
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 19:25    Post subject: Re: tew-828dru unable to upgrade build Reply with quote
beersrus wrote:
Anybody figure out how to upgrade the build on said router?



Set a static IP.
I telnet into it at 192.168.1.1, login as root, and do a
mtd erase linux
it will say it fails. cycle the power and wait a bit.

Eventually I am able to bring up http://192.168.1.1 and it will be an emergency miniweb server flash page. Whatever I have flashed here has worked, upgrading or going back to stock firmware.
Fritzzz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:39    Post subject: Help me!!! Router looks dead! Reply with quote
My friend was using a tew-828dru from trendnet running with latest dd-wrt version (27490). He asked my help to rollback to factory firmware and user interface.

I tried a lot of stuff...and then I just did what @Rodent suggested.

I connected via telnet and did a mtd erase linux

now the fu@#@#%@$%@$% router doesnt respond. If my laptop is using dhcp the ipconfig shows me 169.254.29.10 as ipaddress.

If I set an IP address manually like 192.168.10.5 and do a 30-30-30 reset...I can see the cfe miniweb server interface. I am able to choose a bin file to upload the firmware but when I hit upload the bronwser (IE or firefox) gets disconected.

What I can do to deploy the firmware again?
macbain666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2020
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I bet you anything the router is booting up on
192.168.10.1

So you need to be 192.168.10.2 or something similar like that.

About 12-15 seconds after a power-on, the router will respond to a TFTP upload. If you magically upload something it will accept it.

Wait any longer and it will proceed to boot and then fail. <---- problem is that I'm at boot+fail portion myself because no matter how much firmware I upload, I cannot get the damn router to boot my code.

I think that NVRAM business is what I have to figure out.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum