Script to sort static leases

Goto page 1, 2  Next
smeisner
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 1:57    Post subject: Script to sort static leases Reply with quote
I keep modifying my list of DHCP static leases, and I prefer to have them sorted by IP address. Since the UI doesn't allow for sorting, I wrote a script. Please be aware, I am NOT a Linux developer...so be kind on the comments! Laughing

Code:

#!/bin/sh
data=`nvram get static_leases | awk 'BEGIN { FS="="; RS=" " } {a=1; while ( a<NF ) { b=a+1; c=a+2; d=a+3; print $c "=" $b "=" $a "=" $d; a=+4; } }' | sort | awk 'BEGIN { FS="="; RS="\n" } { a=1; while ( a<NF ) { b=a+1; c=a+2; d=a+3; printf $c "=" $b "=" $a "=" $d " "; a+=4 } }' | awk '{sub(/[ \t]+$/, "")};1'`
nvram set static_leases="${data}"
nvram commit

The idea is:
- get the list of leases
- using awk, reorganize them as 1 entry per line with IP address first
- sort
- using awk, recreate the "nvram set static_leases" command entry
- last 'awk' command is to remove the trailing " "

I am willing to bet someone that know awk better than I do can make this much shorter.

Steve
Sponsor
smeisner
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 18:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
A coworker fixed my script. Here's a better version...all on 1 line...also it properly sorts the IP addresses as numeric values.

Code:
nvram set static_leases="`nvram get static_leases | sed 's/\([0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\)/.\1./g' | tr ' ' '\n' | sort -n -k2,2n -k3,3n -k4,4n -k5,5n -t. | tr '\n' ' ' | sed 's/\.\([0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\.[0-9]\+\)\./\1/g' | sed 's/^ //'; echo`"
JaffaBoy
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
smeisner wrote:
A coworker fixed my script. Here's a better version...all on 1 line...also it properly sorts the IP addresses as numeric values.

Code: