Kong build 28600M 31-dec-2015

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
edisaack
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
I did the aforementioned factory/30-30-30 reset on my R8500 and rebuilt my configuration from scratch in an effort to get my NVRAM under control (from both a size and data perspective).

Even my freshly-reset R8500 uses 48KB of its 64KB of NVRAM with DD-WRT. That seems about 10-12KB higher than the other DD-WRT routers I have, but perhaps that has to do with the configs for the 3rd radio? Adding in various parameters with a dozen-or-so static leases and the same amount of port forwards gets me back up to 55-58KB used. Is that normal?


My R8500 uses 49KB of NVRAM.

_________________
_________________
Netgear R8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (1/3/16)
Sponsor
defaultroute
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jul 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
racef@ce wrote:
Router: Netgear R6250
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (12/31/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #59 SMP Thu Dec 31 09:20:23 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Errors: Yes, IPv6 issue reported to Kong since I upgraded to r28500M. (manual running a IPV6 script fixes this issue).


I'm also having IPv6 issues on my R7000 running 28600M. I've reset my config but I'm unable to obtain an IPv6 address from my ISP (TWC).

EDIT: I'm configured for DHCPv6 with Prefix delegation. It has worked great for months, until the recent builds.
e3000usr
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2014
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
e3000usr wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
e3000usr wrote:
e3000usr wrote:
Router: Netgear R67000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (12/31/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #59 SMP Thu Dec 31 09:20:23 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Errors: No

Have a great new year!


I woke up this morning and my unit reset itself to defaults and uptime says 15 minutes, it must be rebooting itself. And I don't know how all settings got wiped. The web gui changed and said I had an R7000. I reflashed and reset to defaults now. Will see if it sticks and does not reboot.


And after reset it said 6700 again?

The way detection is done for the R6700 vs 7000 it means it would be corrupted nvram (e.g. power outage), but if the detection stillclaims it is a R7000, then there is a problem with the partitioning.


Note the driver in my builds hasn't changed in a few month, thus if it ran fine before it should still run fine.

I'm sure the R8500 won't be running stable with the older driver, I have to upgrade the driver for the R8500, Netgear and Asus both have stability problems with their 1.4Ghz broadcom drivers.


A power outage is possible. On a reset today it correctly said R6700. The re-flash is working fine right now. I will keep monitoring. Thank you for your great work, happy new year


stable since the re-flash and reset to defaults. Router has not rebooted once. I don't run any special options not even wireless and but no issues with this build. Could have been a problem caused because I flashed originally but did not reset to defaults. Still confused about when and what command to erase nvram so I'll stay away from that
MikeMcr
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 14:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
I did the aforementioned factory/30-30-30 reset on my R8500 and rebuilt my configuration from scratch in an effort to get my NVRAM under control (from both a size and data perspective).

Even my freshly-reset R8500 uses 48KB of its 64KB of NVRAM with DD-WRT. That seems about 10-12KB higher than the other DD-WRT routers I have, but perhaps that has to do with the configs for the 3rd radio? Adding in various parameters with a dozen-or-so static leases and the same amount of port forwards gets me back up to 55-58KB used. Is that normal?


Are you able to identify what is using all the extra space? Run "nvram show" while logging to a file on your R8500 and then another router. Now compare the two files with a file compare program. Hopefully you may spot an obvious large value that maybe shouldn't be there.
hurleyp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 259
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (12/31/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #59 SMP Thu Dec 31 09:20:23 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Up and running for just over 27 hours
Reset: Reboot before and after "ddup --flash-latest" from Kong r28575M
Errors: None so far

_________________
Netgear R7000: v3.0-r42803 std (03/25/20)
EdgeRouter-X: EdgeOS v2.0.8
------
Retired routers/Museum pieces:
WNDR3700, TL-WR841ND, WRT610N, WRV45G, BEFSR41
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 673
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 20:52    Post subject: Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (01/01/16) Reply with quote
There is a new R8000 Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28600M kongac (01/01/16)
Just updated and so far ok.
ConnorM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 20:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7000 running stable

for some reason nas drives are not showing tho?

what SMB version is this/

i can manually connect to drives so no problems

windows 10 network drive browser can't find it
Gaff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 22:51    Post subject: Silly newbie questions Reply with quote
Is there a list of routers supported by these builds by Kong?

I believe there used to be a .txt file in http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/ describing the differences and which models are supported, but I can't seem to find that now.

I'm receiving a Linksys EA6500v2 in a couple of days and am trying to figure the best build to put on it that won't brick me, but there doesn't seem to be a tremendous amount of info out there.
trappert
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 23
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 0:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you do a factory reset after a flash update is it a good idea to restore from a backup? What if you have a lot of different tweaked settings. Can't remember all of them.
_________________
Netgear R7000
DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M kongac (03/27/16)
Cats are the best pets.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1474
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
trappert wrote:
If you do a factory reset after a flash update is it a good idea to restore from a backup? What if you have a lot of different tweaked settings. Can't remember all of them.


I print to pdf all the configuration webpages of the router and all scripts are copied to a text file.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
3x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 6xWireGuard - DDWRT r42803 Std
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special
2x E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35531 Mega
E3000 - TRAVEL Wireless Client WireGuard(30Mbit/s) - DDWRT r42803 Mega

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & OpenVPN - KONGAC 39855M
WRT610Nv1 - Repeater Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - KONGAC 39855M
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
trappert
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 23
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 0:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:

I print to pdf all the configuration webpages of the router and all scripts are copied to a text file.


Thanks. I will try that before if I ever have to do a reset.

_________________
Netgear R7000
DD-WRT v3.0-r29300M kongac (03/27/16)
Cats are the best pets.
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 737
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 14:00    Post subject: Re: Silly newbie questions Reply with quote
Gaff wrote:
Is there a list of routers supported by these builds by Kong?

I believe there used to be a .txt file in http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/ describing the differences and which models are supported, but I can't seem to find that now.

I'm receiving a Linksys EA6500v2 in a couple of days and am trying to figure the best build to put on it that won't brick me, but there doesn't seem to be a tremendous amount of info out there.

Those are Kong's personal test builds (PTBs); as such, I don't think he is broadcasting too much on his site as he is contributing to the main codebase/svn.

You might be able to glean some information from the old builds when Kong was managing his builds and code separate from the main codebase/svn, here: http://desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/K3-AC-Arm/

For example, in the readme.txt file on that page, Kong says:
<Kong> wrote:
Flashing Instruction:

Warning, always clear browser cache before flashing.

...

Asus / D-Link / Linksys -> I don't provide firmware for initial flashing, for initial flash from oem fw you need a BrainSlayer release


DD-WRT already installed -> flash universal build dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_Arm.bin from subdirectory that contains the latest revision.

...

Plus, once you get one of Kong's PTBs installed, you can just update with the ddup script on the CLI (run "ddup --help" for more information), and you won't have to stress about which file is correct on his site.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Currently Unused~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2 - V24 STD Build 22118 configured as AP
WRT54Gv8.2 - V24 Micro Build 22118 configured as AP
cml750
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Working well on my R7000's.
_________________
3 R7000's (DDWRT build 31520 Kong)
WNDR 3700 (DDWRT build 30880)
WRT54G TM (DDWRT Build 14929 MEGA)
WRT54G V5 (DDWRT Build 14929 MICRO)
Netgear DGND 3700 (with OpenWRT)
Belkin F9K1002 V5 (stock firmware)
Gaff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 21:25    Post subject: Re: Silly newbie questions Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
Those are Kong's personal test builds (PTBs); as such, I don't think he is broadcasting too much on his site as he is contributing to the main codebase/svn.

You might be able to glean some information from the old builds when Kong was managing his builds and code separate from the main codebase/svn, here: http://desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/K3-AC-Arm/

For example, in the readme.txt file on that page, Kong says:
<Kong> wrote:
Flashing Instruction:

Warning, always clear browser cache before flashing.

...

Asus / D-Link / Linksys -> I don't provide firmware for initial flashing, for initial flash from oem fw you need a BrainSlayer release


DD-WRT already installed -> flash universal build dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_Arm.bin from subdirectory that contains the latest revision.

...

Plus, once you get one of Kong's PTBs installed, you can just update with the ddup script on the CLI (run "ddup --help" for more information), and you won't have to stress about which file is correct on his site.


Thanks for the info. I'm just trying to see if the EA6500v2 is even supported by Kong; as I said, the information out there is very sparse. I'm not looking for hand-holding (I've used DD-WRT extensively before) but I'm just trying to get all my ducks lined up and not brick my new purchase.
tmo1138
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2015
Posts: 174
Location: Tacoma, Wa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Under WLx-Advanced wireless settings is the Auto/Manual radio button a new feature? I typically have it set like in the attachment for all of my radios. Should we be experimenting with the Auto setting and letting dd-wrt manage it going forward?


Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 7.22.23 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  8.8 KB
 Viewed:  12206 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 7.22.23 PM.png



_________________
Routers:
Netgear R7000 - DD-WRT v3.0-r31780M kongac (03/26/17)
Netgear R8000 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30880 std (11/14/16)
Netgear R9000 - DD-WRT v3.0-R38159 std (01/02/19)


Useful links:

BrainSlayer Builds:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/

CloneVince keeps an unofficial repository:
http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/

dd-wrt supported devices:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

So long <kong> and thanks for all the fish!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum